Skip to main content
Michigan State University

The American Radicalism Collection: An Overview: Digital Collections

Digital Collections of Radical Materials

Special Collections Digitized Material

MSU Special Collections and the Digital and Multimedia Center (DMC) have digitized a number of materials from the American Radicalism Collection. Those materials can be viewed on the Digital Collections: American Radicalism page of the Libraries' website. Some of the materials that have been digitized include publications from the Black Panthers, Students for a Democratic Society, records from the Sacco-Vanzetti case, and more. 

In addition to our own material that we have digitized, the MSU Libraries also subscribes to a number of databases that provide access to radical material. In some cases, these databases feature digitized material from the MSU American Radicalism Collection. 

Studies in Radicalism Online (SiRO)

The MSU Libraries are part of SiRO, an online platform that aggregates radical material and other research materials related to the study of radicalism from around the world. The material available in SiRO covers both left- and right-wing radical movements, and includes material from MSU Special Collections, the Labadie Collection at the University of Michigan, Illinois State University, and the Digital Public Library of America. 

Subscription Databases at MSU Libraries

The MSU Libraries also subscribes to a number of databases that include radical material, many of which include digitzed material from the MSU American Radicalism Collection:

Michigan State University