French Opera: Music Library

This resource provides comprehensive coverage of Western classical music, ethno-musicology, biography, and music terminology. Within this resource is Grove Music Online, an electronic version of New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, Fine Arts Permanent Reserve 1 (at the Desk) ML 100 .G885 2001 v. 1-29, the foremost encyclopedia of music. It has long topical and biographical articles with further reading references. You can search just this part of Oxford Music Online by checking that box by the search form in the upper right hand corner of the OMO entry page. Be sure to log out when you are finished, because we only have the capacity for a few simultaneous users.

1967-
Offers an international bibliography of scholarly writings on music and related disciplines in 202 languages, including original language titles; title translations in English; full bibliographic information; abstracts in English; and author, journal, and subject indexes. Includes all forms of scholarly works.

Music Index began in 1949 as an index of books and articles about music, including book reviews, obituaries, music books, scores, and recordings. Currently, over 800 sources are indexed, in many languages and from many countries. The online version is retrospective to 1974 and is the most current index, with new entries added within four to six months after publication. Approximately one year of archival material is added annually. This is an index only; no abstracts are included. It is the only source covering 1949-1969, when RILM Abstracts began publication. There is some overlap with RILM but many journals are uniquely covered in each. Printed volumes for the entire retrospective run of Music Index can be found in the Fine Arts - Music Reference section: ML 118 .M84.

RISM Series A/II: Music Manuscripts after 1600 Published by the Répertoire International des Sources Musicale - RISM (International Inventory of Musical Sources) is an international, non-profit joint venture, which aims to comprehensively document the world's musical sources of manuscripts or printed music, works on music theory, and libretti stored in libraries, archives, monasteries, schools and private collections. The organization, founded in Paris in 1952, is the largest and only global operation that registers musical sources.

RISM documents what exists and where it is stored. RISM - Series A/II: Music manuscripts after 1600 is the most comprehensive annotated index and guide to music manuscripts containing more than 620,000 manuscript records by over 22,500 composers found in over 800 libraries and archives in 32 countries including: Australia, Austria, Belgium, Belarus, Brazil, Canada, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Great Britain, Hungary, Italy, Japan, The Netherlands, Mexico, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Rumania, Russia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Ukraine, Uruguay and the United States.