Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Historic Image Databases
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
ARTstor is a digital image database containing over 1 million images. Images are grouped into collections and represent the canon of art history (as defined by major art history survey texts) as well as specialized collections such as the MoMA Architecture and Design Collection and the Huntington Archive of Asian Art.
Berg Fashion Library This link opens in a new window
The Berg Fashion Library provides access to interdisciplinary and integrated text, image, and journal content on world dress and fashion and is useful to anyone researching or studying fashion, anthropology, art history, history, museum studies, and cultural studies.
Smithsonian Collections Center: Explore by Arts & Design, History & Culture, or by individual Smithsonian repositories and museums.
Library of Congress Prints & Photographs Online Catalog
J. Walter Thompson: Advertising America This link opens in a new window
The J. Walter Thompson Company Archive documents the history, operation, policies and accomplishments of one of the world's largest and oldest advertising firms. The papers here reveal many aspects of twentieth-century cultural, social, business, marketing, consumer and economic history while investigating the human psyche.
Fashion Studies Online: The Videofashion Library This link opens in a new window
This collection will bring together at completion over 1,200 hours of videos that retrace the history of fashion, clothing, and costume worldwide. Students and researchers can access a remarkable collection covering the major fashion weeks in Milan, Paris, New York and London, as well as Miami swim and New York bridal collections. Topical segments visit events like the Met's Costume Exhibits, CFDA Awards, and feature interviews with top designers, models, and celebrities of the fashion world.