Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Michigan State University

British Isles: Getting Started: Home

Begin with this guide if you want to research a topic on United Kingdom, Ireland, Scotland, Wales, or Northern Ireland

Periodical Indexes

Irish History Online  an index to Irish and Northern Irish history.

Reference works

Oxford Companion to British History DA 34 .O93 2015 Main

British Empire: a Historical Encyclopedia  DA 16 .B693 2018 v. 1-2 Main

Historical Dictionary of British Foreign Policy Main DA 45 .N48 2013

Oxford Companion to English Literature  PR 19 .O94 2006 Main

Historical Dictionary of the Contemporary United Kingdom DA 34 .P357 2008 Main

Encyclopedia of Britain Main DA 1 .E539 1999

Historical Dictionary of the British Monarchy  Main DA 28.1 .P27 2011

Historical Dictionary of Ireland Main DA 910 .T39 2014 (covers Northern Ireland also)

Butler's British Political Facts Main JN 238 .B882 2018  Coverage from 1900 to Nov., 2017.

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography Main DA 28 .O95 2004

There are a number of subject/research guides here.

Contact the librarian

Agnes Haigh Widder, Humanities Bibliographer
Michigan State University Libraries
366 W.Circle Dr. W118FF, Mail Stop 6
East Lansing, Mich. 48824
517-884-6394
517-432-3532 fax
widder@msu.edu

Michigan State University