Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Other Databases Helpful for Design
Performance Design Archive Online
Performance Design Archive Online covers all aspects of theater production design, from the 17th century through to the present day, including scenic and set design, lighting design, sound design, costume design, and makeup. Bringing together essential books and periodicals, archival material, and specially commissioned instructional videos, the collection will cover design concepts for a broad range of performance types, including dance, theatre, opera, and music.
Shakespeare in Performance: Prompt Books from the Folger Shakespeare Library
Shakespeare in Performance showcases rare and unique prompt books from the world-famous Folger Shakespeare Library. These prompt books tell the story of Shakespeare’s plays as they were performed in theatres throughout Great Britain, the United States and internationally, between the seventeenth and twentieth centuries.
Shakespeare’s Globe Archive
Shakespeare’s Globe Archive offers insights into performance practice in the particular space and playing conditions of the reconstructed Globe Theatre. In addition, it details the way in which the theatre was reconstructed as a place of radical theatrical experiment through which to examine the plays of William Shakespeare and others. The archive documents over 200 productions from 1997-2016 through prompt books, wardrobe notes, music, performance photographs, programmes, publicity and marketing material, research, show reports and architectural plans. This collection will be of great interest to anyone studying Shakespeare, theatre studies, early modern literature and cultural history.
Bloomsbury Design Library
The Bloomsbury Design Library gives comprehensive global coverage of the history, theory and practice of crafts and design, from prehistoric times to the present day.
Academic Video Online: Premium
Academic Video Online: Premium (AVON) is a multidisciplinary collection of videos that touches on the curriculum needs of virtually every department. With thousands of thousands of titles available now and 400 new titles per month, this collection is unmatched in its breadth. Academic Video Online: Premium allows students and researchers alike to analyze unique and valuable content from over 500 producers and distributors around the world.
London Low Life
London Low Life is a full-text searchable resource, containing colour digital images of rare books, ephemera, maps and other materials relating to 18th, 19th and early 20th century London. It is designed for both teaching and study, from undergraduate to research students and beyond.
In addition to the digital documents, London Low Life contains a wealth of secondary resources, including a chronology, interactive maps, essays, online galleries and links to other useful websites.