Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
News Databases with Translation Options
These databases contain news sources in the original language and offer automated instantaneous machine translation of articles into English and other languages. Searches must be conducted in the original language. A translation option is offered after results are retrieved.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
**Access is allowed for only 6 users at a time.**
Provides full-text articles from leading business newspapers, magazines, and wire services worldwide, including The Wall Street Journal. Also provides company, industry, and market information.
From the search results list, select an article then select "Translate Article". This option is not available for all articles. Translation by Google Translate.
PressReader This link opens in a new window
This database provides full-text, full-color newspapers and magazines from around the world. Titles are displayed as published in print. Includes a searchable, 60-day archive.
Translation is only available for articles in papers marked with a blue & red icon by the title. Example: Select a newspaper or conduct a search. Click on an article to open the article in a separate window. Select the translation option.
Gale OneFile: News This link opens in a new window
Collection of more than 1,000 newspapers from around the country and the world. Non-English content is mainly Spanish-language material from the U.S., Mexico and Colombia.
Search database. Select an article from the search results list to view. Select the Translate function on the Tools menu (right column)
News in Translation
These databases contain selected news articles translated from the vernacular to English. There is no access to the original source article in these databases.
BBC Monitoring: International Reports (LexisNexis)
BBC Monitoring provides news and information based on round-the-clock monitoring of radio, TV, press, internet and news agency sources around the world. Reports are translated into English from more than 100 languages.
Current Digest of the Russian Press
Each week the Current Digest presents a selection of Russian-language press materials, carefully translated into English.
Selected news articles translated by volunteer translators from news sources around the world.
Historical News in Translation
Foreign Broadcast Information Service Daily Reports
Predecessor of the online World News Connection
1978-1996: Microfiche PrEX 7.10: FBIS- (MSU Gov Docs 3West); Indexes (microfiche and print) shelved at PrEx 7.10:FBIS with multiple catalog records with records for each area of the world.