LibGuides: Researching the French Revolution and Napoleonic Era in the M.S.U. Libraries: Periodical Indexes

Periodical Indexes

Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides access to historical articles about the Modern period (1450 to the present) for Europe, Asia, Africa, Australia, and Latin America. Try "French Revolution" as a SU Subject Term. Or, click on the blue "Indexes" button at the top of the screen near the middle. Then you can look up whatever keyword you have in mind to learn what the appropriate subject heading will be and paste it into the search form.
Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
Includes many of the most important academic journals in the humanities with the full text of articles from over 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, and high-quality indexing for almost 700 journals—of which 470 are peer-reviewed—dating as far back as 1984. Try keywords "french revolution" or subject "France history revolution."

Bibliographie Annuelle de l'Histoire de France du Cinquieme Siecle a 1958
Main Z 2176 .B5
Annual bibliography of unannotated references to works in French history. See the chapter each year for Histoire Politique, which has a sub-section called La Revolution Francaise. Maybe Histoire de la France Outre-mer will also be helpful. References will be primarily to French language sources.

Persee

Persee is a digital library of open access, mostly French-language scholarly journals, established by the Ministry of National Education of France in 2005. It is maintained by the Ecole Normale Superieure de Lyon, French National Centre for Scientific Research, and University of Lyon. It is one of the largest Francophone portals dedicated to human and social sciences, offering c. 600,000 freely available documents.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of the full text of journals in anthropology, Asian Studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, and sociology. Years available vary with each title, but the most recent issues available in JSTOR will be 4-5 years old.
Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
Periodicals Archive Online is the new name for PCI Full Text - an archive of hundreds of digitised journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences. An index to and archive of hundreds of digitised journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences dating back 200 years. You might be able to find references to articles (and some full-texts) of articles written in periodicals published at the time the French Revolution and Napoleonic wars were happening in English or French. In this case what you retrieve will be primary sources. Because this database is enormous, we advise limiting the search at the outset to journals in History (General) and Humanities using the index on the journal subject line. Add keywords to this search using modify.
C19: The Nineteenth Century Index This link opens in a new window
C19: The Nineteenth Century Index is a gateway, or portal, into a variety of primary sources for 19th Century studies, especially of the British Isles. Each resource or database may also be accessed/searched individually in the Electronic Resources pages: Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals,1824-1900,American Periodicals Series, Periodicals Index Online, NSTC, House of Commons Parliamentary Papers, Palmer's Index to the Times, Archives USA, U.S Congressional Serial Set.Results of searches in the Times newspaper, 1800-1870 link to full-text, as do most searches in Wellesley Index, APS, PIO, and House of Commons Parliamentary Papers. For results from NSTC searches, use our online catalog to see if we own the book.
Times Digital Archive, 1785 - 2019 This link opens in a new window
Researchers can search through the complete digital edition of The Times (London), using keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements, and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching. This will be a primary source when you use the paper from dates during the Napoleonic era.
Palmer's Index to the Times of London This link opens in a new window
Index to articles appearing in the Times of London from 1790-1905. Full text is available for the period 1800 (January 9) through 1870 in the current release of the database.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) This link opens in a new window
Contains twelve archives so far. This is British material about politics, society, culture, Europe, photography, sciences, women, the wider world, religion. France and Napoleon are both subjects in an advanced search of the whole of NCCO. This resource could be useful for finding early 19th c. English writings about France.

MSU Libraries

Research Guides

Researching the French Revolution and Napoleonic Era in the M.S.U. Libraries: Periodical Indexes

Periodical Indexes