Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Michigan State University

Special Collections Research Grants: Local Travel Information: Welcome

Welcome to MSU Special Collections!

Welcome to MSU Special Collections, and thank you for applying to our Research Grant program! This guide gathers together local travel information, suggestions for where to stay and where to eat, and how to explore our collections.

Summer hours

Special Collections, along with the rest of the MSU library system, has been closed since March 2020 due to the pandemic.

The Main Library will re-open on August 24. Special Collections will re-open a week or two later, with access by appointment only. Please consult with your contact on the travel grant committee for more details.

Address

The MSU Main Library is at 366 West Circle Drive, East Lansing, MI  48824 USA.

Phone: 517-355-8700

Special Collections is located on the first floor of the Main Library, easily visible from both north and south entrances to the building.

Main Library floor plan - first floor

Campus map

MSU Campus Maps

Use the interactive map for walking directions

The Main Campus version of the printable map is all you need, unless you plan to rent a bike and explore. The Full Campus version includes the university farms south of Mount Hope Road. The area covered by the main campus plus the university farms area is more than 8 square miles!

Bike rental

MSU is a big campus! You can rent a bike for $40 a week (plus a refundable deposit of $200) from the MSU Bikes Service Center.

Pick up and return your bike from their location (a former canoe shelter) on the bank of the Red Cedar River, a 5-7 minute walk from the Main Library.

Note that you can return your bike after hours, but you must visit during their open hours to have your refund processed.

Visas for international travelers

International scholars are responsible for obtaining the appropriate visa, which may have travel limits.

Time zones

Michigan is in the U.S. Eastern time zone (UTC -4) and will be on Daylight Savings Time when you visit between May 1 and September 30, 2020.

If you fly to Chicago and take Amtrak to East Lansing, note that Illinois is in the Central time zone (UTC -5) - one hour earlier than Michigan.

Trivia: what does "M.A.C." Avenue stand for?

M.A.C. = Michigan Agricultural College, MSU's name during most of its first 100 years.

Michigan State University