MC 498: Race and Ethnic Politics in America (Macías Mejía)

Before you dive into a research paper, it can be a good idea to do some background research. This will help you figure out a topic that is interesting to you, and introduce you to the major players in your particular area.

Many people do background research through sources like Wikipedia or general Google searching. You can also use a variety of specific encyclopedias that are available through the MSU Libraries.

Here are some suggestions for references that may be related to topics about race, ethnicity, or politics in America.  These links will connect to the library catalog record.  Some are print sources and some are available online.  For the print, you'll need the call number & location to find it.  For the electronic, you should be able to click the link to connect.

• Encyclopedia of Race and Racism - print | electronic
• Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity, and Society - print | electronic
• Encyclopedia of Racism in American Films - print
• Race and Racism in the US: An Encyclopedia of the American Mosaic - electronic
• Encyclopedia of Racism in the United States - print
• Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History - print | electronic
• ​Encyclopedia of Social Problems - print | electronic
• Black Power Encyclopedia - electronic
• The Greenwood Encyclopedia of African American Civil Rights - print
• Encyclopedia of American Civil Rights and Liberties - electronic
• 21st Century Sociology: A Reference Handbook - print | electronic
• Social Statistics and Ethnic Diversity - electronic
• Wiley-Blackwell Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity and Nationalism - electronic