LibGuides: Health Care Policy: Home

Overview

This guide attempts to direct users to useful information regarding primarily federal policy regarding health care issues. It is not a comprehensive guide. Those seeking more guidance can consult with our reference staff or consult additional guides below. Key subject headings include:

Health Care Reform
Health Insurance
Medical Policy
United States. Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act

Other Useful LIbrary Guides

Cross-Disciplinary Databases

Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window Gale Academic OneFile is a collection of more than 8,000 journals, mostly peer-reviewed, all with full manual indexing and backfile content, covering a variety of academic disciplines from STM to the humanities. The majority of the content is available in full-text, both in HTML and PDF formats.
Journal Citation Reports, Science and Social Science This link opens in a new window This is a resource tool for journal evaluation using citation data. The JCR is the only source for citation data on journals.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Searchable database of the full text of journals in anthropology, Asian Studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, and sociology. Years available vary with each title, but the most recent issues available in JSTOR will be 4-5 years old.

Medical Databases

CINAHL Plus with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window 1937 - CINAHL is the online version of the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature. It provides indexing for over 3,000 nursing, allied health, biomedical, and consumer health journals. Additional items indexed include nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals, and book chapters. Evidence Based Care Sheets and Quick Lessons are also included.
Global Health including Archive This link opens in a new window Global Health is a specialist international public health database. It includes significant unique content particularly in the areas of tropical medicine, infectious diseases, vector control, food safety and epidemiology. It contains abstracts from international publications and the Global Health Archive 1912-1983.
Health Policy Reference Center This link opens in a new window This full-text database covers all aspects of health policy and related issues.
PubMed (Medline) This link opens in a new window 1966- MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine's premier bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. Note: Beginning June 1, 2021, users of NCBI services will need to login with their MSU Net ID instead of a NCBI-generated account. The NLM has more information about this change and how to link your existing NCBI account with your MSU Net ID. A Microsoft Word document containing step by step instructions is avaialble for download.

Public Policy Databases

Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) This link opens in a new window 1991- Indexes and selectively publishes post-1990 scholarship and reports on international affairs. Provides full-text access to relevant Columbia University Press titles and many recent journals, papers from university research institutes and non-governmental organizations, foundation-funded research projects, and conference proceedings. CIAO also has links to international affairs centers, institutes, and other resources; U.S., international, and foreign govenment sites; environmental studies web pages; and news media services.
International Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window 1951- This database contains over 282,000 records from over 1,000 journals published throughout the world from 1951 to the present. Approximately 8,000 new records are added to the database each year. The abstracts summarize the source articles. Articles in English are abstracted in English; those in other languages are abstracted in French, with all titles translated into English.
PAIS International This link opens in a new window Information in PAIS International and PAIS Archive covers topical public and social issues and the making and evaluating of public policy. Worldwide in geographic scope, PAIS International and PAIS Archive indexes publications in English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish that deal with public affairs. PAIS Archive is a retrospective database supplementing PAIS International containing more than 1.2 million records covering the years 1915-1976.
Policy File Index This link opens in a new window Offering access to U.S. foreign and domestic policy papers and gray literature, Policy File Index is updated weekly with abstracts and links to the latest reports, papers, and documents from think tanks, research institutes, and agencies.
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window Political Science Complete™ (PSC) contains full text for over 530 journals, and indexing and abstracts for more than 2,900 journals (including top-ranked scholarly journals), many of which are unique to the product. PSC has a worldwide focus, reflecting the globalization of contemporary political discourse. The database also features over 340 full-text reference books and monographs, and over 38,000 full-text conference papers, including those of the International Political Science Association (Description as of January 2012).

Subject Guide

Abraham Wheeler

Email Me

Contact:

MSU Libraries

366 W. Circle Drive WG-1D

East Lansing, MI 48824

517-884-0893

Subjects: Medicine, Public Health

Health Sciences Librarian

Chana Kraus-Friedberg

Email Me

Contact:

366 W. Circle Drive
East Lansing, MI 48824

517-884-8462