Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Political Science / Public Policy Resources: Think Tanks

Contents

This guide focuses on think tanks, public policy institutes or advocacy organizations that produce information on public policy issues of potential interest to citizens and scholars.

What is a Think Tank?

What is a think tank? According to the Lehman Social Sciences Library at Columbia University: The term 'think tanks' is an imprecise phrase used to describe a wide range of non-profit research organizations which engage in public policy analysis and research, and often advocate solutions. Some are strictly nonpartisan, researching policy issues without regard to political outcomes, while others see one of their main functions as that of providing intellectual support to politicians or parties. They are as ubiquitous in the American political scene as interest groups, media consultants, 'spin doctors,' and the political parties themselves. You'll find a related bibliography and a selected list of think tanks and policy centers at the link above.

Mega Sites

American Policy Directory.  Find analysis and advocacy from all perspectives on US national public policy.  Courtesy of the University of Oregon. Search entire collection or browse through the following categories:  Animals & Wildlife | Business | Civil Rights | Constitutional Rights | Consumer Protection | Economic Rights | Education/Arts/Culture | Environmental | Families/Children/Elderly | Governmental Process | Health/Nutrition | Housing | Immigration | Information Policy | International Affairs | Labor | Land Use | Media | Public Finance/Taxation | Public Safety | Religion | Reproductive Issues | Science and Technology  | Women's Issues

Associations Unlimited allows you to search for research institutes by name, subject and geographic region. Many of them are classified as "public affairs organizations" under the expert search's subject category. Note: access limited to the MSU community and other subscribers.

Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO): Working Papers - access throug MSU's subscription to the CIAO database to more than 160 think tanks and research institutes from all parts of the globe that address international issues, coverage from 1991 to present.

C-SPAN's Policy Organizations List

Issue Lab the Foundation Center is working to more effectively gather, index, and share the collective intelligence of the social sector. They provide free access to thousands of case studies, evaluations, white papers, and issue briefs addressing some of the world's most pressing social problems.

Michigan Public Leadership Program - Internet Resources: Great list of think tanks and advocacy groups arranged by issue of interest compiled by the Institute of Public Policy and Social Research at Michigan State University.

Policy Archivea comprehensive digital library of public policy research containing over 30,000 documents.

PolicyFile - database of research and policy briefs from hundreds of think tanks (mostly U.S. based)

Public Policy Issues and Groups - courtesy of Vanderbilt University.

Security and International Affairs Think Tank Directory - compiled by the Foreign Policy Research Institute.

Sourcewatch - An extensive list and links to Think Tanks pulled together by the Center for Media and Democracy collaborative, specialized encyclopedia of the people, organizations, and issues shaping the public agenda.

Special Interest Groups and Issues Organizations ; A directory of US think tanks and advocacy groups that rate emmbers of congress. Arranged by area of interest. .

Think Tank Directory - compiled at the John F. Kennedy School of Government Library at Harvard University.

Think Tank Directory - Think tanks from around the globe compiled by the folks at World Press Review.

Washington Information Directory - Published by Congressional Quarterly, a guide to organizations in the DC area that are engaged with policy. Note: access limited to the MSU community and other subscribers.

Worldwide NGO Directory - Arguably the largest list, with more than 22,000 just in the US. Pulled together by the WorldAssociation of Non-Governmental Organizations (WANGO).

Individual Think Tanks, A-D

Academy for Health Services Research and Health Policy
In June 2000, the Alpha Center and the Association for Health Services Research merged to form the Academy for Health Services Research and Health Policy. Includes information on publications and web links to related sites of interest.

Acton Institute for the Study of Religion and Liberty
The mission of the Institute is to promote a free society characterized by individual liberty and sustained by Christian principles. Located in Grand Rapids. 

American Association of School Administrators
AASA, founded in 1865, is the professional organization for over 16,500 educational leaders across North America and in many other countries. The four major focus areas for AASA are:

 

  • Improving the condition of children and youth
  • Preparing schools and school systems for the 21st century
  • Connecting schools and communities
  • Enhancing the quality and effectiveness of school leaders

 

American Civil Rights Institute
The American Civil Rights Institute, founded by Ward Connerly in 1997, is a national anti-affirmative action organization created to educate the public about racial and gender preferences. Based in Sacramento, California, ACRI's initial focus is on  monitoring implementation and legal action on California's Proposition 209.

American Enterprise Institute for Public Policy Research
AEI, founded in 1943, sponsors original research on government policy, the American economy, and American politics. AEI research aims to preserve and to strengthen the foundations of a free society, limited government, competitive private enterprise, vital cultural and political institutions, and vigilant defense through rigorous inquiry, debate, and writing. The Institute is home to some of America's most renowned economists, legal scholars, political scientists, and foreign policy specialists. AEI is an independent, nonpartisan organization financed by tax-deductible contributions from corporations, foundations, and individuals. 

Americans United for Separation of Church and State -  is a nonpartisan organization dedicated to preserving church-state separation to ensure religious freedom for all Americans.

Annenberg Public Policy Center
U. of Pennsylvania center that researches political communication, information and society, media and the developing child, health communication, and adolescent risk. It is the home of FactCheck.org

The Aspen Institute
An international nonprofit educational institution dedicated to enhancing the quality of leadership through informed dialogue. It convenes people who represent diverse viewpoints and backgrounds from business, labor, government, the professions, the arts, and the nonprofit sector to relate timeless ideas and values to the foremost challenges facing societies, organizations, and individuals. Be sure to check out the Policy programs section which examines such current issues as the information and communications revolution, international issues, the future of the world economy, population and consumption, rural economic policy, domestic issues, philanthropy, and energy and resources.

Brookings Institution
The Brookings Institution is the nation's oldest think tank. A private, independent, nonprofit research organization, Brookings seeks to improve the performance of American institutions, the effectiveness of government programs, and the quality of U.S. public policies. It addresses current and emerging policy challenges and offers practical recommendations for dealing with them, expressed in language that is accessible to policy makers and the general public alike. 

Cato Institute
A nonpartisan public policy research foundation. The Institute undertakes an extensive publications program dealing with the complete spectrum of policy issues, including the federal budget, Social Security, monetary policy, natural resource policy, military spending, regulation, NATO, international trade.  Current topics of interest include:

Center for Defense Information (CDI)
Founded in 1972 as an independent monitor of the military, the CDI is a private, nongovernmental, research organization. Its directors and staff believe that strong social, economic, political, and military components and a healthy environment contribute equally to the nation's security. CDI seeks realistic and cost effective military spending without excess expenditures for weapons and policies that increase the danger of war. CDI supports adequate defense by evaluating our defense needs and how best to meet them without wasteful spending or compromising our national security.

Center for Democracy and Technology
A non-profit which tracks legislation and policy issues involving the government and the Internet. Issues covered include:
(1) Free Expression (2) Consumer Privacy (3) Security & Freedom (4) Digital Copyright (5) Standards & Governance-(6) International (7) Open Government.

Center for Health Care Strategies, Inc.
Established in 1995 as a non-profit, non-partisan policy and resource center affiliated with the Woodrow Wilson School of Public and International Affairs at Princeton University. Focuses on medicare and managed care public policy issues. Provides online publications as well as links to other organizations tracking such issues.

Center for Immigration Studies
Instantaneous and open in its accessibility, the Center for Immigration Studies (CIS) Web site is the product of a nonprofit, nonpartisan (although politically conservative) think tank founded in 1985 to study the economic, social, demographic, and fiscal impacts of population movements on the US. It is forthright in propounding its mission to foster a national policy seeking low immigration, point out the hidden costs of illegal immigration, and engender "a warmer welcome for those admitted." Its green, eye-friendly, home page lists one column of full text, daily updates of newspaper articles with headlines such as "Immigrants Exploited" and "Marriage for Citizenship Scam." Another column offers more reflective Common Topics in Immigration postings, such as current numbers, assimilation and citizenship, population and environment, and guest workers. This is the locus for many of the center's publications by sometimes-judgmental authors Mark Krikorian, Steven Camarota, David Simcox, and Leon Bouvier. In addition to links to a few outside Web sites, such as those of the Immigration and Naturalization Service, US State Department, and UN, there are features such as Ask CIS Your Immigration Questions; a search mechanism through CIS archives by word, phrase, or title; and a What's New at the Center roster of recent events. CIS also offers two free discussion groups for those who wish to keep apprised of this controversial public policy topic. This site is lively, timely, and bold, offering the viewpoint of (some) native-born and settled naturalized Americans, but not of those seeking refuge and opportunity in the Western world's largest democracy. It is best used by more sophisticated researchers than undergraduates. F. J. Augustyn Jr., Library of Congress, Choice Review, April 2003.

Center for Individual Rights
Conservative organization. Public policy focus topics include: civil rights/affirmative action, free speech/political correctness, sexual harassment, etc. 

Center for International Private Enterprise
The Center for International Private Enterprise is a non-profit affiliate of the U.S. Chamber of Commerce and one of the four core institutes of the National Endowment for Democracy. CIPE has supported more than 1,000 local initiatives in over 100 developing countries, involving the private sector in policy advocacy and institutional reform, improving governance, and building understanding of market-based democratic systems. CIPE provides management assistance, practical experience, and financial support to local organizations to strengthen their capacity to implement democratic and economic reforms. CIPE programs are also supported through the United States Agency for International Development. 

Center for Public Integrity
Created in 1989, the Center is a nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization in Washington that concentrates on ethics and public service issues.

 

Center for Responsive Politics
Opensecrets.org is the web site of the Center for Responsive Politics, a non-partisan, non-profit research group which tracks money in politics and its effect on elections and public policy. The Center’s work is aimed at creating a more educated voter, an involved citizenry, and a more responsive government. 

The Center for Strategic and International Studies (CSIS)
The Center for Strategic and International Studies (CSIS)--a public policy research institution that covers every major geographic region in the world--generates strategic analysis, brings together important policymakers, and develops policy action commissions. This extensive CSIS Website provides institutional information, a directory of CSIS experts, analysis of international current events, summaries of numerous research projects, a list of publications, and Washington Quarterly, the full-text journal of the CSIS.

Center for the Study of the Presidency and Congress
Provides Presidential Studies Quarterly online plus web links to related sites of interest.

Center for Studying Health System Change
Includes Issue Briefs and Data Briefs releasing early results from various surveys and an order form for additional publications. Also provides web links to other health sites.

Center on Budget and Policy Priorities
The Center on Budget and Policy Priorities is a nonpartisan research organization and policy institute that conducts research and analysis on a range of government policies and programs, with an emphasis on those affecting low- and moderate-income people.

Common Cause
Follow Common Cause's efforts to hold the Presidency and Congress accountable, to encourage campaign finance reform, and to focus attention on other issues of interest. Includes links to campaign finance studies and other government reform sites.

Commonwealth Fund
Supports health policy initiatives and publications and provides online health policy information.

Commonwealth Institute
An independent, non-profit, non-governmental public policy research center focused on Projkect for Defense Alternatives.

Competitive Enterprise Institute
A pro-market, public policy group committed to advancing the principles of free enterprise and limited government. A few of the focus issues include Air Pollution; Automobility; Biodiversity and Wildlife Conservation; Commercial Free Speech, Drug Approval, and the FDA; Corporate Responsibility; Energy; Environmentalism; Federal Lands; Global Warming; Hazardous Waste; Insurance; International Relations and Trade; Monopoly and Competition; Pesticides, Chemicals, and Carcinogens; Politics and the Governmentl; Private Property Rights; Resources, Food, and Sustainable Development; Technology; Waste & Recycling; and Water and Wetlands. Also check out the numerous online articles from CEI Update, the organization's newsletter, as well as the numerous other publications.

Council on Foreign Relations
Publisher of journal Foreign Affairs and a leader on foreign policy issues.

Criminal Justice Policy Foundation
Founded in 1988, the foundation is a private, non-profit educational organization that promotes solutions to the problems facing the criminal justice system. CJPF assists policy makers, criminal justice professionals, and the public by disseminating information about preventing crime and improving the quality of justice through education programs, publications, and the news media. The foundation has strong emphasis on issues related to drug policy, including state and federal anti-crime proposals, e.g. "three strikes and you're out," mandatory minimum sentences, drug sentences, crack and powder cocaine sentencing disparity, forfeiture, gun control, crime prevention, prison construction, community policing, juvenile delinquency and prosecution, federalization of local crimes, etc.

The Democratic Leadership Council (DLC)
The Democratic Leadership Council, founded in 1985, is an idea center, catalyst, and national voice for a reform movement that is reshaping American politics by moving it beyond the old left-right debate. Under the leadership of co-founder and President Al From, the DLC seeks to define and galvanize popular support for a new public philosophy built on progressive ideals, mainstream values, and innovative, nonbureaucratic solutions. Publishes The New Democrat and Blueprint: Ideas for a New Century.
 

The Development Group for Alternative Policies(GAP)
Since 1977, The Development Group for Alternative Policies (The Development GAP) has worked to ensure that the knowledge, priorities and efforts of the women and men of the South inform decisions made in the North about their economies and the environments in which they live. Through its collaboration with citizens' organizations overseas, The Development GAP is able to demonstrate practical alternatives to prevailing policies and programs.

Drug Reform Coordination Network (DRCNet)
The home page of the Drug Reform Coordination Network: Drug Policy Central on the Internet. Learn about what's wrong with Prohibition and the War on Drugs, and what you can do to fight for change.

Individual Think Tanks, E-O

Economic Policy Institute (EPI)
Established in 1986 to broaden the discussion about economic policy to include the interests of low- and middle-income workers. Today, with global competition expanding, wage inequality rising, and the methods and nature of work changing in fundamental ways, it is as crucial as ever that people who work for a living have a voice in the economic debate. Check out the library for Briefing Papers and Issues Briefs, and also check out the Datazone under web features.

Education Sector
Education Sector is an independent education think tank. We are nonprofit and nonpartisan, both a dependable source of sound thinking on policy and an honest broker of evidence in key education debates. We produce original research and policy analysis and promote outstanding work by the nation's most respected education analysts. 

Electronic Frontier Foundation
A non-profit civil liberties organization working in the public interest to protect privacy, free expression, and access to public resources and information online, as well as to promote responsibility in new media. Tracks issues such as censorship, encryption, free speech, intellectual property, and privacy issues. Be sure to check the issues archive

Employment Policies Institute
A non-profit research organization that conducts non-partisan research on issues and policies (like minimum wage and healthcare mandates) that affect the entry-level job market. 

Families USA
Sponsored by the Families USA Foundation, this web site aims to serve as the voice for health care consumers. Features a Medicaid Clearinghouse, Medicare and Medicaid Issue Papers, and Health Care: Consumer Issue Papers. 

Family Research Council
Family Research Council strongly encourages citizens to educate themselves on public issues. The Council also encourages citizens to educate their representatives about the pro-family agenda, both nationally and on the local level. To this end, we offer superb tools for staying current on issues which affect the family. Publisher pf "The Social Conservative Review".

Federation of American Scientists
A privately-funded non-profit policy organization, founded in 1945 by members of the Manhattan Project who produced the first atomic bomb, and whose current Board of Sponsors includes over 55 American Nobel Laureates. FAS engages itself with analysis and advocacy on science, technology and public policy for global security.

Guttmacher Institute
Focuses on Reproductive Health Research, Policy Analysis, and Public Education. 

Heritage Foundation
The Heritage Foundation's World Wide Web site was created to spread the ideas of free enterprise, limited government, individual freedom, traditional American values, and a strong national defense, the same ideas which caused a political revolution in the 1994 elections. As Speaker of the House Newt Gingrich declared just after the election: "Heritage is, without question, the most far-reaching conservative organization in the country in the war of ideas, and one which has had a tremendous impact not just in Washington, but literally across the planet." Produces numerous online books and policy papers about budget and taxation, crime and law, economic and political theory, education, environment, family, culture, and community, foreign policy, governing, health care and reform, national security, regulations and infrastructure, and trade and commerce. A separate search engine is available as well. 

Hollings Center for International Dialogue.  The Hollings Center for International Dialogue is a non-profit, non-governmental organization dedicated to fostering dialogue between the United States and countries with predominantly Muslim populations in the Middle East, North Africa, South Asia, Eurasia and Europe.

Hudson Institute
A conservative source for insight and information on public-policy issues . . . for policymakers, business leaders, and the general public. Topics of current interest include: Workforce 2020, welfare, educational reform, etc.

Institute for Research on Poverty (IRP)
Established in 1966 by the US Office of Economic Opportunity, the Institute for Research on Poverty (IRP), University of Wisconsin-Madison, investigates the "causes and consequences of poverty and social inequality" in the United States. Often a source of in-depth information on welfare reform, IRP research is available in full text via the quarterly publication Focus (Fall 1994 to present), IRP Discussion Papers (1993 to present), and selected Special Reports (1997 only). A subject index to IRP publications is provided, and other resources on-site include a Consumer Price Index Calculator and an extensive metapage of poverty-related links to resources in a variety of areas, from activism to public policy. Source: Scout Report for Business and Economics, November 5, 1998.

International Institute for Counter-Terrorism The Policy Institute seeks international cooperation in the global struggle against terrorism, paving the way for multilateral action against terrorist networks, benefactors, and states sponsoring terrorism - emphasis is on Israel's security. ICT is a research institute and think tank dedicated to developing innovative public policy solutions to international terrorism. The Policy Institute applies an integrated, solutions-oriented approach built on a foundation of real world and practical experience. The Institute sets its sights on the big picture: to win the war against terrorism and not merely the individual battles. Although ICT provides situational recommendations to the private sector, this is a peripheral activity. The Institute aims to affect policy at the highest levels, in joint cooperation with the world community.

James A. Baker Institute for Public Policy at Rice University
The Baker Institute for Public Policy is named in honor of James A. Baker, III, a former Secretary of State and Secretary of the Treasury. The Institute's goal is to advance effective foreign and domestic policy by bringing together the worlds of ideas and action, through research, education and public outreach. The web site is currently undergoing construction, so sections such as publications and web links, may not be available. 

Jimmy Carter Center
Every day in countries all over the world, people live under difficult, life-threatening circumstances caused by war, disease, famine, and poverty. The non-profit Carter Center strives to relieve this suffering by advancing peace and health in neighborhoods and nations around the globe. The Center, guided by a fundamental commitment to human rights, wages peace by bringing warring parties to the negotiating table, monitoring elections, safeguarding human rights, and building strong democracies through economic development. It sows the seeds of peace in other ways--by fighting disease, increasing crop production, and promoting preventive health care in the United States and abroad. The goal is to help create a world where every man, woman, and child has the opportunity to enjoy good health and live in peace.

John Hopkins Center for Gun Policy and Research
The Johns Hopkins Center for Gun Policy and Research, established in 1995 with funding from The Joyce Foundation of Chicago, is dedicated to preventing gun-related deaths and injuries. Located in The Johns Hopkins School of Public Health, the Center applies a science-based, public health approach to gun violence. The Center serves as an important national resource for policy makers, academic scholars, advocacy organizations, attorneys, the media, and the general public by providing accurate information on firearm injuries, gun policy, and related research.

Leadership Conference on Civil and Human Rights
The definitive source for civil rights on the internet. The home page of the Leadership Conference on Civil and Human Rights, an association of more than 180 civil and human rights organizations in Washington DC. This site provides public policy information on a variety of subjects (affirmative action, employment and housing discrimination, hate crimes, religious freedom). The site also provides Congressional voting records on civil rights legislation from 1991-1996 and links to sites operated by member organizations.

National Academy for State Health Policy
The National Academy for State Health Policy (NASHP) is dedicated to excellence in state health policy and practice. Through this website and the organization's many other activities, NASHP works to disseminate information designed to assist states in the development of practical, innovative solutions to complex health policy issues. 

National Center for Policy Analysis
A non-partisan, pro-free market producer of position papers on public policy, including campaign finance reform, crime, education, environment, health care reform, minimum wage, social security, and welfare. Features sections focusing on issues before Congress, pro and con commentary on the same topic, and links to opinions of other think tanks. Also contains materials for high school debate topics, including crime, renewable energy, and gender equity.

National Center for Public Policy on Higher Education
The National Center for Public Policy and Higher Education promotes public policies that enhance Americans' opportunities to pursue and achieve high-quality education and training beyond high school. As an independent, nonprofit, nonpartisan organization, the National Center prepares action-oriented analyses of pressing policy issues facing the states and the nation regarding opportunity and achievement in higher education-including two- and four-year, public and private, for-profit and nonprofit institutions. 

National Conference of State Legislatures
A service organization supporting the work of various state legislatures. Lots of public policy material can be found on this site, often comparing activities in various legislatures around the country. Be sure to check out the legislative policy issues section.

Individual Think Tanks, P-Z

People For the American Way
A national non-profit organization dedicated to defending civil rights; promoting the democratic values of religious freedom and respect for diversity; and developing a culture of opportunity and tolerance of individual difference. This progressive organization wants to counter the influence of the Religious Right on various issues. Their web site offers a newsletter, news releases, and a a variety of listservs including a Right Wing Watch Online mailing list. They also offer positions on freedom of expression, freedom to learn, parental rights, school vouchers.

Progressive Policy Institute
PPI's mission is to define and promote a new progressive politics for America in the 21st century. Through its research, policies, and commentary, the Institute is fashioning a new governing philosophy and an agenda for public innovation geared to the Information Age. 

The Project on Defense Alternatives
The Commonwealth Institute's Project on Defense Alternatives (PDA) "offers critical analysis of US [military] policy," promoting the "consideration of the broadest range of defense options" to devise and adapt national and international security policies in the post-Cold War era.

Public Policy Institute of California
A private, nonprofit organization dedicated to independent, objective, nonpartisan, research on economic, social, and political issues that affect the lives of Californians.

RAND Corporation
Formed as a national security think tank in the wake of World War II, RAND (Research and Development) has since expanded to address issues on a very broad front. RAND employs over 500 research professionals and analyzes choices and developments in many areas, including "national defense, education and training, health care, criminal and civil justice, labor and population, science and technology, community development, international relations, and regional studies." The RAND site offers extensive information on the institution's structure, goals, technical capabilities, and educational opportunities. The heart of the site is the large collection of publications, many of which are available online. Users will find a wide variety of papers, electronic titles, and research briefs on current and pressing issues. Scout Report for the Social Sciences, June 2, 1998. 

Resources for the Future (RFF)
Based in Washington DC, Resources for the Future (RFF) is an independent, nonprofit organization devoted to the economic aspects of environmental issues. RFF scholars examine topics such as government regulation, risk, biodiversity, climate, Superfund policy, technology, and outer space in a variety of freely available discussion papers, articles, project summaries, and reports [.pdf]. An archive of the RFF quarterly publication Resource dating back to 1995 [.pdf] is also available in addition to an on-site glossary and list of up-coming seminars. Source: Scout Report, August 28, 1998. 

Strategic Studies Institute
The Strategic Studies Institute (SSI) is the U.S. Army's think tank for the analysis of national security policy and military strategy. Includes many recent full text reports.

Third World Network
The Third World Network is an independent non-profit international network of organizations and individuals involved in issues relating to development, the Third World and North-South issues. Its objectives are to conduct research on economic, social and environmental issues pertaining to the South; to publish books and magazines; to organize and participate in seminars; and to provide a platform representingly broadly Southern interests and perspectives at international fora such as the UN conferences and processes. Provides information on the following topics: trade/WTO, human rights, biotech/biosafety, health, environment, women's rights and gender issues, earth trends, UN/Peace/Security, and economics. Also contains selected articles from Third World Resurgence and Third World Economics

United States Institute of Peace
The United States Institute of Peace is an independent, nonpartisan federal institution created and funded by Congress to strengthen the nation's capacity to promote the peaceful resolution of international conflict. Be sure to check out the publications and the library/links sections.

The Urban Institute
The Urban Institute is a nonprofit policy research organization established in Washington, D.C., in 1968. The staff investigates the social and economic problems confronting the nation and government policies and public and private programs designed to alleviate them. The Institute's objectives are to sharpen thinking about society's problems and efforts to solve them, improve government decisions and their implementation, and increase citizens' awareness about important public choices. Sponsors nine focus centers: education, health, human resources, income and benefits, international activities, nonprofits and philanthropy, population studies, public finance and housing, and state policy.

Violence Policy Center Online Resource Center
A national 501©(3) educational foundation that is at the forefront of organizations working to reduce firearms violence in America. The Center works to increase public understanding of firearms violence as an expanding public health crisis of which crime is merely the most recognized aspect. Contrary to popular perception, most gun death and injury in America results not from criminal attack, but from suicides, non-felony related homicides, and unintentional injuries. The reality is that America's gun toll is the direct result of the widespread marketing and distribution of an inherently dangerous consumer product of which specific categories--such as handguns and assault weapons--are particularly hazardous. Unlike the manufacturers of all other consumer products--from toasters to teddy bears--the firearms industry is exempt from federal health and safety regulation. Through its research, public education, and policy development the Violence Policy Center works to illustrate the need to hold the firearms industry and its products to the same health and safety standards we hold all other consumer products. At the same time, the Center works to engage individuals and organizations in the broad-based coalition necessary to reduce gun death and injury in America.

World Resources Institute
The World Resources Institute is an independent center for policy research and technical assistance on global environmental and development issues. WRI is dedicated to helping governments and private organizations of all types cope with environmental, resource, and development challenges of global significance. Be sure to check out the publications and web links.

Subject Guide

Ask a Librarian

Confused? 

Try the MSU Library Ask a Librarian Service available via chat, IM, email, phone, and in person at the reference desk.

  • Call MSU: (517) 355-1855
  • Visit: msu.edu
  • MSU is an affirmative-action, equal-opportunity employer.
Michigan State University