MSU Libraries is a member of the Foundation Center's Funding Information Network (FIN). The Foundation Center is a national nonprofit service organization recognized as the nation’s leading authority on organized philanthropy. FIN Partner Libraries provide access to and/or training in using the Center's premier database for identifying grant opportunities and potential funders, the Foundation Directory Online Professional, described below. To identify other partner libraries closer to home, consult the Foundation Center's Directory of Funding Information Network Partner Libraries.
The Main Library's Funding Center collection (on 1 East) contains recently published grant and financial aid directories and books on fundraising and grant/proposal writing. Materials may be used in-house or checked out with an MSU or Community Borrower's card. They may also be requested through Interlibrary Loan. Consult the Main Library hours of operation and Reference hours to see when staff are available to offer assistance in using resources. Note: Library staff cannot do your research for you, make referrals to specific grant-makers, or review your proposals.
The majority of the online resources listed in this Guide are restricted to MSU-authorized users (faculty, staff and students).
Foundation Directory Online Professional. Funding database created and maintained by the Foundation Center. Provides access to detailed profiles on over 140,000 private and corporate foundations, corporate giving programs, grantmaking public charities, and federal agency funders. Updated weekly. Also provides information on grant recipients, over 8 million recently awarded grants, and over a million recently filed IRS Forms 990 and 990-PF. Available across all MSU IP Ranges and to anyone with a current MSU NetID and password. Non-affiliated visitors can request access at the Main Library Reference Desk or utilize Foundation Directory Quick Start, a limited version of the database (free registration required). Consult the following tutorials for guidance in using the database:
FDO Field Definitions. Geared toward individual subscriptions, but still helpful for MSU's institution-wide interface.
Learn more about the Foundation Center's Taxonomy.
Foundation Grants to Individuals Online (Main Library Access Only) : Detailed information on more than 10,000 foundations that give grants or scholarships to individuals.
Foundation Maps. A data visualization tool to see who's funding what and where around the world.
Foundation Stats. Resource for generating tables and charts on the size, scope, and giving priorities of the U.S. foundation community.
GrantCraft. Develops and curates resources across different strategies, issues, languages, and formats. Note: requires free registration.
GrantSpace. A portal to free information available from the Foundation Center sorted by subjects, skills, classroom, tools, blog. Also provides sample Prospect Worksheets and access to a GrantSpace Blog for grantseekers.
Philanthropy News Digest (PND). A digest of philanthropy-related articles and features culled from print and electronic media outlets nationwide. Includes a list of recent, searchable and subject-sorted RFPs by large national funders.
Ask the Online Librarian. Want to tap the expertise of the Foundation Center staff? Check out this page with answers to many questions, but also a link to a chat interface and an online form for submitting email questions.
Confused?
Try the MSU Library Ask a Librarian Service.
