Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
24/7 Support: (800) 500-1554
When you find a resource on our e-resources page or in our library catalog, you will receive a login page asking for your NetID and password. Just enter your information and you'll be automatically taken to the resource. Questions? Call 517-353-8700.
Find Theses and Dissertations
Looking for theses or dissertations? Start with this guide and Proquest Dissertations.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new window
The world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day and offering full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997.
Library, Google or Google Scholar?
If you decide to use a Google product or other search engines, search smart and save time by defining scholar settings for MSU Libraries access.
Google Scholar, the Smart Way
To ensure seamless access to MSU resource subscriptions, please do the following:
- Before searching, click on "Settings" at the top right.
- At left, click on "Library Links" and search for Michigan State University Libraries.
- Select and establish MSU access.
- Do your search in Google Scholar.
- Click on the link for "MSU Access" that will appear to the right of the title of the resource.
You will then be prompted for your MSU NetID and password to access that resource.
Please note - if you click on the title and not the "MSU Access" link you won't be recognized as an MSU subscriber. "MSU Access" links will appear as long as you don't close your browser.
Mango Languages This link opens in a new window
Mango Languages uses real-life situations, conversational immersion, along with authentic content (through full-featured films), to teach a new language through an easy, interactive, and self-paced online system. Available on any mobile device, Mango Languages features over 70 foreign language, 18 ESL, and over 30 specialty courses taught by native speakers.
Many Books, Many Languages: Finding International Fiction
Looking for fiction to read in a language other than English? The library has books in more than 300 languages, including popular fiction and literature.
Murray and Hong Special Collections
You'll find a wealth of foreign language learning materials here, both popular and historical, especially in the Comic Art, Cookery & Food, Ethnic Studies, and European History & Culture collections. We welcome class visits to Special Collections.
E-books and E-readers at the MSU Libraries
Reading, downloading and printing academic e-books you find in the library catalog.
Using the East Lansing Public Library
Find a limited selection of foreign language popular reading, graphic novels, young adult and children's books as well as audio books not available at the MSU Libraries.
Subject Headings in Language Teaching and Learning
Some suggested subject headings to use when searching the catalog:
- Langugage and languages—Study and teaching
- [French, Spanish, Arabic, Chinese, etc.] language—Study and teaching
- Language and languages—Computer-assisted instruction
- Language and languages—Study and teaching—Technological innovations
- French, Spanish, Arabic, Chinese, etc.] language—Acquisition
- Language and languages—Ability testing
Streaming Audio & Video
Extensive collections include rich sources for "authentic input" and cultural learning such as Contemporary World Music, Smithsonian Global Sound, Asian Film Online, and much more.
Digital & Multimedia Center
Includes both online and traditional media collections, designed to meet research needs across many different disciplines and subject areas.
Access to collections of online newspapers, as well as selected individual titles within those collections.
Find Research for Second Language Learning & Teaching
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new window
LLBA provides non-evaluative abstracts of articles from approximately 2,000 serials published worldwide, coverage of monographs, recent books, technical reports, occasional papers, enhanced dissertation listings from Dissertation Abstracts International, and bibliographic citations for book reviews that appear in journals abstracted for LLBA. 1973-present
Brings together in one journal the latest findings in important research worldwide in language teaching and learning.
Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides citations for every article of at least one column in length taken from more than 500 English-language periodicals and yearbooks in the field of education. Covers every age and sector of the educational community from preschool through college. Includes book review citations. MSU Libraries have a related print publication: Education Index located in the Main Library at Z5813 .E23 and covering 1929-1982.