Michigan State University

Collection Development Policy Statement: Medicine

Levels of Collecting Intensity

(Using WLN/OCLC Conspectus)
Levels:

  1. Out-of-Scope, not collected
  2. Minimal information level
  3. Basic information level
  4. Study or instructional support level
  5. Research level
  6. Comprehensive level

Please note that where the entire category was deemed to be collected at the same level of intensity that category was collapsed to only display it's highest level categorization. Within a category individual call numbers that we collect at a different level than the overall category are pulled out as needed.

R

5-920

Medicine (General)

 

 

5-130.5

General Works

4

 

131-687

History of Medicine, Medical Expeditions (See also: American History collection policy)

4

 

690-697

Medicine as a Profession, Physicians

3

 

702-703

Medicine and Disease in Relation to History, Literature, etc.(See appropriate other collection policies in humanities)

-

 

713-713.97

Directories

1

 

722-722.32

Missionary Medicine, Medical Missionaries

0

 

723-726

Medical Philosophy, Medical Ethics

4

 

726.5-726.8

Medicine and Disease in Relation to Psychology, Terminal Care, Dying

4

 

727-727.8

Physician and the Public

2

 

728-733

Practice of Medicine, Medical Practice Economics

3

 

735-854

Medical Education, Medical Schools, Research

4

 

856-857

Biomedical Engineering, Electronics, Instrumentation (see biomedical/biological sciences collection policy)

-

 

858-859.7

Computer Applications to Medicine

4
 

 

864

Medical Records

1

 

895-920

Medical Physics, Medical Radiology, Nuclear Medicine

4

RA

1-1270

Public Aspects of Medicine

 

 

396

Regulation of Medical Education, Licensure

3

 

398

Registration of Physicians, Pharmacists, etc.

2

 

399

Regulation of Medical Practice, Evaluation and Quality Control of Medical Care

2

 

405

Death Certification

1

 

407-790.85

See Public Health Collection Policy

 

 

790-790.85

Mental Health

3

 

791-954

Medical Geography, Medical Climatology and Meteorology

1

 

960-999

Medical Centers, Hospitals, Dispensaries, Clinics
(including ambulance service and nursing homes)

1

 

1001-1171

Forensic Medicine, Medical Jurisprudence, Legal Medicine

3

 

1190-1270

Toxicology, Poisons (for environmental toxicology see Public Health Policy)

4

RB

1-214

Pathology (for RB 27-145 see also: Allied Health Collection Policy)

 

 

1-17

General Works

3

 

24-33

Pathology Anatomy and Histology

3

 

37-56

Clinical Pathology, Laboratory Technique (see also: Allied Health Collection Policy)

-

 

57

Post-Mortem Examination, Autopsies

2

 

127-150

Manifestation of Disease

3

 

151-214

Theories of Disease, Etiology, Pathogenesis

3

RC

31-1245

Internal Medicine, Practice of Medicine

 

49-52

Psychosomatic Medicine

3

 

81-82

Popular Medicine

1

 

91-103

Diseases Due to Physical and Chemical Agents

3

 

306-320.5

Tuberculosis

3

 

321-571

Neurology and Psychiatry, Neuropsychiatry

 

490-499

Hypnotism and Hypnosis, Suggestion Therapy

2

 

500-510

Psychoanalysis

3

 

569.7-571

Mental Retardation [Intellectual Disabilities]

3

 

581-951

Specialties of Internal Medicine

 

963-969

Industrial Medicine, Industrial Hygiene

3

 

1030-1160

Transportation Medicine 
(including automotive, aviation, and space medicine)

1

RD

1-811

Surgery

 4

 

58

Reparative Processes After Operations (Physiological)

2

 

63-76

Operating Rooms and Theaters, Instruments, Apparatus, and Appliances

2

 

150-498

Military and Naval Surgery

1

 

701-811

Orthopedics

 4

RE

1-994

Opthamology

 3

 

88

Ophthalmic Nursing   (see Nursing policy)

 

91-912

Particular Diseases of the Eye

3

725

Neuroopthalmology

4

 

918-988

Optometry, vision tests, errors of refraction, artificial eyes, etc…

0

 

991-992

Ocular Therapeutics

2

RF

1-547

Otorhinolaryngology (Ear, Nose, Throat)

 4

RG

1-991

Gynecology and Obstetrics

 4

RJ

1-570

Pediatrics

 4

RK

1-715

Dentistry

 1

RL

1-803

Dermatology

 4

RM

1-931

Therapeutics, Pharmacology

 

 

138

Drug Prescribing

3

 

139

Prescription Writing

0

 

146-146.7

Misues of Therapeutic Drugs, Medication Errors

2

 

147-180

Administration of Drugs and Other Therapeutic Agents

3

 

182-190

Other Therapeutic Procedures
(including acupuncture, pneumatic aspiration, spinal puncture, pericardial puncture)

2

 

214-258

Diet Therapy, Diet and Dietetics in Disease, Dietary Cookbooks (see also: Food Science & Human Nutrition collection policy)

3

 

259

Vitamin Therapy

3

 

260-263

Chemotherapy

4

 

265-267

Antibiotic Therapy, Antibiotics

4

 

270-282

Serum Therapy, Immunotherapy

3

 

283-298

Endocrinotherapy, Organotherapy

3

 

300-666

Drugs and their Actions

4

 

671-671.5

Commercial Preparations, Patent Medicines

1

 

695-890

Physical Medicine, Physical Therapy

 2

 

845-862

Medical Radiology

4

 

930-931

Rehabilitation Therapy

4

RS

1-441

Pharmacy and Materia Medica

 

 

125-131.9

Formularies, Collected Prescriptions

3

 

139-141.9

Pharmacopoeias

2

 

151.2-151.9

Dispensatories

1

 

153-441

Materia Medica

 

 

160-167

Pharmacognosy, Pharmaceutical Substances (plant, animal, and inorganic)

2

 

189-190

Assay Methods, Standardization

2

 

192-199

Pharmaceutical Processes

0

 

200-201

Pharmaceutical Dosage Forms

0

 

250-252

Commercial Preparations, Patent Medicines

1

 

355-356

Pharmaceutical Supplies

0

 

400-431

Pharmaceutical Chemistry

3

 

441

Microscopical Examination of Drugs

1

RV

1-431

Botanic, Thomsonian, and Eclectic Medicine

0

RX

1-681

Homeopathy

 2

RZ

201-999

Other Systems of Medicine

 

 

201-275

Chiropractic

1

 

301-397.5

Osteopathy  

 

399

Osteo-Magnetics, Neuropathy, etc. A-Z

 

400-408

Mental Healing

0

 

409.7-999

Miscellaneous Systems and Treatments
(including magnetotherapy, mesmerism, naturopathy,
organomic medicine, phrenology, radiesthesia, etc.)

0

Michigan State University