LibGuides: IACUC: Animal Alternatives: Databases

Library Databases

The MSU Libraries subscribe to a number of databases that index and abstract much of the journal literature in the biological and medical sciences. These resources make keyword and subject searching relatively easy. Selecting the most appropriate database(s) to search and the most effective terminology will depend on the topic, and it is necessary to use more than one database.

If you need assistance with searching please contact Andrea Kepsel, Veterinary Medicine Librarian, at akepsel@msu.edu.

AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window
Covers every major agricultural subject, including agricultural engineering and marketing, animal breeding, entomology, environmental pollution, farm management, foods and feeds, pesticides, rural sociology, veterinary medicine, and water resources.
Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts This link opens in a new window
The ASFA series is the premier reference in the field of aquatic resources. Input to ASFA is provided by a growing international network of information centers monitoring over 5,000 serial publications, books, reports, conference proceedings, translations and limited distribution literature. ASFA is a component of the Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Information System, formed by four United Nations agency sponsors of ASFA and two international partners. ProQuest platform.
Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Biological Abstracts is a comprehensive reference database covering life sciences journal literature. It covers the following fields: Botany, Microbiology, Pharmacology, Biochemistry, Evolutionary ecology, Kinseology, Neurology, and Toxicology. Coverage from 1926 to the present. Web of Science platform.
CAB Abstracts This link opens in a new window
CAB includes topics such as agronomy, biotechnology, crop protection, dairy science, economics, environmental degradation and remediation, forestry, genetics, herbicides, irrigation, leisure, recreation and tourism, microbiology, nutrition, parasitology, rural development, veterinary medicine and much more.
EMBASE (including EMBASE Classic) This link opens in a new window
A large European-based database with journal articles and other biomedical literature from an international perspective. Contains the entire Excerpta Medica database (EMBASE) supplemented with MEDLINE records dating back to before 1966. Particularly strong in pharmaceutical research.
PubMed (Medline) This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine's premier bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Find citations for a broad range of scientific literature (including patents) and track, analyze and visualize citations by document, author, zip code, or institution.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Includes the Institute for Scientific Information Citation Indexes - Arts and Humanities, Social Science, and Science. It indexes science, social sciences, and arts and humanities information from nearly 9,300 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world.
Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new window
Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide™ (1935 & earlier to the present), is the world's largest index to literature on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians. Coverage includes more than 670,388 bibliographic records many of which include abstracts. Most of the records in this database are from Wildlife Review Abstracts, formerly Wildlife Review, which until 1996 was a print publication produced by the U.S. National Biological Service.
Zoological Record This link opens in a new window
Contains bibliographic references covering all aspects of zoology. Includes information from journals, books, newsletter, and conference proceedings.

Public Access Databases

There are a number of public access databases available for searching the literature for animal alternatives. These can be searched without using a MSU Net ID or password, but access to the full text of literature may be limited.

AGRIS (Free FAO version) This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of agriculture, including forestry, animal husbandry, the aquatic sciences and fisheries, and human nutrition. The database is produced by the Food and Agriculture Organization of the UN (FAO) in cooperation with participating countries and international organizations. Information on using AGRIS to locate FAO reports is available.

AltBib
Bibliography on Alternatives to the Use of Live Vertebrates in Biomedical Research and Testing. The intent of this bibliography is to assist in identifying methods and procedures helpful in supporting the development, testing, application, and validation of alternatives to the use of vertebrates in biomedical research and toxicology testing.
Animal Welfare Institute Refinement Database
Database on refinement of houseing, husbandry, care, and use of animals in research.
CRIS
The Current Research Information Service (CRIS) provides documentation and reporting for ongoing agricultural, food science, human nutrition, and forestry research, education and extension activities for the United States Department of Agriculture.
ECOTOX
The ECOTOXicology knowledgebase (ECOTOX) is a comprehensive, publicly available knowledgebase providing single chemical environmental toxicity data on aquatic life, terrestrial plants, and wildlife.
Europe PMC
Provides comprehensive access to life sciences literature from trusted sources. Available for anyone, anywhere, to freely search and read publications, preprints and other documents enriched with links to supporting data, reviews, protocols, and other relevant resources.
PubAg
The National Agricultural Library's search system for agricultural information. Includes some full-text articles and citations for peer-reviewed articles with links to publisher sites.
PubMed Central
Archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). Not as much content as PubMed but some overlap.
ZFIN
The Zebrafish Information Network (ZFIN) is the database of genetic and genomic data for the zebrafish as a model organism.

Laboratory Protocols

The MSU Libraries subscribes to a number of resources for laboratory protocols that may be helpful for locating alternatives methods and techniques.

Wiley Current Protocols Online This link opens in a new window
Current Protocols has been the leading source of laboratory protocols for over 25
years and now comprises more than 15,000 techniques and procedures across
17 titles.
Springer Nature Experiments This link opens in a new window
Springer Nature Experiments incorporates Springer Protocols, Nature Methods, and Nature Protocols into one searchable database of laboratory protocols in the biomedical and life sciences. Springer Protocols contains all of the protocols from the book series Methods in Molecular Biology. Both Nature Protocols and Nature Methods are journals containing more recently published techniques.

Cold Spring Harbor Protocols
Online protocols developed by the prestigious Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory including those from classic texts like Molecular Cloning: a Laboratory Manual (Maniatis) and other Cold Spring Harbor Press laboratory manuals. Also is a journal of new peer-reviewed protocols.
Nature Protocols
An online peer-reviewed journal of laboratory protocols for bench researchers in the biological sciences.
Nature Methods
A forum for publication of novel methods and significant improvements to tried-and-tested basic research techniques in the life sciences.
Methods
This journal focuses on rapidly developing techniques in the experimental biological and medical sciences. Topical issues are organized by guest editors.

JoVE (Journal of Visualized Experiments) This link opens in a new window
JoVE is a peer-reviewed, PubMed-indexed video methods journal publishing experimental techniques in biology, chemistry, engineering, environmental sciences, behavioral sciences, and medicine.

Methods in Enzymology
This highly respected book series standard for methods in the laboratory is now available electronically.
Bio-protocol
An online peer-reviewed protocol journal curating and hosting high quality, free access protocols across the life sciences. Every protocol published in Bio-protocol has been validated by its use in a primary research article.

MSU Libraries

Research Guides

IACUC: Animal Alternatives

Library Databases

Public Access Databases

Laboratory Protocols