Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Grants and Related Resources: Background Information

A compilation of resources for grant and financial aid seekers.

Foundation Center

Foundation Center Home Page.  The Foundation Center is a national nonprofit service organization recognized as the nation’s leading authority on organized philanthropy. The Center's homepage contains a wealth of information and tools, including a link to Foundation Directory Quick Start, a limited version of Foundation Directory Online Professional (free registration required).  For the full version, access the Foundation Directory Online Professional database listed at the top of the middle column on this page.)

The MSU Main Library is a member of the Foundation Center's Funding Information Network.  The Main Library's Funding Center (on 1 East) collection includes grant and financial aid directories and books on fundraising, grant or proposal writing, the creation and management of nonprofits, and philanthropy, in general.  Anyone can visit the Main Library and use these resources in house. Those with an MSU or Community Borrower's card, can check out items from this collection.  They may also be requested through Interlibrary Loan. Consult the Main Library hours of operation and Reference hours to see when staff are available to offer assistance.

 

 

 

The Funding Information Network Partner Directory

Want to find a Funding Information Network Partner Library closer to home?  Consult the Foundation Center's Directory of Funding Information Network Partner Libraries.  Resources and services vary, so contact your closest Funding Information Network partner to find out what is available in that location.

 

Online Resources Provided by the Foundation Center

Foundation Directory Online Professional.  The cadillac of all funding databases, created and maintained by the Foundation Center. Provides access to detailed profiles on over 140,000 private and corporate foundations, corporate giving programs, grantmaking public charities, and federal agency funders.  Updated weekly.  Also provides information on grant recipients, over 8 million recently awarded grants, and over a million recently filed IRS Forms 990 and 990-PF.  Available across all MSU IP Ranges and to anyone who has a current MSU ID and password.  Non-affiliated visitors can request access at the Main Library Reference Desk. Consult the following resources for  guidance in using the new search interface:

FDO Field Definitions.  Geared toward individual subscriptions, but still helpful for MSU's institution-wide interface.

Learn more about the Foundation Center's Taxonomy

Foundation Grants to Individuals Online  (Main Library Access Only) : Detailed information on more than 10,000 foundations that give grants or scholarships to individuals. 

Catalog of Nonprofit Literature.  This resource can be used to identify additional books and journal articles on a wide variety of topics. Many of these resources are available in the MSU Libraries or requestable through InterLibrary Loan. Most articles can be requested directly from the Foundation Center as a benefit of our membership.

Collaboration Hub.  Search vast resources related to collaboration in the social sector.

Foundation Maps.  A data visualization tool to see who's funding what and where around the world. 

Foundation Stats.  Resource for generating tables and charts on the size, scope, and giving priorities of the U.S. foundation community.

Glasspockets. A Foundation Center initiative that champions philanthropic transparency in an online world. Launched in 2010, but with roots dating back to the Center’s founding in 1956, Glasspockets provides the data, resources, examples, and action steps foundations need to understand the value of transparency, be more open in their own communications, and help shed more light on how private organizations are serving the public good.

GrantCraft.  Develops and curates resources across different strategies, issues, languages, and formats. Note: requires free registration.

GrantSpace.  A portal to free information available from the Foundation Center sorted by subjects, skills, classroom, tools, blog.  Also provides sample Prospect Worksheets and access to a GrantSpace Blog for grantseekers.

International Visitor Portal. Pulls together information for visitors from countries outside the United States and/or helps people seeking information on international grantmaking by U.S. foundations.

IssueLab.  Provides a search engine and a full-text collection of over 7000 foundation-sponsored reports.

Philanthropy News Digest (PND).  A daily news service of the Foundation Center. It is a compendium, in digest form, of philanthropy-related articles and features culled from print and electronic media outlets nationwide. There is a searchable archive of past articles in the upper left corner of the PND site.

Requests for Proposals.  PND also provides information on requests for proposals by large national funders sorted by subject.

Ask the Online Librarian.  Want to tap the expertise of the Foundation Center staff?  Check out this page with answers to many questions, but also a link to a chat interface and an online form for submitting email questions.

Subject Guide Profile

Anita Ezzo's picture
Anita Ezzo
Contact:
Main Library
366 W. Circle Drive
Room E408
East Lansing, MI 48824
Website

Ask a Librarian

Michigan State University