Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
- SearchPlus is a new method to search across books, chapters, ebooks, and articles in a single search. It allows users to search most of the library's online databases and the library catalog at the same time, for a multidisciplinary set of results which can then be filtered by date, language, subject, and content type -- such as books, articles in scholarly journals, newspaper articles, dissertations, and more. SearchPlus Advanced can help limit results from the onset.
- The Library catalog is the primary way to find materials within the library. The online catalog lists all of the materials owned and cataloged by the MSU Libraries, both print and electronic journal titles, books, music CDs, government documents, videos & DVDs, and dissertations.
- The Advanced Search of the catalog allows you to search using multiple keywords, subjects, and combine fields like author and title. You can also set limits, including by collection (i.e. the format - periodicals, electronic resources, or any of the special or branch library collections), material type (i.e. maps, dissertations, etc.), location, language, and by a date or range of dates. Results can be sorted by date (most recent first), alphabetically by title, and by relevance.
The green tabs at the top of this page will also take you to specifically a Title, Author, Subject, or Basic Keyword search options.
UBorrow, MelCat, Remote Storage Reqeusts, and ILL
If a book-type item you're looking for is not held by MSU Libraries or is checked out, try Uborrow, the consortium of Big 10 libraries. You can access Uborrow though either our catalog [Check other Libraries button] or directly at this link. If the item is there, you will be prompted to log into your Illiad account to place the request. Uborrow books generally arrive in about 5 business days, with a 12 week checkout period. One 4 week renewal is permitted. Checkout periods vary for other types of materials.
ILLIAD - Interlibrary Loan Requests
ILLIAD is the Interlibrary loan system for articles, books, government documents, and other materials. It is used to process MARS and UBorrow requests, and for items not held at MSU Libraries. For questions about ILLIAD and placing requests, please consult the ILLIAD FAQs. First-time requesters will need to register and create a password, about a 2-3 minute process, after which you can begin immediately to place requests.
Remote Storage Requests
When an item you want has the location 'Remote Storage', use this form to have the item brought to you on campus. You will need to type or cut&paste the item's information into the form, so it may be easier to have the form and item record open ins separate tabs or windows..
Gull Lake Library Requests to Main Campus
Because the Gull Lake Library is not located at MSU in East Lansing, you may request to have materials delivered to the main campus. In order to retrieve materials from Gull Lake, you will need to read through the lending criteria and fill out the following form, one for books the other for articles - choose wisely.
If a book-type item you're looking for is checked out, is not held by MSU Libraries and unavailable through Uborrow, try MelCat, a consortium of Michigan academic and public libraries. You can access MelCat though either our catalog [Check other Libraries button] or this link. You will need your library barcode to process the request. Community user patrons may use MelCat and have the items delivered to the Main Library Circulation Desk.
The Library catalog contains MSU theses and dissertations as well as some select theses and dissertations from other institutions. Formats include print, microform and links to electronic full text (1997-). Please note that there may be a slight processing delay for current items.
- MSU Libraries Catalog
Change the 'Any Field' drop-down box to author, title, or subject . You can also search by specific department or college; i.e., forestry or plant pathology. From the Collection drop-down list, select "Theses and Dissertations," and from the Search and Sort drop-down list, select "Sorted by date" so the most recent items will be at the top.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) database is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day and offering full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997.
- Dissertations & Theses @ CIC Institutions - This ProQuest site provides access to dissertations and theses from MSU and other CIC institutions. Full text is available from 1997 onward; citations and abstracts are available for earlier documents.
- For more assistance locating Theses & Dissertations, see the Library Research Guide Finding Dissertations and Theses