Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Business: Data and Statistics: International

International Business Data and Statistics

Note that international sources are also included within the previously listed topical areas of this guide.

globalEDGE Resource Desk
globalEDGE is a knowledge web portal created by the International Business Center at MSU. This guide to statistical data sources for international business resources is an alphabetical list divided into global, regional, and country specific links.

Global Market Information Database (Euromonitor International)
Provides business intelligence on industries, countries, and consumers. Country reports include economic and social indicators. Statistics are aggregated from multiple sources such as governmental sources (i.e., national statistical offices), inter-governmental bodies (i.e., OECD), trade associations, and others.

Global Commodities: Trade, Exploration, and Cultural Exchange (historical statistics)
In this subscription database from Adam Matthew, go to the Data & Maps section. The Price Visualization database include "prices for hundreds of commodities across hundreds of markets for almost a thousand years, from 965-1920." The Energy Data Visualizations includes information from the BP Statistical Review of World Energy and Historical Datasets from 1965-present.

International Finance Corporation - Doing Business
Provides objective measures of business regulations and their enforcement across 181 economies and selected cities at the subnational and regional level.

MarketLine Advantage (DataMonitor)
Provides company, industry, and country reports. Country profiles include comprehensive industry, political and economic analyses plus macro-economic and demographic data. The Country Statistics database allows for custom reports based on geographic groupings or specific countries and multiple economic and social data points.

OECDiLibrary Statistics
OECD Statistical Data cover the broad range of OECD activities including finance, sustainable development, social issues, food and agriculture, education, employment, information technology, nuclear energy, transport, and lots more!

ProQuest Statistical Insight - Statistical Abstracts of the World, and International DataSets
From the main Statistical Insight page, choose Statistical Abstract of the World or International DataSets from the left-side menu.
Statistical Abstracts of the World offers access to country statistical reference tables.
International DataSets aggregates over 50,000 numeric datasets from international organizations, economic research firms, and national government statistical offices.

World Bank Open Data
The World Bank's Open Data initiative is intended to provide all users with access to World Bank data. The data catalog is a listing of available World Bank data sources.

World Development Indicators
Economic and social data for developing countries, 1960-present. Includes over 80 tables and over 800 indicators for over 200 countries and 14 country groups, as well as basic indicators for a further 55 economies.

World Bank - World Business Environment Survey
Assesses the environment for doing business and climate for investment in countries around the world. The survey was administered to enterprises in 80 countries in late 1999 and early 2000 and covers enterprise responses to multiple questions on the investment climate and business environment as shaped by domestic economic policy; governance; regulatory, infrastructural and financial impediments, as well as assessments of public service quality. Companion book and CD-ROM are available.

World Bank & International Finance Corporation - Enterprise Surveys
Comprehensive firm level data in emerging markets.  The Enterprise Surveys collect information about the business environment, how it is perceived by individual firms, how it changes over time, and about the various constraints to firm performance and growth.  Read reports, country profiles, analyze data online by creating custom graphs, or request access to full datasets.

 

Michigan State University