Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Institute of Water Research Tools
Great Lakes Clean Communities Network
This tool is designed to connect communities and organizations around the Great Lakes by sharing water quality information.
This tool allows residents of the Great Lakes region to map and share green practices like rain barrels and gardens.
Lake Erie Forum
This online forum is a one-stop shop for all Lake Erie related information coming from both U.S. and Canadian sources.
Environmental Learning Using Computer Interactive Decisions - this tool illustrates the complex interactions in coupled human and natural systems through a GIS environment.
Great Lakes Watershed Management System
GIS based tool for mapping and tracking sediment and nutrient loading across the Great Lakes Watershed through field scale best management practices scenario modeling.
Social Indicators Data Management and Analysis
This tool organizes, analyzes, and visualizes social indicators related to water management issues.
Water Withdrawal Assessment Tool
This tool is designed for individuals preparing new or increased groundwater withdrawal and can determine whether planned future withdrawals have the potential to negatively impact water levels in nearby streams.
The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency's STORET Data Warehouse has water related data relevant to biological, habitat, and physical/chemical water research.
National Elevation Dataset
This USGS dataset provides elevation data for map making and GIS uses.
National Hydrography Dataset and Watershed Boundary Dataset
These datasets are produced by the USGS and contain data onsurface water within the United States.
NOAA Water Data
The National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration's database on water.
United Nations GEMS Water Data Centre
A United Nations database containing data on international water quality.
USGS Water Data
The United States Geological Survey's national water database. Includes data on surface and groundwater, water quality, and water use.
Water Quality Portal
This dataset is the result of a collaboration between the USGS, the EPA, and the National Water Quality Monitoring Council with data collected from state, federal, local, and tribal organizations.
FAOSTAT This link opens in a new window
FAOSTAT is an on-line and multilingual database currently containing over 1 million time-series records covering international statistics in the following areas: Production, Trade, Food Balance Sheets, Food Aid Shipments, Fertilizer and Pesticides, Land Use and Irrigation, Forest Products, Fishery Products, Population, Agricultural Machinery.
ARS Water Database
Note: Michigan data is NOT in this database. This is a collection of precipitation and streamflow data from small agricultural watersheds in the United States. This national archive of variable time-series readings for precipitation and runoff contains sufficient detail to reconstruct storm hydrographs and hyetographs. There are currently about 16,600 station years of data stored in the data base. Watersheds used as study areas range from .2 hectare (0.5 acres) to 12,400 square kilometers (4,786 square miles).
Local Water Data and Reports
EPA, "Surf Your Watershed: Upper Grand River"
This site pulls together several federal agency resources on the Upper Grand Watershed. The Red Cedar is part of the Upper Grand Watershed.
EPA Great Lakes Environmental Database (GLENDA)
EPA aggregation of data related to the Great Lakes in such areas as water quality/chemistry, fish tissue chemistry and sampling, sediments, and Lake Michigan Mass Balance. Requires users to register with the EPA's Central Data Exchange to access.
Full Study of the Economic Impact of the Huron River by Grand Valley State University
In 2016, HRWC commissioned a unique study to measure the economic impact of the river on local communities, focusing on Huron River Water Trail activities and the value of natural systems that maintain a healthy, clean river.
Ingham County Surface Water Monitoring Program
Water quality program measures for E. coli in the Grand and Red Cedar Rivers, Sycamore Creek and Stockbridge. Data presented by sampling sites.
Michigan Clean Water Corps (MiCorps)
Data from a network of volunteer monitoring programs
Go to Data Exchange
Data Search Criteria - http://www.micorps.net/data/view/search/stream/raw.php
1. Search by County, Watershed, Stream/River Name or All sites
Go To: Stream/River Name and select Red Cedar River from the options.
2. Select Date Range - Leave open for most results
3. Select Output Format - I recommend you go with Web format until you find what you need, then you can redo the search and retrieve the data set in spreadsheet format.
Michigan DEQ Wellogic
Database with information on wells drilled in Michigan.
Michigan Surface Water Information Management System (MiSWIMS)
Users are able to view and download water quality data collected by the DEQ and DNR from surface water monitoring sites located throughout Michigan.
Search by location = Ingham County
Pull down the list and select Red Cedar
Look for the tabs: Assessments, Water Quality, Beach/River E.coli, etc.
Under USGS Gauge Station find discharge (volume) data from 1902 to present
Water Quality and Pollution Control in Michigan Integrated Report
The Michigan Department of Environmental Quality's yearly report compiling and integrating state-wide water quality monitoring data.