Emerging and Transboundary Animal Viruses by
This book, which is the first volume of the book series-Livestock Diseases and Management, summarizes the prominence and implications of the emerging and transboundary animal viruses. Although the livestock plays an important role in the economy of many countries, the emerging and transboundary animal viral diseases possess a serious risk to the animal-agriculture sector and food security globally. The book describes the precise and up-to-date information on animal viral diseases which have emerged in the recent past or are re-emerging due to various environmental factors and those which are not bounded in restricted national boundaries and attained the transboundary status. The chapters summarize the recent advancements in the molecular state-of-art tools towards the development of diagnostics, prophylactics, and therapeutics of these viruses. It also explicitly describes the challenges imposed by the emerging and transboundary viral infections and our preparedness to counter them.
Emerging Zoonoses by
The book begins with a review of zoonotic pandemics of the past: the "Black Death" or bubonic plague of the Middle Ages, the Spanish Influenza pandemic (derived from avian influenza) of the early 20th century, to the more modern pandemic of AIDS/HIV infection, which originated in Africa from primates. However, the majority of chapters focus on more recent zoonoses, which have been recognized since the late 20th century to the present: · SARS and MERS coronaviruses · New avian influenza viruses · The tick-borne Henan fever virus from China · The tick-borne Heartland virus from the United States · Recently recognized bacterial pathogens, such as Streptococcus suis from pigs. In addition, reemergence of established zoonoses that have expanded their niche are reviewed, such as the spread of Zika virus and Chikungunya virus to the Western Hemisphere, and the emergence and spread of Ebola virus infection in Africa. A chapter is also devoted to an overview of the mechanisms and various types of animals involved in the transmission of diseases to humans, and the potential means of control and prevention. Many endemic and sporadic diseases are still transmitted by animals, through either direct or indirect contact, and zoonoses are estimated to account for about 75% of all new and emerging infectious diseases. It is predicted by public health experts that the next major pandemic of infectious disease will be of animal origin, making Emerging Zoonoses: A Worldwide Perspective a crucial resource to all health care specialists by providing them with much needed information on these zoonotic diseases. iv>
This is a list of books available through the MSU libraries that cover pandemics and various subtopics related to them. Some of them are print books that you'll have to come to the library for, or request, and some are ebooks you can access from home if you are an MSU faculty member, staff, or student. This list was developed in consultation with health professions faculty. Sub topics include: coronaviruses, disaster medicine, infectious diseases, public health, virology, and zoonotic diseases. use the side menu to see each section. If you would like to suggest a title for inclusion please email Chana Kraus-Friedberg or Iris Kovar-Gough.
For more ebooks please consult the Electronic Medical Books guide, Nursing Ebooks Guide, and Electronic Veterinary Medicine Books Guide.
Autoimmunity, COVID-19, Post-COVID19 Syndrome and COVID-19 Vaccination by
Autoimmunity, COVID-19, Post-COVID-19 Syndrome and COVID-19 Vaccination covers all aspects of what is perhaps the most dramatic health crisis in the history of modern medicine. Severe acute respiratory syndrome coronavirus 2 (SARS-CoV-2) raised major concerns about the association between the virus and various autoimmune manifestations. Over 15 distinct autoantibodies and above 10 different autoimmune diseases were found to develop in COVID-19 patients. Moreover, evidence about recovered COVID-19 patients demonstrates that persistent systemic symptoms, which are believed to have an autoimmune-related mechanism, do exist. As it is of great importance to recognize those autoimmune manifestations of COVID-19 and post-COVID-19 syndrome to properly cope with their outcomes in the ongoing pandemic and the long-term post-pandemic period, this book fulfills a vital need in the medical community. Describe the short and long impact of COVID-19 on autoimmunity Provides understanding to the acute and chronic impact of the SARS-CoV-2 Gives insights into the long-term effects of COVID-19 on recovered patients Provides conclusions on the novel terms "chronic post-COVID-19 syndrome", "post-acute COVID-19 syndrome", and "long COVID-19"
Coronavirus: the COVID-19 Pandemic by
This title covers the events surrounding an unprecedented global health crisis, including the origin of the pandemic, how it spread across the world, and how government leaders and health experts worked to respond. Features include essential facts, a glossary, selected bibliography, websites, source notes, and an index. Aligned to Common Core Standards and correlated to state standards. Essential Library is an imprint of Abdo Publishing, a division of ABDO.
COVID-19, MERS and SARS: Global Status by
COVID-19, MERS and SARS: Global Status is one in a series of GIDEON ebooks which explore all individual infectious diseases, drugs, vaccines, outbreaks, surveys and pathogens in every country of the world. Data are based on the GIDEON web application (www.gideononline.com) which relies on standard text books, peer-review journals, Health Ministry reports and ProMED, supplemented by an ongoing exhaustive search of the medical literature. Chapters are arranged alphabetically, by disease. Each chapter includes: 1. Descriptive epidemiology 2. Summary of clinical features 3. Potential use in Bioterrorism 4. References COVID-19, MERS and SARS: Global Status includes separate sections on COVID-19, MERS Coronavirus infection, and SARS.
Understanding Coronavirus by
Since the identification of the first cases of the coronavirus in December 2019, there has been a significant amount of confusion regarding the origin and spread of the so-called 'coronavirus', SARS-CoV-2, and the cause of the disease COVID-19. Conflicting messages from the media and officials across different countries and organizations, the abundance of disparate sources of information, unfounded conspiracy theories on the origins of the virus, unproven therapies, and inconsistent public health measures, have all served to increase anxiety in the population. Where did the virus come from? How is it transmitted? How does it cause disease? Is it like flu? What is a pandemic? In this concise and accessible introduction, a leading expert provides answers to these commonly asked questions. This revised and updated edition now also covers how the virus mutates, how important these mutations are, how vaccines work, and what we can expect in the near and long-term future.
Emerging and Re-Emerging Viral Infections by 
Fields Virology - Emerging Viruses by
Now in four convenient volumes, Fields Virology remains the most authoritative reference in this fast-changing field, providing definitive coverage of virology, including virus biology as well as replication and medical aspects of specific virus families. This volume of Fields Virology: Emerging Viruses, Seventh Edition covers recent changes in emerging viruses, providing new or extensively revised chapters that reflect these advances in this dynamic field. Bundled with the eBook, which will be updated regularly as new information about each virus is available, including coronavirus and COVID-19, this text serves as the authoritative, up-to-date reference book for virologists, infectious disease specialists, microbiologists, and physicians, as well as medical students pursuing a career in infectious diseases. Covers both basic science and medical features of each virus, emphasizing viruses of medical importance and interest, while also including other viruses in specific cases where more is known about their mechanisms of replication or pathogenesis. Covers virus evolution, as well as Coronoviridae, Picornaviridae, Enteroviruses, Caliciviridae, Hepatitis C Virus, Filoviridae, Henipaviruses, Orthomyxoviruses, Bunyavirales, Arenaviridae, and much more. Features over 500 full-color illustrations, including key figures for use as lecture slides. Provides quick, flexible access to current information both in print and in an improved eBook format, searchable across all volumes. Discusses virus structure, virus entry, replication, and assembly, virus-host cell interactions, host immune responses and vaccines, antiviral therapeutics, virus evolution and immunization. New and forthcoming Fields Virology volumes, available in print and eBook format: Emerging Viruses DNA Viruses RNA Viruses Fundamental Viruses Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Guide to Clinical and Diagnostic Virology by
The explosion in clinical testing has been especially rapid in virology, where emerging viruses and growing numbers of viral infections are driving advances. The Guide to Clinical and Diagnostic Virology offers a digestible view of the breadth and depth of information related to clinical virology, providing a practical, working knowledge of the wide array of viruses that cause human disease. Introductory chapters cover the basics of clinical virology and laboratory diagnosis of infections, including virus structure, life cycle, transmission, taxonomy, specimen types and handling, and a comparison of assays used for detection. Detailed sections on important topics include Viral pathogens and their clinical presentations Diagnostic assays and techniques, including culture-based, immunological, and molecular Prevention and management of viral infections, with guidance on biosafety, vaccines, and antiviral therapies The regulatory environment for laboratory testing, including regulatory requirements and assay performance and interpretation Critical concepts are carefully curated and concisely summarized and presented with detailed illustrations that aid comprehension, along with important highlights and helpful hints. These features, plus question sections that reinforce significant ideas and key concepts, make this an invaluable text for anyone looking for an accessible route through clinical and diagnostic virology. Laboratory technologists, medical students, infectious disease and microbiology fellows, pathology residents, researchers, and everyone involved with viruses in the clinical setting will find the Guide to Clinical and Diagnostic Virology an excellent text as well as companion to clinical virology references.
Vaccines by
From the development of each vaccine to its use in reducing disease, Plotkin's Vaccines, 7th Edition, provides the expert information you need to provide optimal care to your patients. This award-winning text offers a complete understanding of each disease, as well as the latest knowledge of both existing vaccines and those currently in research and development. Described by Bill Gates as "an indispensable guide to the enhancement of the well-being of our world," Plotkin's Vaccines is a must-have reference for current, authoritative information in this fast-moving field. Includes complete information for each disease, including clinical characteristics, microbiology, pathogenesis, diagnosis, and treatment, epidemiology, and public health and regulatory issues - plus complete information for each vaccine, including its stability, immunogenicity, efficacy, duration of immunity, adverse events, indications, contraindications, precautions, administration with other vaccines, and disease-control strategies. Analyzes the cost-benefit and cost-effectiveness of different vaccine options. Helps you clearly visualize concepts and objective data through an abundance of tables and figures. Covers the new oral cholera and zoster vaccines, as well as newly licensed meningococcal group B vaccines and a newly licensed dengue vaccine. Brings you up to date on successful human trials of Ebola vaccines, an enterovirus 71 vaccine licensed in China, and new recommendations and changes to polio vaccines. Features a new chapter on maternal immunization. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Disasters and Their Impact on Children's Mental Health by
This book provides a broad international perspective on the psychological trauma faced by children and adolescents exposed to major disasters, and on the local public health response to their needs. An outstanding quality of the book is that it draws upon the experience of local researchers, clinicians, and public mental health practitioners who dedicated themselves to these children in the wake of overwhelming events. The chapters address exemplary responses to a wide variety of trauma types, including severe weather, war, industrial catastrophes, earthquakes, and terrorism. Because disasters do not recognize geographic, economic, or political boundaries, the chapters have been selected to reflect the diverse global community's attempt to respond to vulnerable children in the most challenging times. The book, thus, examines a diverse range of healthcare systems, cultural settings, mental health infrastructure, government policies, and the economic factors that have played an important role in responses to traumatic events. The ultimate goal of this book is to stimulate future international collaborations and interventions that will promote children's mental health in the face of disaster.
