Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Classical Studies: Find Articles

Contents

Looking for articles?  Try one of the following databases which focus on classical studies.

Alexander the Great Mosaic from Pompeii

Portion of a mosaic from Pompeii representing the battle of Alexander the Great against Darius III, perhaps after an earlier Greek painting of Philoxenus of Eretria. This mosaic was found in Pompeii in the House of the Faun and is now in the Museo Archeologico Nazionale (Naples). It is dated first century BC.

SearchPlus

Don't know where to start?   Beginning in the Fall Semester 2014, the MSU Libraries is offering a discovery layer or interface called SearchPlus.  SearchPlus pulls together a large number of databases (including the Library Catalog) into a unified search engine, increasing one's chances of finding results by keyword or phrase.  Whenever possible, links are provided directly to the online source identified.

So this is a great tool for undergraduates not knowing where to start.   It is also a good starting point for graduate students and faculty looking for materials outside their established silos.  Once you do a search; note how SearchPlus offers a large number of facets on the left side to refine your search.

SearchPlus is a starting tool.   Advanced researchers will still want to explore more deeply in specialized databases, particularly those that are not covered by SearchPlus.

General Purpose Databases

Arts and Humanities Citation Index
proxy link for MSU faculty, staff, and students
A multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. Indexes 1,100 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals.

ATLA Religion Database
proxy link for MSU faculty, staff, and students
Produced by the American Theological Library Association, indexes citations in the scholarly fields of religion. It covers the research literature of religion in more than 30 languages and contains articles from 650 journals, essays from 14,000 multi-author works, and more than 300,000 book reviews. Coverage is from 1949 to date.
Try subject terms such as Greek religion, Roman religion, Hellenistic religion, Greco-Roman religion, Gods and goddesses, Oracles, Delphian oracle; Mythology, Greek; Cultus, Greek; names of individual gods and goddesses, e.g.

Humanities Full Text
proxy link for MSU faculty, staff, and students
Includes many of the most important academic journals in the humanities with the full text of articles from over 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, and high-quality indexing for almost 700 journals—of which 470 are peer-reviewed—dating as far back as 1984. The database provides coverage of feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas, and more.

JSTOR
proxy link for MSU faculty, staff, and students
Searchable database providing full text articles from journals in anthropology, history, literature, and philosophy. Years available vary with each title, but the most recent issues available in JSTOR are usually 4-5 years old due to embargoes.
Note: try typing in classical studies or any other relevant topic in the search box and see what you retrieve.

Periodicals Archive Online (1770-1995)
proxy link for MSU faculty, staff, and students A database of millions of articles published in the arts, humanities and social sciences, across more than 300 years, by Proquest. Covers more than 3,000 journals.
Note: try typing in classical studies or any other relevant topic in the search box and see what you retrieve.

Philosopher's Index
proxy link for MSU faculty, staff, and students
There were many famous philosophers during ancient times, including Aristotle, Plato, and Socrates, to name a few. Try searching their names to see what you can find.

Project Muse
proxy link for MSU faculty, staff, and students 
This database provides access to two hundred humanities and social science journals from 29 not-for-profit, scholarly publishers.  Years offered by each journal vary but usually are only the most recent issues. Muse is a unique collaboration between the participating publishers and the Milton S. Eisenhower Library at the Johns Hopkins University.
Note: try typing in classical studies or any other relevant topic in the search box and see what you retrieve.

More Specialized Databases

L'Annie Philologique : Bibliograpy of the Classical World via Brepolis
Also available in print
Updated annually. Corresponds to the printed L'Annee Philologique, the international critical and analytical bibliography of ancient Greek and Latin languages and literatures and classical studies. Provides 350,000 bibliographic records for the years 1949 to the present, with 12,500 new records added each year. The international offices analyze 1,500 periodicals each year as well as 500 articles in collections and conference papers.
L'Annee Philologique indexes modern editions of ancient texts, collections of articles (including Festschriften), journal articles, articles in collections, dissertations, book reviews, and summaries. Additionally, the L'Annee Philologique contains citations of all known scholarly work published in any language anywhere in the world in the areas of ancient Greek and Latin language and linguistics, Greek and Roman history, literature, philosophy, art, archaeology, religion, mythology, music, science, early Christian texts, numismatics, papyrology, and epigraphy. Its coverage begins in the second millennium B.C.E. with pre-classical archaeology and ends with the period of transition from late antiquity to the middle ages (roughly 500-800 C.E.).

Dyabola: Subject Catalogues of Publications on the Ancient World
DYABOLA (Dynamically Accumulating Database on Objects and Literature About Antiquity) provides citations to books, articles, and essays on classical, early Christian, Byzantine, early Medieval, and ancient Middle Eastern antiquities, art, and archaeology. Contains the subject catalogs of the German Archaeological Institute in Rome, the Bibliography of Iberian Archaeology from the German Archaeological Institute in Madrid, and the Archaeology of Roman Provinces from RGK Frankfurt.
To access the database, check the box marked "IP" and click the Start button from the web site. Select British flag of "Realkatalog..." for English-language search interface and largest selection.

Gnomon Online
Updated annually. Produced by the publisher of the journal Gnomon, this database covers references to "all aspects of classical studies", and includes reviews, notes, and obituaries from the printed volumes of v.1 (1925) through v.78 (2006). The annual bibliographies appearing in printed volumes from 1990 on are also included, as well as selected coverage of major journals from 1987 on, and indexing to "old" Pauly and Neue Pauly. Also includes a searchable Latin and Greek inscription database. In the search box type in a term like "Cleopatra" and see what sources it identifies. You will still have to look up the sources in our online catalog to see if they are available in-house or whether you will have to try to pull them in from another library.
This database complements L'Annee Philologique.

Princeton/Stanford Working Papers in Classics
The Princeton/Stanford Working Papers in Classics is a collaborative project of the Classics Department of Princeton University and the Classics Department of Stanford University. Its purpose is to make the results of current research undertaken by members of Princeton and Stanford Universities in the field of classics available in advance of final publication.  Categories include:

TOCS-IN: Tables of Contents of Journals of Interest to Classicists
Tables of contents of a selection of Classics, Near Eastern Studies, and Religion journals, both in text format and through a search program. Where possible, links are given with articles of which the full text or an abstract is available online (about 15%).
The project began to archive current tables of contents in 1992, and now contains ca 185 journals, and over 45,000 articles, in a database at Toronto. In addition, the Louvain mirror site archives much additional material for some of the journals before 1992. Searches of all data can be made at both sites.

Subject Guide

Amanda Tickner's picture
Amanda Tickner
Contact:
atickner@msu.edu
(517) 884-9432

Ask a Librarian

Michigan State University