Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Human Resources & Labor Relations

This guide is for human resources and labor relations research

Finding Articles

Articles are typically found in journals, magazines and newspapers. The articles found in journals are primarily published for an academic or scholarly audience and are usually peer-reviewed, while newspaper and magazine articles are more often written for the general public. The following databases are targeted toward business & HRLR research and will help you find relevant articles for your research

Scholarly journals in Human Resources and Management include titles such as:

  • Academy of Management Journal
  • Academy of Management Review
  • Administrative Science Quarterly
  • British Journal of Industrial Relations
  • Cross-Cultural Management
  • Culture and Organization
  • European Journal of International Management
  • European Journal of Work and Organizational Psychology
  • HRNews (SHRM)
  • HR Magazine (SHRM)
  • Human Resources Management Journal
  • International Journal of Human Resource Managment
  • Journal of Labor Economics
  • Journal of Organizational Behavior
  • Personnel Psychology

Most of these journals are indexed in either ABI/Inform or Business Source Complete.

Using the MSU Libraries Catalog

The MSU Libraries' online catalog is a searchable listing of items owned by the MSU Libraries.


 

Advanced Catalog Search

SUBJECT HEADINGS  to consider include:

  • Corporate culture
  • Human capital
  • Industrial relations
  • Industrial management
  • Industrial organization
  • Management - Psychological aspects
  • Management - Science
  • Organizational behavior
  • Organizational change
  • Organizational effectiveness
  • Performance standards
  • Personnel management
  • Production management
  • Reengineering (Management)
  • Six Sigma
  • Strategic planning
  • Total quality management
  • Work - Psychological aspects

Useful Reference Books

Fundamentals of HRM / Edited by Neil Anderson (4 volume set)
Location:  Business Library Reference  HF5549 .F855 2007 

A Handbook of Human Resource Management Practice / Michael Armstrong
Location: MSU Main Library HF 5549.17 .A76 2006
 

The Human Resources Glossary, Third Edition / William R. Tracey
Location: Business Library Reference HF 5549 .A23 T73 2004

The Oxford Handbook of Human Resource Management / Edited by Peter Boxall, John Purcell and Patrick Wright

Location: Business Library Reference  HF 5549.17 .O94 2007

Also available online

Building High-Performance People and Organizations / Edited by Finney, Martha I

Location: MSU Business Library HF 5549.5.M63 B85 2008

The Blackwell Encyclopedic Dictionary of Organizational Behavior
Location: Business Library Reference HD 58.7 .B57 1995

Encyclopedia of Industrial and Organizational Psychology (Sage)

Location: Online - Connect to e-book 

Handbook of Industrial and Organizational Psychology
Location: Business Library Reference HF 5548.8 .H25 1990, 4 vols.

Handbook of Organizational Behavior
Location: Main Library HD 58.7 H355 2001

Handbook of Work & Organizational Psychology, 2nd ed.
Location: Business Library Reference HF 5548.8 .H2655 1998, 4 volumes

Michigan State University