A. Anticipated Future Trends
Current and future trends include more emphasis on databases, electronic journals and monographs, new technologies (such as GIS), networking, digitization, artificial intelligence, distance learning, and information literacy. Other areas include off-site shelving (libraries) or storage (museums); virtual libraries; collection development in a digital environment; metadata and types of markup languages (HTML, SGML, XML, etc.); licensing and managing digital content; consortia; e-publishing; cyberculture; and changes in reference service, e.g. chat reference and email reference. We have not, however, stopped collecting traditional library materials (books, journals, microfilm, etc) nor would we in the foreseeable future. A recent article in ARL: A Bimonthly Report on Research Library Issues and Actions from ARL, CNI, and SPARC says, "Responding to user demand, libraries have steadily been shifting the focus of their collection development to the acquisition and licensing of electronic content, much of it via consortia. The consolidation of commercially published STM (science, technology, medicine) journals in the hands of a few gigantic publishing conglomerates and aggregators has given rise to a response which envisions a new paradigm of scholarly communication and the development of cooperative ventures such as SPARC (the Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition), an alliance of universities, research libraries, and organizations built as a constructive response to market dysfunctions in the scholarly communication system." (http://www.sparc.arl.org/)
In the area of the history of the book and the book industry, we have seen growth in the area of computer-aided design, and Web page development and design. There has been exponential growth in the mining of the hidden collections of the archives and special collections units of libraries and museums for esoteric materials once known only to dedicated researchers. The MSU Libraries Special Collections Division, for example, is having its radicalism and men's studies collections microfilmed, possibly for future digitization projects. Digital book production as a topic may also lead to the publication of unique, limited-edition type books that might in the past have been too expensive. Henry C. Koch's Catalogue of Rare Veterinary Books & Allied Subjects in Animal Husbandry in the Michigan State University Library (http://digital.lib.msu.edu/vetmed/) is one such example.
National cooperative projects such as Feeding America: The Historic American Cookbook Project (http://digital.lib.msu.edu/cookbooks/) make rare materials from the MSU Libraries Special Collections Division available via digitization to anyone with Internet access. Many such projects are aimed at enriching K-12 curricula and exposing students to primary sources at an early age. This project and other similar ones are funded by agencies such as the Institute of Museum and Library Services, an independent federal agency that supports the nation's museums and libraries. Information literacy; evaluating web-based information; motivating children and teens to read, local studies librarianship, and online community information are some of the topics currently collected.
Museum studies now include museum ethnography; repatriation of native american remains; visitor studies; intergenerational programming for exhibits; museum evaluation; case studies in museum education; recent studies on the effects of the environment on outdoor art; cultural excursions; mission statements and codes of ethics; avant-garde in exhibition; computer technology in museums, and user experience.
B. Relationships with Other Resources
Resources about online searching and all aspects of programming and web design may class in QA and be collected in the Mathematics & Statistics or Engineering Branch Libraries. There may also be software or non-print formats in the Digital & Multimedia (formerly Audio-Visual) Center which also includes the Vincent Voice Library. The holdings in the Fine Arts Library consist primarily of reference materials; works about graphic design; U.S. printing history; practical printing, type specimen books; works about conservation and preservation; and museum studies. Additional significant art research holdings, such as illuminated manuscript facsimiles (http://catalog.lib.msu.edu/record=b2863635~S39a), rare books, microforms and software, are located in the Main Library (in Special Collections or in the Microforms section of the Current Periodicals & Microforms, Reserves and Copy Service Unit).
The University of Michigan School of Information offers a specialization in Library & Information Services, including school library media programs; Archives & Records Management; Human Computer Interaction, and others. Its library collection relating to SI graduate programs is a resource of great depth and historicity. The UM Libraries are also very strong in areas such as paleography. Wayne State University School of Library and Information Science collects resources to support seven specialized programs. As part of the Michigan Research Libraries Triangle, MSU Libraries maintains reciprocal borrowing agreements with both the University of Michigan and Wayne State Libraries. Materials are also obtained via interlibrary loan from other CIC institutions.
C. Relationships to Resources Treated in Other Policy Statements
There are also relationships to other units or divisions within the Libraries, e.g. Access and Preservation; the Digital and Multimedia Center; Special Collections; Fine Arts; Government Documents; Library Instruction; and Microforms.