Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Eighteenth Century English Microform Holdings: Eighteenth Century English Microform Holdings

Eighteenth Century English Microform Holdings

This research guide is one chapter from a much longer work, completed in 1994, titled The Long Eighteenth Century in the Michigan State University Libraries: a Guide to Materials in Social Sciences and Humanities Reference, Art, Microforms, and Special Collections (DA 480 .W5 1994 Main and Special Collections). Microforms are located on the second floor in the west wing with the Copy Center. The guides to the microform sets, noted in this document either under "Guides" below the entries for the film/fiche sets or as "Guide Microforms" as you read along, are located on some shelving in this unit and are labeled "Microcopy Guides."

Baker, John Hamilton. Catalogue of the Manuscript Year Books, Readings, and Law Reports in Lincoln's Inn, the Bodleian Library and Gray's Inn. Zug, Switzerland, Inter Documentation Co., c1978.

KD 56 .E5 3 microfiche Microforms
English Legal Manuscripts is a microfilm set that MSU Libraries does not own. The Center for Research Libraries has Sections II, III, and IV. These contain reports of cases 1500-1700, reports of cases after 1700, and 18th century "long" notebooks. Interlibrary loan will be needed to obtain the actual documents to read.

In our collection is the Catalogue of Manuscript Year Books... above. This is volume 2 of the guide to this set of microfilm. The Catalogue... is itself on fiche and is to be used to identify which cases, etc. would be useful. There is a great deal of historical material on the fiche about the building of the collections in the great English law libraries at Lincoln's Inn, Gray's Inn, and the Bodleian Library. These libraries were begun long before the 18th century but many of their greatest collections were accumulated during this period. The collections tend to be known by the name of the donor. Each of the three libraries is discussed separately in this publication and there are subsections on the manuscripts given by different individuals. At the end there are chronological tables of reports, year books and statutory texts of readings. There are alphabetical lists of readers, reporters and owners of manuscripts. So access is available by both date and reader.

Bodleian Library. Book Prospectuses Before 1801 in the John Johnson Collection. Oxford, Oxford Microform Publications, Ltd., for the Bodleian Library, 1976.

Z 235 11 fiche Microforms

Bodleian Library. Book Prospectuses Before 1801 in the Gough Collection, Bodleian Library, Oxford. Oxford, Oxford Microform Publications Ltd., for the Bodleian Library, 1976.

Z 325 27 fiche Microforms

The advertising of books in England is almost as old as the trade in printed books itself. As the English book trade developed in the 16th century, and became geographically concentrated in the area around St. Paul's Cathedral and the practice evolved of using a book's title page as an advertisement; copies were pinned or pasted outside the stationer's shop or on his stall. The bookseller's or publisher's catalogue has an even longer history, and as early as 1595 the first attempt was made to produce an amalgam between a list of books in print and a retrospective national bibliography. By the end of the 17th century it was common practice to use the final leaves of a book for advertising the publisher's other wares. The book trade has always been a precarious trade, prone to financial disasters. One solution to the problem was subsidized publication. Another solution was publication by subscription, in which the persons who intended to buy the finished work committed financial resources to its production. The document outlining the number of copies to be printed, the specifications of the printing, type, and paper, the timeframe for the work to be done, and the list of subscribers compose the prospectus. This is the kind of material contained in these microfiche sets. By the 18th century this had become the usual means of publishing certain kinds of books, especially topography and antiquarian scholarship. By this time, larger works were often published by subscription, but in parts. This method was used for encyclopedias, volumes of voyages, and Bibles.

Studying book prospectuses allows the researcher to learn about commerce between London and the provinces, to learn who the booksellers were, to study the appeal certain subjects and types of books had and so on. Studying which books were not published is also useful.

The John Johnson Collection

John Johnson was the printer to the University of Oxford from 1925-1946. His collection of printed ephemera illustrates social and cultural history of England during the last 200 years. The 17th and 18th century book prospectuses in his collection, now at the Bodleian Library, compose only 20% of the total collection he assembled.

The Gough Collection

Richard Gough (1735-1809) was the leading English topographer of the 18th century. He had a life of travel and study and served as Director of the Society of Antiquaries 1771-1797. He wrote for the Gentleman's Magazine under the initials D.H. In this publication he popularized monumental and topographical history of Britain. He wrote Anecdotes of British Topography which was published in 1768. This was a list of publications and unpublished materials on topography and history. His interest in keeping up with the literature published in his fields and in writing and reviewing books made him a mainspring of much of the antiquarian activity of the last three decades of the 18th century. He was particularly concerned with collecting book prospectuses for the bibliographical information on new books in his fields of interest. One third of the Gough collection are prospectuses he owned. The other two thirds comes from those collected to produce the third edition of British Topography, his third major book. This collection is especially valuable because the prospectuses are largely on a single subject, topography, at the height of its popularity. For the period 1780-1800 this is a comprehensive collection, and one of the treasures of the Bodleian Library.


Feather, J. P. Book Prospectuses Before 1801 in the John Johnson Collection, a Catalogue with Microfiches. Oxford, Oxford Microform Publications Ltd., 1976.

Z 325 .O93 1976 c. 2 Microcopy Guides

Feather, J. P. Book Prospectuses Before 1801 in the Gough Collection, Bodleian Library, Oxford. Oxford, Oxford Microform Publications, 1980.

Z 325 .F38 1980 Microcopy Guides

These guides are both arranged by date. There is considerable information on both the history of the book trade (from which this annotation has been taken) and the history and contents of each collection. The Gough guide is also indexed by author, bookseller, and place.


British and Continental Rhetoric and Elocution.

634 16 reels Microforms

Contains early British and Continental works on public speaking and vocal elocution. There are about 40,000 pages of original material covering the 16th-19th centuries, including the most significant works on rhetorical theory. The collection is drawn from holdings at the Library of Congress, the British Museum, and other great libraries.


University Microfilms. British and Continental Rhetoric and Elocution [List of Source Materials.] Ann Arbor, University Microfilms, 1953.

Z 6514 .S7 U5 Microfcopy Guides

Gives contents by reel with author, brief title, date, and holding library. Few notes.


Burney Collection of Early English Newspapers. New Haven, CT., Research Publications, 1977-

14915 reels 1-129 PRR/Microforms

In 1818 the British Museum acquired the library of Dr. Charles Burney which contained over 700 volumes of newspapers dating back to 1603. It was, at that time, the largest collection of English newspapers. A rival collector, John Nichols, offered his collection of newspapers to the British Museum in 1812; they turned it down and it ended up at the Bodleian Library in Oxford. Nichols collection included some of the papers that had belong to Narcissus Luttrell. Luttrell's collection was dispersed in 1786. This microfilm set includes both collections. In 1984 this film set included 500 newspaper titles dating from the early the 18th century to the early the 19th century as well as some 17th century corantos, diurnals, and newsbooks. It includes metropolitan London newspapers and those defined as "provincial." At this time provincial included British colonial possessions and towns outside of metropolitan and suburban London. It does not include American colonial newspapers.


Cox, Susan M. Early English Newspapers, Bibliography and Guide to Microfilm Collection. Woodbridge, Conn., Research Publications, 1983

Z 6956 f.G6 C68 Microcopy Guides

This is a guide to the first 24 units of the collection, which is the part MSU Library owns. The first part is alphabetical by title of the paper and gives dates of publication, place of publication, editors names, title changes, and cross references. The Unit number and the number of reels are provided. The back part of the book is a unit summary, by unit, showing the titles and dates of the papers in the different units and how many reels each title uses.

Milford, R.T. and Sutherland, D. M. A Catalogue of English Newspapers and Periodicals in the Bodleian Library, 1622-1800. In Oxford Bibliographical Society, Proceedings and Papers, Volume 4, 1934-1935. Oxford, Oxford University Press, 1936.

Z 1008 .O9 v. 4 Main

Arrangement is by title of publication, newspapers and periodicals together. Information includes editor, dates, call number at the Bodleian, place of publication, some indication of other copies, etc. This is a guide to the papers which were part of the Nichols collection, the Bodleian Library's part of this film set.


Defoe, Daniel. The Writings of Daniel Defoe. London, University Microfilms, Ltd., 1971?.

9032 38 reels Microforms

Set based on the guide below.


Moore, Robert. Checklist of the Writings of Daniel Defoe. Bloomington, Indiana University Press, 1960.

PR 3408 .Z9 M6 Microcopy Guides

PR 3406 .A2 M6 1971 Main

Contents of each reel given by Moore number at beginning of reel.


The Eighteenth Century. Research Publications, 1982-.

17435 reels 1-5760

This collection will eventually include every notable item printed in any language in Great Britain and its colonies, and everything notable printed in English elsewhere, from 1701-1800. There will be approximately 200,000 titles, selected from a possible 500,000 (included in the ESTC Catalog, see below and p. 22), including first editions, significant variant editions, and all works of major authors. The collection consists of books, pamphlets, tract books, broadsides, sermons, Bibles, and ephemeral materials. Excludes newspapers, serials, maps, and music. Titles in the collection cover the following subject fields: language, literature, religion, philosophy, history, geography, social science, science, technology, medicine, law, and the arts.

There are several access routes into this set. They are use of the CD-ROM index located in SSHR called ESTC (see p. 22). This has author, title, and keyword search capabilities and may be used without charge by library patrons. The second avenue in is by using the microfiche index with title and author arrangement in one alphabet called The Eighteenth Century Short Title Catalogue published in 1990. The call number is Z 2002 .B7 1990 v. 1-2. It is located in Special Collections. The third avenue into the set is by patron paid online computer search in SSHR using the RLIN system by which author, title, and keyword searching is possible. However, since we have the CD-ROM Index this method should not be necessary unless access to material entered into the ESTC database since 1991 is needed. There is also a series of reel guides in black three-ring notebooks called the Eighteenth Century shelved in the Microform Room at Z 688 f.E6 1984. These allow one to see what sources are on each reel in this set A full description of the ESTC CD-ROM may be found on p.22.


Eighteenth-Century Sources for the Study of English Literature. Micrographics, 1968-.

6407 996 reels Microforms

Subtitled A Collection of Works Relevant to the Literary, Artistic and Cultural Milieu of Eighteenth Century England, this is a collection of book length materials on the topic indicated published primarily in the 18th century, although there are some works from the early 19th century included if they are about the 18th century. Likewise there are a few early 20th century works about the 18th century also.


English Cartoons and Satirical Prints, 1320-1832, in the British Museum.

Cambridge Chadwyck-Healey, 1978-.

14941 20 reels Microforms

Reproduces items listed in Catalogue of Political and Personal Satires Preserved in the Department of Prints and Drawings in the British Museum. Prints are chronologically arranged in both the Catalogue and on the microfilm. At the beginning of each reel there is a contents list giving the catalogue number of the prints on the reel and the volume of the catalogue in which details about the prints can be found. At beginning of reel #1 is a manuscript index to volumes 1-4 of the Catalogue which are not indexed. Volumes 5-8 are indexed.

Of all forms of propaganda the picture can be the most effective but, in general, historians have tended to neglect the remarkable historical material buried in the great mass of English satirical engravings. They vividly reflect the national mood, showing immediate reactions to events and illuminating opinion and propaganda with their myths and fantasies, catchwords and slogans. Because they were also commercial ventures which had to be popular they do provide an accurate reflection of public opinion at the time. The second half of the 18th century and the early decades of the 19th century were the "classical age of English satire."

This collection has 174,000 separate items spanning five centuries. For the time period 1685-1809 there are 10,282 prints.


British Museum. Dept. of Prints and Drawings. Catalogue of Political and Personal Satires Preserved in the Department of Prints and Drawings in the British Museum. [London], British Museum Publications Ltd., 1978.

NE 55 .L7 A3 1978 v. 1-11 Microcopy Guides; Fine Arts

NE 55 .L7 A3 v. 1-4, 5-8 Fine Arts--Art Reference


Goldsmiths'-Kress Library of Economic Literature [Resources in the Economic, Social, Business, and Political History of Modern Industrial Society]. New Haven, Conn., Research Publications, 1974-.

16416 1997reels Microforms

Goldsmiths'-Kress Library of Economic Literature, [Resources in the Economic, Social, Business, and Political History of Modern Industrial Society.] Segment I, Supplement, Printed Books through 1800. New Haven, Conn., Research Publications, 1974-.

16416a 356reels Microforms

MSU Libraries owns Segment I and Segment I, Supplement of this set. These contain more than 30,000 printed books through 1800 from the Goldsmiths' Library of Economic Literature at the University of London and the Kress Library of Business and Economics at Harvard University School of Business Administration, two of the preeminent libraries for business and economics. Both of these libraries have as their core the collections of Professor Herbert Somerton Foxwell, 1849-1936, of Cambridge University. In 1901 he gave his collection to the Worshipful Company of Goldsmiths'; two years later they gave it to the University of London. Foxwell continued to collect and these later materials went to Harvard when he died. Titles may be in English, Danish, Dutch, French, German, Italian, Latin, Portuguese, Spanish, and Swedish.

The materials in this collection are arranged in the order in which they appear in the Goldsmiths' Library Catalogue (by year within 14 subject categories, sub arranged by main entry). The subject categories are:

1. Trades and manufactures (practical manuals and technology in general)

2. Commerce (shipping, piracy, smuggling)

3. Colonies (all subjects relating to particular colonial areas but not usually those

concerning the relations between the mother country and the colonies)

4. Finance (coinage, numismatics, and tithes)

5. Transport (transportation technology)

6. Social Conditions (public order, public utilities, debtor and creditor, except dicussions

from a financial standpoint, penology, criminology, trade unions, temperance)

7. Slavery (the movement to abolish the slave trade and its impact on the economies of

America, England, and other countries)

8. Politics (political theory)

9. Socialism (theoretical works on the subject)

10. Miscellaneous (national defense, local government, subject not relevant to the social

sciences, such as theology and the unclassifiable)

11. General (general treaties on sociology and political science as well as economics,

topography, and the theoretical and general aspects of emigration)

12. Agriculture (fishing, mining, surveying, and landed property except tithes)

13. Corn Laws (agricultural, financial, and commercial aspects)

14. Population (observations on the state of population in a variety of countries)



Goldsmiths-Kress Library of Economic Literature Catalog [electronic resource]  DMC, 4th floor, West Wing, Z 7164 .E2 G63 1997 CD ROM

Goldsmiths'-Kress Library of Economic Literature, a Consolidated Guide to Segment I of the Microfilm Collection. Woodbridge, Conn., Research Publications, 1976-1978.

Z 7164 f.E2 G64 v.1-3 Microcopy Guides

v. 1 imprints to 1720; v. 2 1721-1776; v. 3 1777-1800

Goldsmiths'-Kress Library of Economic Literature, Segment I, Supplement, Temporary Reel Guide, Printed Books to 1850. Woodbridge, Conn., Research Publications, [1982].

16416a Index 1 reel Microforms

Goldsmiths' Library of Economic Literature. Catalogue of the Goldsmiths' Library of Economic Literature. London, Cambridge University Press, 1970-1983.

Z 7164 f.E2 L65 v. 1-4 Remote Storage Oversize

v. 2 covers 1801-1850 titles from Goldsmiths' Library which alleviates the need to read the index on film (16416a). Also, v. 4 is a combined author, title, and subject index to the Goldsmiths' Library of Economic Literature.


Great Britain. Custom House, Liverpool. The Liverpool Plantation Registers, 1744-1773 and 1779-1784. Wakefield, EP Microform Ltd., 1978.

15149 2 reels Microforms

"Under the Navigation Act of 1696 English shipowners who intended to employ their vessels in trade with the English colonies were required to register their vessels according to the manner laid down in the Act and it was ordained that no vessel could take part in such trades unless so registered. Although such registers should have been compiled in all the ports of the British Empire, very few have survived. Of the extant registers, the four volumes of the Liverpool Plantation Registers which cover the years 1744-56, 1756-65,1765-73, and 1779-84 are the most complete. They were compiled by the customs officials in the Liverpool Custom House where they have remained since their compilation.... Other registry oaths are occasionally to be found among the Customs records in many ports, entered among the ordinary transactions or correspondence of the ports. The general registers in which were copied the details of registers granted in the out-ports are believed to have been lost in the fires which destroyed the London Custom House in 1714 and 1814. This system of plantation registration lasted until 1786 when a new system was introduced.

The surviving Liverpool registers consist of four volumes, three covering 1744-1773 and the fourth 1779-84. There are 3800 entries of vessels of which about 900 are in the fourth volume. Some entries are for vessels taken as prizes during wars. There are six kinds of entries: those for vessels from Liverpool and registered there, those for vessels of Liverpool but registered at a colonial port, vessels of and registered by a colonial port, vessels of other British ports registered at that port, vessels from other British ports registered at Liverpool, and vessels from a colonial port registered at Liverpool.

These would be useful for studying transatlantic trade and the slave trade in the 18th century.


Schofield, Maurice M. The Liverpool Plantation Registers, 1744-1773 and 1779-84 in the Custom House, Liverpool. Wakefield, EP Microform Ltd., 1978.

HE 565 .G7 S38 Microcopy Guides

More bibliographic citations are to be found in this guide.


Great Britain. Foreign Office. General Correspondence Before 1906: United States of America, Series 1, 1782-1795. Nendeln, Kraus-Thomson Organization, 1972.

17182 10 reels Microforms

This film set is Foreign Office 4: America, series 1. It consists of correspondence of the Foreign Office (the secretary of state for foreign affairs or other official in his stead) with British agents in the United States from the conclusion of peace in 1783 through 1792, and other papers relating to America (Loyalists' claims, 1782-1794, and correspondence with David Hartley, peace commissioner at Paris, 1783-1784). During the years from the conclusion of peace in 1783 to 1791, Great Britain was represented in the United States by consuls and other agents; a minister was not appointed until 1791, when George Hammond was sent as minister plenipotentiary. The materials are arranged by date. For enumeration of the F.O. 4 series see the PRO, List of Foreign Office Records to 1878. (call number below). For a comprehensive description of the material in this series, see Paullin and Paxson, Guide to the Materials in London Archives... (call number below).


Great Britain. Public Record Office. List of Foreign Office Records to 1878 Preserved in the Public Record Office. NY, Kraus Reprint Corp., 1963.

CD 1043 .A57 no. 52 Main

Page 4 has a brief list of the contents of F.O. 4 series 1.

Paullin, Charles O. and Paxson, Frederic L. Guide to the Materials in London Archives for the History of the United States Since 1783. Washington, D.C., Carnegie Institute of Washington, 1914.

AS 32 .A5 no. 90B Main

See pages 9-18 for full description of the Foreign Office papers relative to America, a bibliography of F.O. finding lists which existed in 1914, and short annotations for each of the volumes on the film.


Guildhall Library. London. London Directories from the Guildhall Library., 1677-1855. New Haven, Conn., Research Publications, 1972-.

12291 60 reels Microforms

This set includes all the directories of the City of London that were in the Guildhall Library at the time of filming. The directories are arranged chronologically and Goss' book London Directories 1677-1855 is the guide to this collection (below). A city directory is a book providing names and addresses of persons and businesses in a town. The Guildhall is London's center of civic government. Its library was formed about 1423 with funds from Richard Whittington, Lord Mayor of the City. It became the first public library financed by a local authority. Today it is the finest source of information on the City. Its collection of city directories is unsurpassed. City directory information is most useful to social, economic, business, and literary historians trying to reconstruct lives of individuals, their businesses, and neighborhoods in London at particular time periods. The introduction to Goss' book is well worth reading.

Group 1: 1677-1799 v. 1-117 22 reels (except directories published by T. Boyle)

Group 2: 1800-1855 v. 118-205 38 reels (except directories published by T. Boyle and the Post Office directories)


Goss, Charles William Frederick. The London Directories, 1677-1855, a Bibliography with Notes on Their Origin and Development. London, D. Archer, 1932.

Z 5771 .G67 Main


Holkham Hall, Norfolk.

Holkham Hall is a Palladian home in Norfolk built by William Kent, a noted eighteenth century English architect, for Thomas Coke. It is particularly known for its lavish interiors. The ceilings, furnishings, and tapestries were designed by Kent also. It is the home of the Earls of Leicester and has a fine collection of paintings and sculpture. MSU Library has the records outlined below. These materials would be most useful for studying eighteenth century English upper class life outside of London.

Holkham Accounts, Audit Books, 1707-[1852]. East Ardsley, Wakefield, Micro-Methods, 1970?-1972

11543 11 reels Microforms

Holkham Accounts, Country Accounts, 1722-1767. [East Ardsley, Wakefield, Micro-Methods, 1970?]

11541 2 reels Microforms

Holkham Acounts, Domestic Accounts, 1719-1792. [East Ardsley, Wakefield, Micro-Methods, 1970?]

11542 3 reels Microforms

Holkham Farm Accounts, Oct. 1814-Dec. 1822. [Norfolk, 1814-1822.]

11434 1 reel Microforms

Holkham Letter Books, 1831-1837. [Noroflk, 1831-1837.]

11922 1 reel Microforms

Holkham Letter Books, March 20-Dec. 31, 1816. Agricultural Letter Books, vols. 1-2. [Norfolk, 1816]

11919 1 reel Microforms

Holkham Letter Books, vols. 1-8. Holkham Agricultural Letter Books, vols. 1-2. [Norfolk, n.d.]

11920 2 reels Microforms

Holkham Letter Book, 1825. [Norfolk, 1825]

11921 1 Reel Microforms

Holkham Manuscripts 206 and Azo, a Corpus of Veneto-Bologneses Costume and Grotheque.

Norfolk, n.d.]

11918 1 reel Microforms

Holkham Manuscripts 701,708,772, and Unreferenced Drawings. [Norfolk, n.d.]

11917 1 reel Microforms

Keary, H.W. Report on Holkham Estates, 1851. [Norfolk, s.n., 1851.]

11433 1 reel Microforms


Hyde, Laurence. Original Correspondence and Official Papers of Laurence Hyde and Henry Hyde...between the Years 1675 and 1709.

Laurence and Henry Hyde were the eldest and second sons of Edward Hyde, first earl of Clarendon, who was the author of the great History of the Rebellion (published 1702-1704 by Laurence), on the English Civil War. Henry lived 1638-1709 and Laurence (Earl of Rochester) lived 1641-1711. Both were statesmen representing their country in Parliament and were holders of various government offices. Henry became second earl of Clarendon upon the death of their father. Laurence married Lady Harrietta, a daughter of Lord Burlington, one of the great 18th century patrons of the arts in England in the 18th century. The Hyde's were a prominent family. Anne Hyde, a sister of these two men, became the wife of James, Duke of York. He was King of England, 1685-1688. Their father was the first Earl of Clarendon and a significant Royalist supporter of King Charles I during the Civil War. The brothers Henry and Laurence defended their father in 1667 when he was impeached by the House of Commons. Use these papers to study political life during the Civil War and down to the beginning of the 18th century.

The Libraries has the following, which may be helpful in reading the microfilm, although it is not a guide to the collection:

Clarendon, Henry Hyde. The Correspondence of Henry Hyde, Earl of Clarendon, and His Brother Laurence Hyde, Earl of Rochester, with the Diary of Lord Clarendon from 1687 to 1690, Containing Minute Particulars of the Events Attending the Revolution and the Diary of Lord Rochester During his Embassy to Poland in 1676. London, H. Colburn, 1828.

DA 430 .C58 A4 Special Collections


Landmarks of Science. Readex Microprint Edition. Edited by Sir Harold Hartley [and] Duane H.D. Roller. [Chester, Vt.], Readex Microprint Corp., [1967-].

Q 111 .L35 27,686 microprint sheets in 145 boxes

Landmarks of Science includes first editions of scientific works from the beginning of printing to the early 20th century. Later editions are included when notable or extensive changes were made. When a scientist is best known for one work, an attempt has been made to include his/her other works; collected works are also included. Translations into English of works not published in English have been added. Series I, which MSU Libraries has, comprises 3,900 monographs, the works of nearly 1,900 scientists. The collection is arranged alphabetically by author.


Landmarks of Science. Series I. Short Title List. New Canaan, CT., Readex Microprint, Spring, 1985.

Q 111 .L35 1985 Guide Microcopy Guides

The guide is arranged by author with title entries works with no or multiple authors. Entries provide complete bibliographic information.


Melbourne, William Lamb. The Melbourne Papers from the Royal Archives, Windsor Castle. East Ardsley, E.P. Microform, Ltd., 1974.

15185 51 reels Microforms

Melbourne ( 1779-1848) was a politician, serving in both the Houses of Commons and House of Lords and as Prime Minister. He is essentially a 19th century figure. His papers would be most useful, consequently, for researching topics related to early 19th century history. According to the DNB, he loved literature, and history and read a great deal. The Libraries has Lord Melbourne's Papers, edited by Lloyd C. Sanders in Main (DA 536 .M5 A2) which might prove helpful.


Newcastle, Thomas Pelham-Holles. Newcastle Papers. London, British Museum Photographic Service, [1976?].

13923 2 reels Microforms

Born Thomas Pelham in 1693 he added Holles to his hame in 1711 when he succeeded (as adopted heir) to the bulk of the states of his uncle John Holles, Duke of Newcastle. He was also Baron Pelham of Laughton. He attended Westminster School and the University of Cambridge. He married a granddaughter of John Churchill, the Duke of Marlborough. This gave him tremendous political influence. He was involved all his life as a politician, holding a variety of offices, member of the Privy Council, or Secretary of State for the Northern Department, and First Lord of the Treasury. He was a foe of Horace Walpole. No great pieces of legislation are associated with him. By the standards of his age he was an honest politician, churchman, patron of men of letters, and so on. He died in 1768. His papers would be useful for study of political, diplomatic, and military life of the period.


Papers of the South Sea Company, 1711-1856. London, World Microfilms, 1982.

18180 30 reels Microforms

This set contains the minutes of the directors of the South Sea Company, copies of letters and memorials, and minutes of the various committees set up by the Company. The South Sea Company was founded in 1711 to trade (mainly in slaves) with Spanish America. It was hoped that the end of the War of the Spanish Succession would allow this trade. The treaty with Spain in 1713 was less favorable than hoped; there was an annual tax on imported slaves and the Company was only allowed to send one ship each year for general trade. The stock boomed in 1720 as the Company offered to take over a large part of the national debt. Many people made unwise investments. The market collapsed; many investors were ruined; a government inquiry revealed that some of its ministers had accepted bribes and speculated; many of the Company's directors were disgraced. The Company survived until 1853, although it sold most of its rights to the Spanish government in 1750. This debacle, known as the South Sea Bubble, is of central concern to economic history of the 18th century.


Papers of the South Sea Company, 1711-1856, a List of Contents and Index to Reels. London, World Microfilms, [1982].

HF 486 .S7 P3 1982 Microcopy Guides


The Portland Papers. Wakefield, EP Microform, 1971.

15192 15 reels Microforms

Portland Papers are from the original manuscripts in the Archives of Longleat House. This set includes papers of Robert and Edward Harley and Margaret Holles. There is an index on reel one. Robert Harley, first Earl of Oxford lived 1661-1741. Harley was a statesman and politician, serving in Parliament and many other capacities in public life. He began as a Whig and a dissenter but became the leader of the Tory and church party. He collected books. His only son was Edward Harley, second Earl of Oxford, 1689-1741. Edward took little part in public life but surrounded himself with distinguished poets and men of letters, such as Pope, Swift, and Prior. He had a passion for building, landscape gardening, and collecting books, manuscripts, pictures, medals, and miscellaneous curiosities. He made many valuable additions to his father's collection of books and manuscripts. Edward's wife was Lady Henrietta Cavendish Holles, the only daughter of John Holles and Margaret Cavendish, the Duke and Duchess of Newcastle. She disliked most of the wits which surrounded her husband, but was a favorite with Lady Mary Wortley Montagu. After Edward died in 1741 the Harley's collection of 50,000 books, 41,000 prints, and 350,000 pamphlets were purchased by Thomas Osborne, the bookseller of Gray's Inn. Lady Oxford gave the manuscripts to the nation in 1753. These form the Harleian collection in the British Library, one of this institution's original three collections. These include 7,639 volumes, and 14,230 original charters, deeds, and other legal documents.

Given the activities and interests of the individuals involved these papers would be useful for information on both political and cultural life of the 18th century.

GUIDE: Index on reel one.


Prior Papers [forming a section of the Portland Papers.] Wakefield, EP Microform, 1969-70.

15190 10 reels Microforms

Matthew Prior, 1664-1721, was a poet and diplomat. He wrote light verse, parody and persiflage. He and Swift founded the Tory Examiner. His public career included being secretary to the English ambassador to Holland, 1691-1697, gentleman of William III's bedchamber, secretary to the English ambassador to France, under secretary of state, commissioner of trade and plantations, one term as member of Parliament, secretary to the Bishop of Winchester, secretary to the English ambassador to France a second time, then ambassador to France himself. In 1714 he was impeached and kept under custody of the sergeant-at-arms of the House of Commons for two years.

So, his papers would be useful for study of both political and cultural life of the late 17th and early 18th centuries.

GUIDE: Reel one includes a catalogue and index of the papers.


Radical Periodicals of Great Britain. [Westport, Conn., Greenwood Reprint Corp., 1972-74.]

cat. sep. Microforms

Radical Periodicals of Great Britain is primarily a 19th century set which includes the journal/newspaper/magazine literature of the Industrial Revolution from 1793 to 1881 produced in Britain. Part one of the set includes protest literature, the publications of Jacobins, Republicans, Owenites, and Chartists. Part two of the set covers publications of Socialists, Marxists, Anarchist-Socialists, Anarchist-Communists, and Syndicalists from 1867-1914.

Each periodical title is individually catalogued on MAGIC. These sets are on microfiche, rather than film. We have both parts one and two. Search MAGIC t=Radical Periodicals of Great Britain to obtain a list of the titles in the sets.

Only one periodical covers the pre 1815 period. This is:

Politics for the People. London, printed for D.I. Eaton, 1794-95.

fiche 396 Microforms


Records of an English Village, Earls Colne, 1400-1750. [Cambridge, Chadwyck-Healey, 1972-1980].

DA 690 .E18 30 microfiche Microforms

In 1972 the Social Science Research Council began a project to study and bring together as much material as possible on three communities. Earls Colne in Essex, forty miles northeast of London, was one of the chosen communities. Over 7,000 documents are included in this set. Earls Colne is named for the river Colne upon which it lies and the Earls of Oxford, many of whom are buried in this parish. It covers a ten mile area. The use of the land and the size of the village varied a lot over the period covered by these records. There was considerable social mobility, both vertically and geographically. This is a geographical and administrative space through which we can watch a tiny part of the population of England move over the centuries. This particular community was not chosen because it seemed in any way exceptional in its social or economic situation, but because certain types of record... survived unusually well.

So, these records would be most useful for an 18th century community study or for other social/political/economic/religious history investigations.


Records of an English Village, Earls Colne, 1400-1750. Edited by Alan Macfarlane. Cambridge, Chadwyck-Healey, 1980-81.

DA 690 .E18 R4 1980 v. 1-3 Microcopy Guides

One volume each on estate records, church records, and state records. These have extensive introductions, references and further reading, glossaries, maps, instructions for use of the microfiche, descriptions of the records included, and lists of the documents.


Records of a Scottish Village, Lasswade, 1650-1750. Cambridge, Chadwyck-Healey, 1972-82].

DA 890 .L37 6 microfiche Microforms

See the entry Records of an English Village, Earls Colne, 1650-1750 for fuller details about the project that caused the creation of this set. Lasswade is a parish six miles south of Edinburgh which has a variety of useful and abundant records. It was an economically and socially precocious parish. The materials could be used to study the vanishing pre-industrial world and the advent of modernization. The population ranged from 1600 in 1697 to 3,348 in 1801. Most of the parish was fertile, arable land. The main road south to Newcastle passed through the parish so there was easy access to markets in both Scotland and England. Coal was produced here. There were many craftsmen. During the 18th century the economy diversified. Poll tax records, parish registers, and testimonials make up the documents.

Use this collection to study the social/economic life in a particular area of Scotland 1650-1750.


Records of a Scottish Village, Lasswade, 1650-1750. Edited by Rab Houston. Cambridge, Chadwyck-Healey, Ltd., c1982.

DA 890 .L37 H68 1982 Microcopy Guides


Royal Institute of British Architects. Country Houses and Palaces and Cottage Architecture. London, The Institute, 1977.

14943 4 reels (Country Houses/Palaces) Microforms

14943 2 reels (Cottage Architecture) Microforms

These are parts II and III of a set of films of the Rare Book Collection of the Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA). MSU Libraries seems not to own part I, English Pattern Books. Country Houses and Palaces reproduces 21 books including the following:

Agnus, William. Seats of the Nobility and Gentry in Great Britain and Wales...

Badeslade, Thomas. Thirty-Six Different Views of Noblemen and Gentlemen's Seats.

The History of the Royal Residences, v. 1, Windsor Castle and Frogmore, v. 2, Hampton Court, Buckingham House and Kensington Palace.

Cottage Architecture includes 15 books among them the following:

Atkinson, William. Views of Picturesque Cottages with Plans.

Bartell, Edmund. Hints for Picturesque Improvements in Ornamented Cottages.

Dearn, Thomas Downes Wilmot. Sketches in Architecture.

Gandy, Joseph. Rural Architect.

All of these are 18th century works.

We have no guide, but entries on MAGIC for this set provide a list of the titles included.


Royal Institute of British Architects. London. Unpublished Manuscripts. London, World Microfilms Publications, 1978.

15146 16 reels Microforms

The buildings of England have influenced and inspired architects for hundreds of years; hence, the opportunity to look at the actual handwritten records of some of the architects who designed and built the buildings is a special joy. Manuscripts of architects who designed and built civic buildings, churches, bridges, private homes and more are included. These papers reveal the quality of workmanship expected, materials to be used, prices paid for materials, lists of payments to masons, plumbers, glaziers, plasterers, bricklayers, joiners, names of workmen, and drafts of designs.

Reel one contains a highly detailed and informative index which is a synopsis of the contents of the rest of the reels. In addition, each group of manuscripts is preceded by its own index, which repeats the information on the first reel.


Scotland. Royal Commission on the Ancient and Historical Monuments of Scotland. [Microfiche of reports/inventories on the Ancient and Historical Monuments.] Edinburgh, H.M.S.O., 1977.

DA 880 cuttered individually, see below 102 fiche Microforms

Begun in 1908, the Royal Commission's reports and inventories are an important source of information about buildings and monuments for art/architectural historians, social historians, archaeologists, preservationists, and travellers. For each of the counties below there is a book on one or more fiche which describes the place, discusses the history of the buildings and monuments in the place in different periods (from the mesolithic period through the middle ages and beyond), describes the land type, the climate, transportation, and so forth. The inventories are extensive catalog entries for particular sites and monuments and buildings, with detailed maps. Plates.

These counties are included in this set and have the call numbers below. A number of these reports are also duplicated in the Main stacks in paper form. These are the Microform Library call numbers:

Argyll 1971 DA 880 .A6

County of Berwick 1915 DA 880 .B5

County of Caithness 1911 DA 880 .C1

County of Dumfries 1920 DA 880 .D88

County of East Lothian 1924 DA 880 .E2

City of Edinburgh 1951 DA 880 .E4

Counties of Fife, Kinross and Clackmannan 1933 DA 880 .F4

Galloway 1912 DA 880 .G1

Outer Hebrides, Skye and the Small Isles 1928 DA 880 .H4

Counties of Midlothian and West Lothian 1929 DA 880 .M6

Orkney and Shetland 1946 DA 880 .O5

Peebleshire 1967 DA 880 .P3

Roxburghshire 1956 DA 880 .R8

Selkirkshire 1957 DA 880 .S4

Stirlingshire 1963 DA 880 .S8

Sutherland 1911 DA 880 .S96


Sloane, Sir Hans. Correspondence of Sir Hans Sloane, British Museum Sloane M.S.S. 4036-4069. [Wakefield, Yorks, EP Microform, 197?.]

13583 16 reels Microforms

Hans Sloane, 1660-1753, was a significant British physician whose manuscripts contain letters and notes from/by most of the chief physicians of this period. They are also a main source for medical history in England from the Charles II to George II. Sloane studied medicine in Paris and Montpelier. He travelled to Jamaica in 1687 and brought home 800 plant specimens. He had a successful medical practice in Bloomsbury Square, London. He was secretary and president of the Royal Society. From 1701-1725 he published his great natural history Voyage to the Islands of Madera, Barbadoes, Nieves, St. Christopher's and Jamaica with the Natural History of the Last. He supported inoculation against smallpox, inoculated the Royal Family (Queen Anne), and was a generous benefactor of hospitals. He retired from practice in 1741 and settled on his estate at Chelsea. He founded what is now the Chelsea Physic Garden in 1721 for the Society of Apothecaries. His daughter married into the Cadogan family. Their estate development in London includes Sloane Square, Sloane Street, Hans Place, etc. which preserve his memory. In 1749 he made a will leaving his collections to the Nation provided a sum was paid to his family. His manuscripts, along with those of Robert Harley and Robert Cotton form the nucleus of the original collections of the British Museum/British Library. He also presented some of his books to the Bodleian Library.


Ayscough, Samuel. A Catalogue of the Manuscripts Preserved in the British Museum Hitherto Undescribed, Consisting of Five Thousand Volumes, Including the Collections of Sir Hans Sloane, bart... London, Printed for the compiler by J. Rivington, 1782.

Z 6621 .B843 1782 Special Collections

According to the DNB this is an inexact catalog.

British Museum. Department of Manuscripts. Index to the Sloane Manuscripts in the British Museum. London, Trustees of the British Museum, 1971.

Z 6621 .B85 S6 1971 Main


Tanner, Thomas. The Tanner Manuscripts in the Bodleian Library, Oxford, parts One through Four, Church, State, and Politics in England, 1648-1700. Hassocks, England, Harvester Press, 1977.

14908 85 reels Microforms

Thomas Tanner, 1674-1735, was bishop of St. Asaph and an "antiquary." In his times, this meant that he was a collector of historical and other material and a writer about history and past times. He wrote two important books: Notitia Monastica, or a Short History of the Religious Houses in England and Wales (1695) and Bibliotheca Britannico-Hibernica (1748). His goal in the Bibliotheca was to give an account of all authors that flourished within the three kingdoms (England, Scotland and Wales), to the beginning of the 17th century. In his times this was the most authoritative work on the subject. He collected a great deal of material about the history of the county of Wiltshire which he gave to the Bodleian Library in 1751. He also published an edition of the works of John Leland. Before becoming bishop of St. Asaph he held numerous other clerical posts: commissary in archdeaconry of Norfolk, Sudbury, Bury St. Edmunds, rector of Thorpe Bishop's near Norwich, and canon of Christ Church, Oxford. He gave his manuscripts (ca 470) and book collection (ca 900 volumes) to the Bodleian Library.

The set is in four parts, arranged by date as follows:

I. 1648-1699 17 reels vols. 14, 20-57 of the Tanner mss.

II. 1570-1647 25 reels vols. 58-82, 89-91, 92A-B, 94-97

III. 1660-1700 22 reels vols. 98, 100-104, 106-108, 114-115, 120-137, 139-150, 152,

155-162, 168, 169, 1775, 177-179, 181, 185, 191, 204, 205, 211,

212, 244, 246, 247, 250, 252, 258, 259, 262, 265

IV. 1550-1700 21 reels vols. 276-278, 280-307, 309, 314-319, 326, 328-331, 338, 344

373-375, 378, 389-395, 410, 411, 413, 418, 421, 423, 424, 427,

433, 436, 447, 456A-B, 459-461, 459-461, 465-467

The Tanner manuscripts are mostly letters of churchmen, academics, and leading figures in political and public life: Halifax, Pepys, Jeffreys, Danby, Arlington, Evelyn, Cromwell, Essex, Fairfax, Pym, Fleetwood, Ireton, Skippon, Hesilrige. Part IV is the archive of William Sancroft, archbishop of Canterbury under Charles II and James II. It is important for study of the Restoration Church. Cases from the Court of Common Pleas and King's Bench from 1653-1700 are included. More secular

material is included in the Tanner manuscripts than in other parts of Church, State, and Politics in England.


Gutch, John. Collectanea Curiosa, or Miscellaneous Tracts, Relating to the History and Antiquities of England and Ireland, the Universities of Oxford and Cambridge, and Variety of Other Subjects. Chiefly Collected and Now First Published from the Manuscripts to Archbishop Sancroft. Oxford, Clarendon Press, 1781.

DA 90 .G98 Special Collections

A Summary Catalogue of Western Manuscripts in the Bodleian Library at Oxford.... Oxford, Clarendon Press, 1895-1953.

Z 6621 .O96 W4 v. 1-7 Main

See the index volume under Tanner.


Thynne Papers, Reproduced from the Original Manuscripts in the Archives of Longleat House. Wakefield, Yorks., EP Microform, 1971-.

15587 62 reels Microforms

There is a name index on reel one. These papers consist of the official and private correspondence of the Thynne family from c1542 to 1780. Francis Thynne, 1545?-1608, was a lawyer who devoted himself to poetry and general literature and the history and antiquities of England. He revised Holinshed's Chronicle. See the DNB for a list of his works. Sir John Thynne, d. 1580 was the builder of Longleat House, Wiltshire, one of England's great country houses. It was begun in 1567 and added to over many years. Sir John was steward to the Duke of Somerset, was arrested with him, and committed to the Tower of London in the 1550's. Subsequently he became comptroller of the household of Princess Elizabeth . He became MP for Wiltshire. His papers are inadequately catalogued in the third report of the Historical Manuscripts Commission, pp. 180-202. Thomas Thynne, 1648-1682, called Tom of Ten Thousand, was also a lawyer, MP for Wiltshire, and owner of Longleat House. He added some rooms, and died in an assassination attempt. Sir Thomas Thynne, 1640-1714, represented Oxford University in Parliament 1674-1678. He came into possession of Longleat House in 1682, when his cousin, Thomas was murdered. At Longleat he laid out gardens in the Dutch style, made a terrace and finished the chapel. Thomas Thynne, 1734-1796, employed Capability Brown to work at Longleat. The Dutch gardens were replaced by a fine lawn and a serpentine river. This Thynne became lord of the bedchamber to King George III. He was speaker of the House of Lords. The DNB has a long entry on this Thynne; he was very active in political life.


Three Centuries of Drama: English, 1500-1800. NY, Readex Microprint, 1952-56.

Microprint #3 boxes 1-20 Microforms

Three Centuries of Drama: English. Larpent Collection, 1701-1750-1751-1800.

NY, Readex Microprint, 1956.

Microprint #4 2 boxes

More than 5,000 plays are included in this set (which also has a component of American plays). The publisher indicates the set includes every important play published in the English language in England during the dates covered. Arrangement is by period according to the following scheme:

Boxes 1-4 1500-1641 Elizabethan. Shakespeare. Jacobean.

Boxes 5-8 1642-1700 Restoration Drama

Boxes 9-11 1701-1750 Early Eighteenth Century

Boxes 12-20 1751-1800 Late Eighteenth Century

Within each period the plays are arranged alphabetically by playwright, or title, if authorship is unknown.

The Larpent Collection

In 18th century England all plays and other entertainments designed to be performed on the stage had to be submitted for licence (Licencing Act of 1737). John Larpent was the examiner from Nov. 1778 until his death in Jan. 1824. When he died the official copies of the plays in his possession were bought by John Payne Collier and Thomas Amyot. They are now in the Huntington Library.

The following bibliographies were used to the choose the English plays for this set:

Greg, Walter Wilson. A Bibliography of the English Printed Drama to the Restoration. London, Printed for the Bibliographical Society at the University Press, Oxford, 1939-1959.

Z 2014 f.D7 G78 v. 1-4 Main

MacMillan, Dougald. Catalogue of the Larpent Plays in the Huntington Library. San Marino, Cal., Henry E. Huntington Library and Art Gallery, 1939.

Z 2014 .D7 H525 Main

Nicoll, Allardyce. A History of English Drama, 1660-1900. Cambridge, Cambridge University Press, 1952-59.

PR 625 .N55 v. 1-6 Main


Berquist, G. William. Three Centuries of English and American Plays, a Checklist. England 1500-1800. United States 1714-1830. NY, Readex Microprint, 1963.

Z 2014 f.D7 B45 Microcopy Guides

Z 2014 f.D7 B45 1963 Main

This is the printed index issued with the collection. Arrangement is by author and title in one alphabet with notice of whether the play is English or American and the date grouping it will be found within. Dates of publication are given. No microprint card numbers.


[Vernon-Wag[n]er Papers]. L.C. Manuscript Division. List of the Vernon-Wagner Manuscripts in the Library of Congress. Washington, D.C., Government Printing Office, 1904.

14658 3 reels Microforms

MSU Libraries on line catalog also shows the following related items:

Original Letters to an Honest Sailor. F 2272.5 .O75 2 fiche Microforms

Original Papers Relating to the Expedition of Carthagena. F 2275.5 2 fiche Microforms

Original Papers Relating to the Expedition to Panama. F 1779 1 fiche Microforms

The Vernon Papers. 1958. DA 70 .A1 v.99

Edward Vernon, 1684-1757, and Charles Wager, 1666-1743, were English admirals with careers commanding vessels in the Channel, the Baltic, the Mediterranean, and the West Indies. The papers are mainly concerned with colonization of the West Indies.


Windham, William. The Windham Papers. London, British Museum, [1976].

13883 23 reels Microforms

Windham was a statesman from Norfolk and a personal friend of both Samuel Johnson and Edmund Burke. He was secretary of War during the Napoleonic War and worked hard to help improve the health and efficiency of the troops. He was a wealthy gentleman, fluent in Latin, Greek, Italian and French. He was a good speaker and debater. "A valuable collection of Windham's manuscript papers, including letters to him from Pitt and Burke, was acquired by the British Museum in June, 1909." (DNB) The MSU Libraries has his diary in hard copy. We also have The Windham Papers, the Life and Correspondence of the Rt. Hon. William Windham... in hard copy and Correspondence of Edmund Burke and William Windham... in hard copy, but, no doubt, this film set is more extensive.

Women Advising Women: Early Women's Journals, Advice Books and Related Sources. Marlborough, Wiltshire, England, Adam Matthew Publications, 1992-

24260 17 reels Microforms

We have the first part of a three part set. Reels 1-17 include early women's journals c1700-1832 from the Bodleian Library, Oxford (based on the Hope Collection). Over 40 titles are included, including The Ladies Mercury (1693, the first periodical for women), The Female Tatler (1709-10), The Female Guardian (1787), The Ladies' Journal (1727), The Midwife (1751-53), The Female Mentor (1793), The Parlour Window (1795), The Parental Monitor (1796), and The Isis (1832).

This was a period during which there were successive, radical transformations in the blueprint of conduct offered to women, but little change in the assumption that women needed such a collective pattern. Authors of articles are often anonymous and range in eminence from George Berkeley, Richard Steele, Christopher Smart, Eliza Haywood and Frances Brooke, to Elizabeth Bonhote, Alethia Lewis (Eugenia de Acton), Eliza Kirkham Mathews, and Juliana Yonge.


Women Advising Women, Part 1, Early Women's Journals, c1700-1832, from the Bodleian Library, Oxford, a Listing and Guide to the Microfilm Collection. Marlborough, Wiltshire, Adam Matthew Publications, 1992.

PN 5124 .W6 W66 Microcopy Guides


  • Call MSU: (517) 355-1855
  • Visit:
  • MSU is an affirmative-action, equal-opportunity employer.
Michigan State University