Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Selected Online Reference Sources
Gender Issues and Sexuality: Essential Primary Sources
"(Focuses) on leading social issues of the 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries. Each title contains approximately 175 full or excerpted documents---speeches, legislation, magazine and newspaper articles, essays, memoirs, letters, interviews, novels, songs, and works of art---as well as overview information that places each document in context."
American Decades: Primary Sources
This ten-volume series (covering decades throughout the twentieth century) provides access to a wealth of primary sources specific to major events. While the series does not focus exclusively on women's history, relevant documents are included: for example, volume ten includes (among other relevant sources) text from the report of the American Association of University Women on How Schools Shortchange Girls, and Hillary Rodham Clinton's 1995 speech on how "Women's Rights are Human Rights."
Selected Print Reference Sources
The Encyclopedia of Women in American History
This three-volume encyclopedia provides survey essays and articles on key figures and events specific to domestic women’s history (from colonial times through the late twentieth century). Each volume includes selection of excerpts from a variety of primary source documents (including, among other sources, poetry, letters, and diaries).
Encyclopedia of Women's History in America
This encyclopedia provides a selection of primary source documents from various historical periods, as well as articles and bibliographical references specific to domestic women’s history (from colonial times through the late twentieth century). Primary souces include (among others) documents of major organizations (such as the National Organization for Women's 1966 statement of purpose) and excerpts of government documents (such as New York's Married Woman's Property Act from 1848).
Women's Movement Today: An Encyclopedia of Third-Wave Feminism
This two-volume encyclopedia provides background information regarding key issues, figures and writings specific to third wave feminist activism. This is a very young historical movement (developed in the early 1990s). The second volume of the encyclopedia provides excerpts of primary documents on broad themes such as cultural resistance, and consumerism and globalization.