Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
New to Special Collections?
If you've never used Special Collections before and would like to view some of our material, you can register online:
- Visit the Special Collections homepage and select "Register and Track Requests"
- Select "Logon for MSU Students, Faculty, and Staff" or "Logon for Non-MSU Affiliated Patrons"
- There will be an option for for first-time users - select this option and fill out the registration form, and you're all set!
How do I request items in Special Collections?
To request Special Collections materials:
- Visit the Special Collections homepage and search the catalog for the materials you want to view.
- Once you have found that item in the catalog, click the purple "Get It" button
- Select "Request the Item"
- You will be asked to log in to the MSU Special Collections Registration page, either as an MSU student/ faculty/ staff member, or as a non-MSU affiliated patron
- Look through the request form for the materials you want and input any additional information about the material (such as specific volumes, issues, or boxes that you want to view) and select the date when you wish to come in and view the materials.
You can also request materials in-person at the Special Collections Reading Room desk during our open hours.
Note that some of our material is located off-site in a remote storage facility. If material you want to view is in Remote, please note that it takes roughly three days for material to be transferred from remote storage to the main library.