Charting the Next Pandemic by
This book provides an introduction to the computational and complex systems modeling of the global spreading of infectious diseases. The latest developments in the area of contagion processes modeling are discussed, and readers are exposed to real world examples of data-model integration impacting the decision-making process. Recent advances in computational science and the increasing availability of real-world data are making it possible to develop realistic scenarios and real-time forecasts of the global spreading of emerging health threats. The first part of the book guides the reader through sophisticated complex systems modeling techniques with a non-technical and visual approach, explaining and illustrating the construction of the modern framework used to project the spread of pandemics and epidemics. Models can be used to transform data to knowledge that is intuitively communicated by powerful infographics and for this reason, the second part of the book focuses on a set of charts that illustrate possible scenarios of future pandemics. The visual atlas contained allows the reader to identify commonalities and patterns in emerging health threats, as well as explore the wide range of models and data that can be used by policy makers to anticipate trends, evaluate risks and eventually manage future events. Charting the Next Pandemic puts the reader in the position to explore different pandemic scenarios and to understand the potential impact of available containment and prevention strategies. This book emphasizes the importance of a global perspective in the assessment of emerging health threats and captures the possible evolution of the next pandemic, while at the same time providing the intelligence needed to fight it. The text will appeal to a wide range of audiences with diverse technical backgrounds.
Essentials of Epidemiology in Public Health by 
Jekel's Epidemiology, Biostatistics, Preventive Medicine, and Public Health by
Written by renowned epidemiologists and public health experts, this unique text provides complete, concise coverage of epidemiology, biostatistics, preventive medicine, and public health in clear, easy-to-understand terms. One convenient volume delivers must-know content in four complex areas-information that's sure to be covered in today's classrooms and on USMLE exams-presented with a clinical focus and real-life medical examples throughout. Depth of coverage, concise writing style, outstanding online review questions, a clinical emphasis . these features and more make Jekel's your go-to resource for learning, study, and review. Focuses on clinical problem solving and decision making using epidemiologic concepts and examples. Contains more clinical cases throughout, including global examples. Offers expanded coverage of the impact of big data and precision medicine, as well as an updated and reorganized biostatistics section. Features quick-reference boxes that showcase key concepts and calculations, and dynamic illustrations that facilitate learning using a highly visual approach. Provides almost 300 multiple-choice chapter review questions and answers in print, with additional questions and more online at Student Consult. Aligns content to board blueprints for the USMLE as well as the three specialties certified by the American Board of Preventive Medicine: Occupational Medicine, and Public Health & General Preventive Medicine-and is recommended by the ABPM as a top review source for its core specialty examination. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Evolve Instructor site, with an image and table bank as well as chapter overviews as PowerPoints, is available to instructors through their Elsevier sales rep or via request at: https://evolve.elsevier.com.
Monitoring the Health of Populations by Tracking Disease Outbreaks by
Today the citizens of developed countries have never experienced a large-scale disease outbreak like the plague that could sweep through communities with impunity killing millions. One reason is the success of the public health community, including epidemiologists and biostatisticians, in tracking and identifying disease outbreaks. Monitoring the Health of Populations by Tracking Disease Outbreaks: Saving Humanity from the Next Plague is the story of the application of statistics for disease detection and tracking. The work of public health officials often critically depends on the use of statistical methods to help discern whether an outbreak may be occurring and, if there is sufficient evidence of an outbreak, then to locate and track it. Statisticians also help design surveys and experiments to collect critical information, and they analyze the resulting data to help investigators zero in on a cause for a disease. With the recent outbreaks of diseases such as swine and bird flu, Ebola, and the 2019 Novel Coronavirus, the role that epidemiologists and biostatisticians play is more important than ever. Features: · Discusses the crucial roles of statistics in early disease detection. · Outlines the concepts and methods of disease surveillance. · Covers surveillance techniques for communicable diseases like Zika and chronic diseases such as cancer. · Gives real world examples of disease investigations including smallpox, syphilis, anthrax, yellow fever, and microcephaly (and its relationship to the Zika virus). Via the process of identifying an outbreak, finding its cause, and developing a plan to prevent its reoccurrence, this book tells the story of how medical and public health professionals use statistics to help mitigate the effects of disease. As of February 2020, the 2019 Novel Coronavirus is challenging governments and health organizations to contain it, with travel bans to China being implemented, borders being closed, and quarantines being implemented and enforced. This book will help readers understand how statisticians and epidemiologists help combat the spread of such diseases in order to improve public health across the world.