Skip to main content
Michigan State University

MC 202: Belonging or Not? Being Muslim in the US

Dr. Linda Sayed | Spring 2020

What are secondary sources?

Secondary sources are materials which provide an interpretation, analysis or discussion of information originally presented elsewhere. This is in contrast to primary materials which provide first-hand evidence. What counts as a secondary source depends heavily on the topic you are writing about and the discipline you are working within.

Scholarly articles are a common type of secondary source:

  • These are written by experts and scholars, and reviewed by other scholars in the same field (peer review)
  • They are published in journals which usually are focused on one topic (example: American Studies is a journal focused on American culture)
  • They provide in-depth analysis on a specific topic (often quite narrow!)
  • They can be used to help you build an argument in a research paper

Essential Databases

The following three databases will be useful for your work in MC 202.  They are databases you should become familiar with as they will also be helpful for your future Madison classes.  All three include full-text articles as well as citations to other articles that may be pertinent.  If you can't find the full-text of an article, let me know & I'll help you figure it out!


**Tip**  All three of the above databases use the same interface (i.e. they all look the same).  At the top of the page, above the search box, you'll see "Searching: ..." with the name of the database.  To the right, you can click on "choose databases" and then you can choose to search all three in one search.  

Specific Databases for Being Muslim in the US

Other Databases at the Library

Use this box to look for additional databases by subject. You can also use the A-Z database list to browse.

Michigan State University