Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
How do reference sources help with finding information?
- Explore a topic: find out what has been said about this subject, trends, issues, etc.
- Identify and define unfamiliar terms or people in your reading
- Find references to other books and articles on the subject
- Find specific keywords to use in online searches
Finding Background Information: Selected Reference Sources
- Encyclopedia of Gender and Information Technology
"Provides perspective on the way gender and information technology
impact each other and about the role of gender in human interaction with
IT and the IT profession. Special attention is paid to the
contributions, challenges, issues, and experiences of women in the IT
field. Contains definitions of more than 1,450 key terms and over 4,700
references to additional works on gender and information technology in
order to stimulate further research."
- Encyclopedia of Human Computer Interaction
"Covers a wide range of HCI related topics, such as concepts, design,
usability, evaluation, innovations, and applications of HCI in
organizations around the globe. Includes contributions from over 120
experts and advisors from around the world, as well as over 830 key
terms and definitions, and more than 2,600 references."
- Encyclopedia of Multimedia Technology and
"This encyclopedia is a valuable collection of articles that presents
perspectives from over 220 researchers from 32 countries, providing a
thorough explanation of emerging multimedia technologies and
applications. This contemporary encyclopedia offers, in detail, an
understanding of many topics related to multimedia evolution, design,
communications, e-commerce, education, security, and virtual
- Encyclopedia of New Media
Provides background information and bibliographical references on a wide
variety of interdisciplinary, international, and historical topics
specific to information technology and communications. Topics (among
many others) include broadband, digital television, gaming, gender and
new media, and telemedicine.
- Information Technology and Indigenous People
"This book provides theoretical and empirical information related to the
planning and execution of IT projects aimed at serving indigenous
people. It explores cultural concerns with IT implementation, including
language issues & questions of cultural appropriateness."
Gender and Communication Studies Librarian