Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Parks, Recreation, and Leisure: USDA / Federal Resources

Page Contents

National Park Service

Forest Service

Other Agencies

USDA

National Park Service

Department of the Interior
The U.S. Department of the Interior protects America’s natural resources and heritage, honors our cultures and tribal communities, and supplies the energy to power our future. NPS is under the direction of the USDI.

National Park Service Official Site

National Parks in Michigan, from NPS

NPS Civil War: 150 Years, Sesquicentennial Commemoration 

Civil War Parks - There are over 70 parks in the National Park System which have resources that are related to the history of the Civil War. They provide opportunities to tour the real places where this struggle occurred nearly 150 years ago.

American Battlefield Protection Program
The American Battlefield Protection Program (ABPP) promotes the preservation of significant historic battlefields associated with wars on American soil.

Sleeping Bear Dunes is GMA's 2011 Most Beautiful Place in America - NPS site

NPS sites in Michigan

Isle Royale, National Park, Houghton, MI

Keweenaw, National Historical Park, Calumet, MI

Motor Cities, National Heritage Area, Detroit, MI

Pictured Rocks, National Lakeshore, Munising, Grand Marais, MI

Sleeping Bear Dunes, National Lakeshore, Empire, MI

North Country, National Scenic Trail, Seven States-New York to North Dakota: MI, MN, ND, NY, OH, PA, WI

US Forest Service Links

USDA Resources

USDA Census of Agriculture - 2007

USDA 2002 Census of Agriculture

Census of Agriculture - Historical Reports
The 1840 Census was the first to include statistics on agriculture. Since then, each subsequent census has continued to gauge the overall picture of U.S. agriculture. Many of these are available on-line through the U.S. Census Bureau website or here as PDFs. [Site covers 1840-1950, with links to the 1992, 1997, 2002 and 2007 reports.]

USDA Agricultural Economic Reports
This is a Number/Title/Subject list of the USDA Agricultural Economic Reports. Many, but not all, link to the FULL TEXT of the document, in pdf format.

USDA Agriculture Handbooks
This is a Number/Title/Subject list of the USDA Agriculture Handbook series. Many, but not all, link to the FULL TEXT of the document, in pdf format.

USDA Agriculture Information Bulletins

This is a Number/Title/Subject list of the USDA Agriculture Information Bulletins series. Many, but not all, link to the FULL TEXT of the document, in pdf format.

USDA Farmers' Bulletins

This is a Number/Title/Subject list of the USDA Farmers' Bulletin series. Many, but not all, link to the FULL TEXT of the document, in pdf format.
Shelf location in the MSU Main Library - MSU GOV DOCS US DOCS, 3 West: A 1.9:nos.

USDA Foreign Agricultural Economic Reports

This is a Number/Title/Subject list of the USDA Foreign Agricultural Economic Reports. It was compiled in August 2002 by the National Agricultural Library. This series was suspended in 1995.

USDA Home and Garden Bulletin Archive

Searchable archive to the USDA Home and Garden Bulletins, published between 1951-2003. The project is sponsored by the AgNIC consortium, the PDFs are courtesy of the National Agriculture Library, and the online collection is hosted by the College of Agriculture and Natural Resources at Michigan State University.
Shelf location in the MSU Main Library - MSU GOV DOCS US DOCS, 3 West: A 1.77:nos.

USDA Marketing Research Reports

This is a Number/Title/Subject list of the USDA Marketing Research Reports. It was compiled in May 2003 by the National Agricultural Library, Agricultural Research Service.

USDA Miscellaneous Publications

This is a Number/Title/Subject list of the USDA Miscellaneous Publications series. Many, but not all, link to the FULL TEXT of the document, in pdf format.
Shelf location in the MSU Main Library - MSU GOV DOCS US DOCS, 3 West: A 1.38:nos.

USDA Technical Bulletins

This is a Number/Title/Subject list of the USDA Technical Bulletins series. Many, but not all, link to the FULL TEXT of the document, in pdf format.
Shelf location in the MSU Main Library - MSU GOV DOCS US DOCS, 3 West: A 1.36:nos.

Other Agencies

America’s Great Outdoors: A Promise to Future Americans
President Obama launched the America’s Great Outdoors (AGO) Initiative to develop a 21st Century conservation and recreation agenda. AGO takes as its premise that lasting conservation solutions should rise from the American people – that the protection of our natural heritage is a non-partisan objective shared by all Americans. AGO recognizes that many of the best ideas come from outside of Washington. Instead of dictating policies, this initiative turns to communities for local, grassroots conservation initiatives. Instead of growing bureaucracy, it calls for reworking inefficient policies and making the Federal Government a better partner with states, tribes, and local communities.

American Helicopter Services and Aerial Firefighting Association

International Association of Wildland Fire

National Fire Protection Association

U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service

Michigan State University