Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Business: Data and Statistics: Labor

Labor

Bureau of Labor Statistics (Department of Labor)

Subject Area Categories
This page serves as an overview to the many studies conducted by the BLS. The following list is not comprehensive:

American Time Use Survey
Measures the amount of time people spend doing various activities, such as paid work, childcare, volunteering, and socializing.
Alternative access: ICPSR, ATUS-X.

Current Employment Statistics
A monthly survey of businesses and government agencies that provides detailed industry data on employment, hours, and earning of workers on nonfarm payrolls.

Current Population Survey
A monthly survey of households that provides a comprehensive body of data on the labor force, employment, unemployment and persons not in the labor force.
Access is also available through ICPSR, Minnesota Population Center, and supplemental material in the library catalog.

Job Openings and Labor Turnover Survey
Produces data on job openings, hires, and separations.

National Compensation Survey
Provides comprehensive measures of occupational wages, employment cost trends, and benefits. Detailed occupational earning are available for multiple geographic areas.

National Longitudinal Surveys
A set of surveys designed to gather information at multiple points in time on the labor market activities and other significant life events of several groups of men and women.
Access is also available through ICPSR and supplemental materials are in the library catalog.

Quarterly Census of Employment and Wages
This program publishes a quarterly count of employment and wages reported by employers covering 98 percent of U.S. jobs, available at the county, MSA, state and national levels by industry.

International Labor Comparisons (formerly Foreign Labor Statistics) provides international comparisons of hourly compensation costs; productivity and unit labor costs; labor force, employment and unemployment rates; and consumer prices. For an overview of international data subject categories visit the Country at a Glance page.

 

Census Bureau (Department of Commerce)

Labor Force Statistics
This is an entry page that provides an overview of relevant sources from the Census and other government agencies.

Longitudinal Employer-Household Dynamics
Combines federal and state administrative data on employers and employees with core Census Bureau censuses and surveys while protecting the confidentiality of people and firms that provide the data.

Local Employment Dynamics
Supplies Quarterly Workforce Indicators at the state, county and sub county level on employment, job creation, turnover, and earnings by industry, age and sex.

OnTheMap
A web-based mapping and reporting application that shows where workers are employed and where they live. It also provides companion reports on age, earnings, industry distributions, and local workforce indicators.

Industry Focus
A tool that lets you determine the top industries for your local area and your local workers, focus in on a particular industry to see how it ranks among top industries, and also look at the characteristics of those who work in that industry.

 

Cornell University Employment and Disability Institute - Disability Statistics
Provides customizable tables on disability prevelance and employment in the U.S. from the American Community Survey, Current Population Survey, and the Decennial Census.  Includes explanation of data sources, frequently asked questions, glossary, and a comprehensive list of links to related resources.  Disability Status reports are available for the country and individual states.

 

International Labour Organization – Bureau of Statistics

The ILO is a specialized agency of the United Nations.
A list of statistics and databases includes:

LABORSTA
The main database of labor statistics. Covers official core labor statistics and estimates for over 200 countries since 1969. Also provides methodological descriptions of main national statistical sources.

Key Indicators of the Labour Market
A comprehensive database of country-level data on 20 key indicators of the labour market, a training tool on development and use of labour market statistics, highlights of current labour market trends and analyses of key issues in the labour market. Free software is available for download for data queries and export.
The print publication is available in the business library.

Statistical Information and Monitoring Programme on Child Labour
Includes numbers on the extent, characteristics and determinants of child labor.

Yearbook of Labour Statistics and the Bulletin of Labour Statistics
These publications are a statistical reference on labor questions, bringing together in systematic form a mass of data from a vast network of authoritative sources of information in some 190 countries.

 

National Center for Education Statistics – Comparable Wage Statistics
Measures the systematic, regional variations in the salaries of college graduates who are not educators. It can be used by researchers to adjust district-level finance data at different levels in order to make better comparisons across geographic areas.

 

Occupational Wages around the World Database
Contains occupational wage data for 161 occupations in over 150 countries from 1983 to 2003.

 

Union Membership and Coverage Database
Provides private and public sector labor union membership, coverage, and density estimates compiled from the Current Population Survey (CPS), a monthly household survey, using BLS methods.

Labor in Michigan

Michigan Labor Market Information
This website is from the Michigan Department of Energy, Labor & Economic Growth. 
"It is your one-stop source for reliable information on recent employment trends, wages, detailed industries, and jobs in demand. It also is a great source of economic information on Michigan regions and counties.  The data on this site is produced by DLEG in cooperation with the U.S. Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics and Employment & Training Administration."

Michigan's Labor Market News
Monthly newsletter from the Michigan Department of Energy, Labor & Economic Growth.
Earlier print editions are available in Government Documents, Michigan Documents Collection at HD5725.M5 A3.

Bureau of Labor Statistics - Midwest Information Office - Michigan

Michigan State University