Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Classical Studies: Language Learning Tools


Resources for learning Greek or Latin.  MSU has proposed discontinuing the teaching of Greek and Latin for credit and only offering Greek and Latin literature in translation.


Textkit: Greek and Latin Learning Tools

Textkit is the Internet's largest provider of free and fully downloadable Greek and Latin grammars and readers. With currently 146 free books to choose from, Greek and Latin learners have downloaded 648,431 grammars, readers and classical e-books. There are also many other areas of Textkit which can help you learn Greek and Latin.


English-Greek Dictionary : A Vocabulary of the Attic Language, by S.C. Woodhouse ...  London, G. Routledge & sons, limited, 1932.  1029pp.  Main Library PA445.E5 W6 : The English words are given with all possible Greek equivalents. Verbs are given with the case they take. There is indication of whether a word is used only in prose, only in verse, or in both. Some words have references to specific authors, but very few have complete references. The equivalents given are often single words or very short phrases. Rarely are any complete examples given.  Warning : The student must use this work with care and always must verify the words by checking Liddell & Scott (the next entry) or a phrase book providing examples of real usage.

An Intermediate Greek-English Lexicon via Perseus Project.   Henry George Liddell. Robert Scott.  Oxford : Clarendon Press, 2000.   Also available in print.

Greek-English LexiconHenry George Liddell. Robert Scott.  Oxford : Clarendon Press, 1983.  Reference (1 East) PA445 f.E5 L6 1983

Cassell's Latin dictionary : Latin-English, English-Latin / by D. P. Simpson.  London : Cassell ; New York : Macmillan, 1977, c1959.  883pp.  Main Library PA2365.E5 C3 1977

Numen - The Latin Lexicon : The Latin Lexicon (nicknamed Numen) is an online Latin dictionary (a dictionary of the Latin Language) and Latin grammar tool based on multiple sources, including both An Elementary Latin Dictionary (by Charlton T. Lewis) and A Latin Dictionary (by Lewis & Short). This online dictionary is different from any other you've ever used. It has been built from the ground up using AJAX technology to allow the fastest, most efficient and most useful user interface.   Includes a tab so you can type in an english word and have it converted into Latin!

Oxford Latin Dictionary / edited by P.G.W. Glare.  Oxford [Oxfordshire] : Clarendon Press ; New York : Oxford University Press, 1982, c1968-c1982.  2126pp.  Main Library Stacks  PA2365.E5 O9 1982 c.3 : Another standard Latin-English dictionary.

The Pocket Oxford Latin Dictionary (English-Latin) via Oxford Reference Online.  2005 : Designed for beginning Latin students.

The Pocket Oxford Latin Dictionary (Latin-English) via Oxford Reference Online. 2005 : With over 60,000 entries, this online practical dictionary is designed specifically to meet the needs of students in their first years of studying Latin, as well as those with an interest in the Latin language or the classical world.

Smith's English-Latin dictionary / by William Smith and Theophilus D.  Hall ; foreword by Dirk Sacré.  Wauconda, Ill. : Bolchazy-Carducci Publishers, [2000]  754pp. Reference (1 East) PA2365.E5 S6 2000

The Thesaurus Linguae Graecae [TLG] / Irvine, Calif. : University of California, Irvine, Thesaurus Linguae Graecae Project  : An electronic full-text database of literary texts written in ancient Greek from Homer (8th century B.C.) to 600 A.D. with historiographical, lexicographical and scholiastic texts from the period between 600 and the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453.  This data bank provides access to more than 3,700 authors and 12,000 works. Users may search on author, title, publication or text string.  Note : Not available in the MSU Main Library.  Individuals can subscribe for $125 for one year. 

Thesaurus Linguae LatinaeCommonly known as: TLL CD-ROM.  Munich : K.G. Saur Electronic Pub. ; Horsham, PA : Thomas Technology Solutions, c2007.   2 cd-roms.  Digital and Multimedia Collection PA2361 .T47 2007 CD-ROM : The TLL is the only dictionary to attempt to comprehend the entire Latin language. Its chronological termini reach from the third century B.C. to A.D. 600, including both literary texts and documentary evidence (inscriptions, etc.). TLL is the authoritative starting point for all research involving Latin (which is also the language in which its lexicographic entries for individual words are composed).


Textkits : Greek and Latin Learning Tools.  Textkit began in late 2001 as a project to develop free of charge downloads of Greek and Latin grammars, readers and answer keys. We offer a large library of over 180 of the very best Greek and Latin textkbooks on our Ancient Greek and Latin Learning pages. Since that time we have distributed millions of PDF textbook free of charge world-wide.

Greek Grammar on the Web.  The electronic gateway to the study of ancient Greek.  Provided by Prof. Marc Huys, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Faculty of Arts (Leuven, Belgium)

Additional tools

Latin for the Illiterati.  Jon R. Stone.  New York : Routledge, 1996.  201pp.  Main Library Stacks PA2365 .E5 S76 1996

More Latin for the IlliteratiJon R. Stone.  New York : Routledge, 1999.  208pp.  Main Library Stacks PA2365 .E5 S77 1999 : a guide to everyday medical, legal, and religious latin.

Subject Guide

Jon Harrison's picture
Jon Harrison
366 W. Circle Drive
E. Lansing, MI 48824

Ask a Librarian

Michigan State University