LibGuides: MC 388: Sexual Politics (Stein-Roggenbuck): Reference Sources

Background Research

Before you dive into a research paper, it can be a good idea to do some background research. This will help you figure out a topic that is interesting to you, and introduce you to the major players in your particular area.

Many people do background research through sources like Wikipedia or general Google searching. You can also use a variety of specific encyclopedias that are available through the MSU Libraries.

General Reference Sources

SAGE Knowledge Encyclopedias and Handbooks This link opens in a new window
Includes SAGE Encyclopedias and Handbooks.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Includes over 200 reference works in the humanities, social sciences, and the sciences.
Oxford Reference Online (Premium Edition) This link opens in a new window
Contains online versions of dictionaries and encyclopedias previously published in paper by Oxford University Press.

Sociology Reference Books

The Blackwell Companion to Sociology by Judith R. Blau (Editor)
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 1405122676
Blackwell encyclopedia of sociology online by edited by George Ritzer
Call Number: Online
Encyclopedia of sociology by Edgar F. Borgatta, editor-in-chief, Rhonda Montgomery, managing editor
Call Number: Online
Oxford Bibliographies Online - Sociology by Jeff Manza (editor in chief)
Call Number: Online
The SAGE Handbook of Sociology by Bryan S. Turner (Editor); Chris Rojek (Editor); Craig Calhoun (Editor)
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 0761968210
Sociology Basics by editor, Carl L. Bankston
Call Number: Online
The Wiley-Blackwell Companion to Sociology by George Ritzer (Editor)
Call Number: online
Publication Date: 2012

Political Science Reference Books

21st Century Political Science: a Reference Handbook by John T. Ishiyama (Editor); Marijke Breuning (Editor)
ISBN: 9781412969017
Publication Date: 2010-10-22
Highlights the most important topics, issues, questions, and debates in the field of political science.
The Blackwell Dictionary of Political Science by Frank Bealy (Editor)
ISBN: 0631206949
Publication Date: 1999-09-02
The Blackwell Dictionary of Political Science provides students and general readers with a clear and lively introduction to the terminology of political science.
Book of the States
The Book of the States has been the reference tool of choice since 1935, providing relevant, accurate and timely information, answers and comparisons for all 56 states, commonwealths and territories of the United States.
The Encyclopedia of Political Science by George Thomas Kurian (Editor); James E. Alt (Editor); Simone Chambers (Editor); Paula D. McClain (Editor); Geoffrey Garrett (Editor); Margaret Levi (Editor)
ISBN: 9781933116440
Publication Date: 2010-10-12
A core reference to the central ideas, concepts, and frameworks underlying the study of politics and highlights the intersections of politics with other disciplines.
Encyclopedia of U. S. Political History by Andrew Robertson; Michael A. Morrison; William G. Shade; Robert Johnston; Robert Zieger; Thomas Langston; Richard Valelly
ISBN: 9780872893207
Publication Date: 2010-04-01
Explores the events, policies, activities, institutions, groups, people, and movements that have created and shaped political life in the United States.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Political and Legal History by Donald T. Critchlow (Editor-In-Chief); Philip R. VanderMeer (Editor-In-Chief); Paul Boyer (Series edited by)
ISBN: 9780199754618
Publication Date: 2012-04-17
The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Political and Legal History brings together, in one authoritative reference work, an unparalleled wealth of information about the laws, institutions, and actors that have governed America throughout its history.
The Oxford Guide to the United States Government by John J. Patrick; Richard M. Pious; Donald A. Ritchie
ISBN: 019514273X
Publication Date: 2001-07-04
The Oxford Guide to the United States Government is the ultimate resource for authoritative information on the U.S. Presidency, Congress, and Supreme Court.