Newspapers in the MSU Libraries
Electronic Resources : Newspapers provides links to both individual newspapers alphabetically as well as links to some of the more popular collections available to the MSU community and to visitors to the MSU Main Library.
Newspaper Photos
AP Images : Also called Associated Press Multimedia Archive. Includes an ever-changing collection of over 700,000 photographs from the AP news service. Most of the images are contemporary and date from 1995 forwards, but many historical images are also included. All images include descriptive captions and source information.
Life Photo Archive Hosted by Google : Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google. Heh, it may not be from a newspaper but it compliments the AP Images collection.
Ask a Librarian
Confused?
Try the MSU Library Ask a Librarian Service available via chat, IM, email, phone, and in person at the reference desk.
Current Newspaper Databases
Factiva : provides electronic access to hundreds of newspapers from around the U.S. and the world, most of them within one day of publication. Retrospective coverage varies but in some cases goes back to the 1980s. Special feature : Click on News Pages, then United States, for same day articles from the Wall Street Journal, New York Times, and Washington Post, but not the Chicago Tribune or Los Angeles Times. Or click on News Pages, then United States Academic for the same three newspapers, plus the St. Louis Post-Dispatch and San Francisco Chronicle. Or choose on of the many other options including topics such as agriculture/forestry, automobiles, energy, health care, etc. or by location such as European Union, Greater China, Russia, United Kingdom, etc. Note : 6 MSU users at a time.
LexisNexis Academic : provides electronic access to hundreds of newspapers from around the U.S. and the world, most of them within one day of publication. Retrospective coverage varies but in some cases goes back to the 1980s. Searching tip: If you are only interested in searching through a single newspaper like the Christian Science Monitor, New York Times, or Washington Post, (1) click on the sources tab, (2) click on news (publication type), (3) click on newspapers, (4) scroll through the list to find the newspaper you want and click on it, (5) click on the view ok continue tab in the bottom right corner. When the search form comes up, make sure your newspaper is listed in the limit box, specify date to be searched, and type in appropriate search terms. Note: A new Lexis Nexis Academic Beta search engine is under development; campus users may want to try it out. it is not configured for off-campus access.
NewspaperDirect PressDisplay (Proquest) : provides online, same-day access to more than 1000 newspapers from the U.S. and more than 80 other countries. Includes a searchable, 60-day archive. Limit: 5 MSU users at a time.
For additional possibilities, visit Electronic Resources : Newspapers and browse through the alphabetical list.
Michigan Newspaper Databases
Michigan Newspapers via Newsbank : provides electronic access to two daily Michigan newspapers: the Detroit News and the Grand Rapids Press.
Michigan Newspapers via Lexis Nexis Academic : includes the following Michigan newspapers :
- Ann Arbor News : Covering all of Washtenaw County and parts of Livingston, Lenawee and Wayne Counties. Our weekly news section focuses on stories and events in and around our local communities. Published every weekday evening, Saturday and Sunday mornings, holiday mornings. Coverage : Dec. 1, 2006 to date. Updating schedule: within 2 weeks.
- Bay City Times : The Bay City Times, at 33,000 daily and 42,000 Sunday circulation, is the largest paper to cover a 12-county area of Northeast Michigan that is a haven to sportsmen, tourists and retirees. The Times sets the standard for coverage of northern lifestyles, personalities and events, and is the reigning Associated Press sweepstakes winner for its investigative reporting of public affairs. Coverage : Dec. 1, 2006 to date. Updating schedule : Within 4 days; Saturday and Sunday received by Thursday.
- Flint Journal : The Flint Journal is the only major newspaper in Flint, Michigan. It serves Genesee, Lapeer and Shiawassee Counties. The Journal is published every weekday evening; Saturday, Sunday and holiday mornings. Daily circulation of 83,814 and a Sunday circulation of 101,590. Coverage : Dec. 2, 2006 to date. Updating schedule: Same day.
- Grand Rapids Press : The Grand Rapids Press has a daily circulation of 140,000 homes daily and more than 190,000 homes on Sundays. The Press is published every weekday evening; Saturday, Sunday and holiday mornings. At the hub of West Michigan, The Press serves all of Kent and Ottawa counties, and is distributed in 28 additional counties. Coverage : Dec. 1, 2006 to date. Updating schedule : Within 1 week.
- Kalamazoo Gazette : Kalamazoo Gazette remains the dominate news and information medium for reaching readers and shoppers in Southwest Michigan. On sale and delivered across six counties, the Gazette provides national, regional and local news to over 200,000 readers each week. Coverage : Dec. 6, 2006 to date. Updating schedule : Same day; Sunday by Tuesday.
- Muskegon Chronicle : The Muskegon Chronicle is a daily newspaper in Muskegon, Michigan owned by Booth newspapers. It started publication in the early to mid 1800's. It is an afternoon paper Monday through Friday. It is a morning paper on Saturday, Sunday and holidays. On Sunday, it is called the Sunday Chronicle. "Sunday" replaces "Muskegon" on the masthead. It is the largest paper of the week. It started publication in 1970. Because of common ownership with the Grand Rapids Press, the Chronicle's coverage and distribution focuses on Muskegon, Newaygo, Oceana, and Ottawa County north of the Grand River, while the Press focuses on Kent, Ottawa (south of the Grand River) and Allegan counties. These two papers often publish each other's stories. Coverage : May 4, 2006 to date. Updating schedule : within 3 weeks.
- Saginaw News : The Saginaw News is a publication serving the Saginaw, Michigan area. The Saginaw News has a circulation close to 50,000 per day. Coverage : Dec. 1, 2006 to date. Updating schedule : within 1 day.
- Crain's Detroit News. Coverage : Updating schedule : weekly; usually on Monday. Coverage: July 26, 1993 to date.
Searching tip: If you are only interested in searching through a single newspaper, (1) click on the sources tab, (2) click on news (publication type), (3) click on newspapers, (4) scroll through the list to find the newspaper you want and click on it, (5) click on the view ok continue tab in the bottom right corner. When the search form comes up, make sure your newspaper is listed in the limit box, specify date to be searched, and type in appropriate search terms.
Michigan Report : provides daily updates on news related to Michigan government and politics. Note: only accessible within the MSU Main Library.
Ethnic Newspaper Databases
Alt-PressWatch (Proquest) : provides full text articles from selected newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press. Coverage complements the reporting in the mainstream press.
Ethnic NewsWatch (Proquest) : provides the full text of ethnic and minority newspapers, magazines, and journals in the United States. Coverage varies by paper, but goes as far back as 1960 for some publications.
Foreign Newspaper Databases
NewspaperDirect PressDisplay (Proquest) : provides online, same-day access to more than 1000 newspapers from 82 countries in 39 languages. Includes a searchable, 60-day archive. Limit: 5 MSU users at a time.
Universal Database of Russian Newspapers : contains full-text articles from more than 60 Russian newspapers in English and Russian. Issues are updated daily. Articles are fully searchable, and many newspaper archives go back to 1996. Argumenty i Fakty and Izvestiia go back to 1980.
World News Connection : an online news service compiled by the U.S. Government (FBIS) from many non-U.S. media sources. Information covers current socioeconomic, political, scientific, technical, and environmental issues and events. Material is available 24 to 72 hours after original broadcast or publication. Note: Works best with Mozilla Firefox.
Social Sciences Collections Coordinator |
Jon Harrison100 Main Library
E. Lansing, MI 48824-1048
(517) 432-6123, ext. 123
Send Email
Subjects:
Grants & Related Resources (Funding Center), Classical Studies, Criminal Justice, Environmental Studies, Ethnic Studies, News, Political Science, Social Sciences (General)
What's Missing?
Do you have any suggestions on additional items that should be added to this LibGuide? If so, send an email to Jon Harrison.
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait