LibGuides: News and Newspaper Guide: International News

Current International News Databases

Access World News, Research Collection This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive news collection includes local, regional, national and international news sources. Source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
**Access is allowed for only 6 users at a time.**
Provides full-text articles from leading business newspapers, magazines, and wire services worldwide, including The Wall Street Journal. Also provides company, industry, and market information.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive resource for U.S. and international companies as well as newspaper articles, transcripts and web news worldwide, along with legal materials from U.S. and international jurisdictions. **To use Company Dossier, pop up blocker must be turned off.**

To construct and download in bulk full text corpora derived from newspapers, newswires and legal and trade publications from this database, use Text Assembler.
Gale OneFile: News This link opens in a new window
A collection of more than 1,000 newspapers from around the country and the world.
PressReader This link opens in a new window
This database provides full-text, full-color newspapers and magazines from around the world. Titles are displayed as published in print. Includes a searchable, 60-day archive.
African News Agency This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text news reports from the entire media spectrum (1998- Current). From Sabinet.
AllAfrica.com This link opens in a new window
AllAfrica is a voice of, by and about Africa - aggregating, producing and distributing 2000 news and information items daily from over 130 African news organizations and our own reporters to an African and global public. We operate from Cape Town, Dakar, Lagos, Monrovia, Nairobi and Washington DC.

Caribbean Newspaper Digital Collection
A cooperative digital library for newspapers resources from the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. dLOC provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean newspapers, gazettes, and other research materials on newsprint currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections. Current and historical.

EMIS Intelligence This link opens in a new window
Provides news, industry information, and company and financial data direct from more than 80 emerging markets in Asia, Latin America, Central and Eastern Europe, the Middle East, and Africa.
MideastWire.com This link opens in a new window
Curated selection of key political, cultural, economic and opinion pieces, professionally translated into English, from over 150 media sources in 22 Arab countries and the diaspora, coded according to subject area and country. Searchable database back to 2005 and daily briefing available.
New Naratif This link opens in a new window
New Naratif provides up-to-date, in-depth journalism and research articles on Southeast Asia (including Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Timor Leste, and Vietnam).
Syria Report This link opens in a new window
Economic, business and financial information on Syria. The Syria Report features a large database of news, data and statistics, including a database of Syrian corporations and a database of political and legal documents. Includes access to news archives as well as to current news.
Universal Database of Russian Newspapers This link opens in a new window
This resource contains full-text articles from more than 60 Russian newspapers in English and Russian. Issues are updated daily. Articles are fully searchable, and many newspaper archives go back to 1996. Argumenty i Fakty and Izvestiia go back to 1980.
Universal Database of the Ukrainian National Bibliography (UDB-BIB-UKR) This link opens in a new window
This database of Ukrainian newspapers provides same day editions of news from more than 40 newspapers from 6 major cities. The archive goes back to approximately 2000. Newspapers are mainly in Ukrainian, but some Russian and English titles are included.
Yomidasu Rekishikan This link opens in a new window
Yomidasu Rekishikan is a Japanese newspaper database which includes more than 13 million articles from the newspaper Yomiuri Shinbun since the start of publication in 1874.
It also contains a Contemporary Who’s reference tool as well as a Glossary and Reference Handbook for users.

Alternatives to Mainstream Media

Alternative Press Index and Archive This link opens in a new window
Covers journals, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 700 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals. Born of the New Left, the database was launched in 1969 to provide access to the emerging theories and practices of radical social change.
Independent Voices from Reveal Digital This link opens in a new window
Project to digitize over 1 million pages from the magazines, journals and newspapers of the alternative press archives of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.

International Newspapers from the Center for Research Libraries

Scholars and researchers from CRL member institutions (such as Michigan State University) have free and unlimited use of the CRL collections through interlibrary loan via their libraries. The loan period is unlimited, but is subject to possible recall notice. To identify what is available try searching the Center for Research Libraries online catalog. Browse by country, state, U.S. and Canadian ethnic newspapers, or by Civilian Conservation Corps. Here is a brief list of some of the featured collections:

Foreign newspapers. The Center holds over 6,100 foreign newspaper titles in original format and in microform, including many long runs of important titles. Most of the titles are cataloged, and records for the newspapers appear in the Center for Research Libraries online catalog.

The Center subscribes to more than 245 foreign newspapers and periodically issues a list of its currently-received titles. For more information consult
GUIDE: Center for Research Libraries (U.S.). Foreign newspapers held by the Center for Research Libraries. E-9186

Newspapers in the MSU Libraries

Electronic Resources : Newspapers provides links to both individual newspapers alphabetically as well as links to some of the more popular collections available to the MSU community and to visitors to the MSU Main Library.

Current International Newspapers in Print

The following titles are collected and retained for anywhere from two weeks to 3 months
-- next to the Current Periodicals on 2 West.

Argumenty I Fakty - printed from Press Display

Asahi Shimbun

Dawn (Karachi, Pakistan : Friday (Weekend) Edition)

Excelsior (Daily and Sunday)

Granma

Guardian (Weekly) (UK)

Izvestiia - printed from Press Display

Novaya Gazeta - printed from Press Display

Sing Tao Jih Pao** (Sing Tao Daily)**

(Die) Zeit

MSU Libraries

Research Guides

News and Newspaper Guide

Current International News Databases

Alternatives to Mainstream Media

International Newspapers from the Center for Research Libraries

Newspapers in the MSU Libraries

Current International Newspapers in Print

More questions? Contact me!