Michigan State University

Collection Development Policy Statement: Data Services (Numeric Data)

Analysis of the Subject Field

Numeric data is a format and not a subject. Resources may be multidisciplinary or subject specific.

A. Chronology of the subject

Both current and historical materials are collected.

B. Languages of resources collected

English preferred. Non-English languages may be considered for subject specific resources, particularly for Area Studies.

C. Geography of the subject

Materials of relevance to Michigan and the United States, as well as international resources are all collected.

D. Format of the resources collected

Machine-readable data must be in a format compatible with software systems in current use, preferably with a proprietary-agnostic format. User-friendly online interfaces are preferred. Electronic formats are preferable for ease of export and analysis, however some print statistical handbooks may be considered.

The following data format and access options are currently included within the scope of the collection:

  • Physical format (e.g., print, CD-ROM)
  • Mounted on library server with IP-access (e.g. Cross-National Time Series Data Bank)
  • Mounted on library server with dedicated terminal access (e.g. Geolytics Census CDs)
  • Online licensed databases with IP-access (e.g. Social Explorer)
  • Online licensed databases with dedicated terminal access
  • Online data repositories with institutional memberships (e.g. Roper)
  • Freely available online resources

Data sources are included in the collection via inclusion in the library catalog, e-resources, and/or research guides.

E. Date of publication of the resources collected

Generally, recently published materials are collected. Important historical resources may be considered.

F. Documentation and Data Quality

Quality of the data will be considered and adequate documentation must be included.

G. Licensing and Access

Considerations include availability of data to walk-in users and remote access. Data must be available to all current MSU students, faculty, and staff. Confidential restricted data is not acquired.

H. Selection Responsibility

Expertise of individual subject librarians is relied upon for collection of subject specific resources, particularly for statistical information.  General interest and multidisciplinary data sets are the collection responsibility of the data services librarian.  The data services librarian works in cooperation with subject librarians to review resources.  Multidisciplinary resources are reviewed by the data services librarian and any other interested parties (e.g., Reference, Business, Social Sciences Coordinator).

There is no individual fund for Data Services.  A portion of the sociology fund ($1,000) is set aside for firm order purchases.  Additional monies from subject or joint funds may also cover the cost of firm orders and will be used for ongoing subscriptions.

Michigan State University