This is the "General Information" page of the "Michigan Crops Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Michigan Crops Research Guide   Tags: agriculture, botanical, michigan, plant science  

This guide will help identify current and historic information and documents on selected crops grown in Michigan.
Last Updated: Oct 25, 2013 URL: http://libguides.lib.msu.edu/MichiganCrops Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

General Information Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Current Data Sources

Here are resources to find current cropping information on Michigan crops.

National Agricultural Statistical Service - Michigan
Provides multiple ways to pull data from current and past years on specific crops.  State-level data and county-level data searches are available using the drop-down boxes on the main page.

Ag Across Michigan Reports
These reports are the current year's monthly reports detailing crop harves and prices of both crops and livesotck.  Previous year's information is not available in the individual reports, but incorporated into the Annual Statistical Bulletin.

Crop Progress & Condition Report
The weekly Crop Progress & Condition Report includes degree days, temperature, precipitation, crop planting progress, crop development and harvesting progress. This report is issued weekly. Data goes back to 2004.

Press Releases
Press releases are issued by the Michigan NASS office.  Each release is subject specific and provied a short update on the crop status and compares it to the national average.

Census of Agriculture - Michigan
The Census of Agriculture for Michiga is available online from 1945- the current 2007 Census. (See the Census box below for pre-1945 Census data and links.)

Census of Agriculture - US and Michigan for 1992 and 1997

Census of Agriculture - US and Michigan for 2007

Michigan Rotation Survey, Michigan Fruit Inventory series
Inventories provide fruit varieties, farm sizes, acreages, production values, etc, for most fruits grown in Michigan.  The earliest inventory listed, 1991-1992, contains data back to 1984.

Michigan Rotation Survey, Michigan Vegetable Inventory series
Inventories provide vegetable varieties, farm sizes, acreages, production values, etc, for most vegetables grown in Michigan.  The earliest inventory listed, 1992-1993, contains some data for previous years, but it depends on the vegetable.

Final Estimates Statistical Bulletins
These bulletins contain final estimates, including revisions made by the Agricultural Statistics Board (ASB), for five-year periods preceding the Census of Agriculture. Data included in these publications provide an historic record and a benchmark for current estimates. Both National and State-level data is included. Data is available online from 1987-2007.

 

Current Article Research

For articles on crops, please consult the lists of databaes in Agriculture Research Guide - Article Research section.

Plant Management Network Education Center
The PMN Education Center offers a growing collection of educational webcast modules for growers, consultants, and other crop professionals. These presentations are ideal for self-training on the protection and production of various crops. The featured webcasts are viewable at no cost. Please visit monthly to see the latest featured webcasts. Archived webcasts require a low-cost subscription, which includes access to all 12 Plant Management Network resources.

 

Print Resources-Past and Present

Michigan Agriculture Experiment Station publications and Michigan Cooperative Extension Service publications include works on individual crops.  Links to the collections at the MSU Libraries can be found in the guide Agriculture Experiment Station Documents - Search Strategies - tab Links to MAC/MSU Series titles.  Unfortunately the Library catalog does not have individual titles of each publication.  However, you can search WorldCat (public access, MSU access) for a crop and limit it to Michigan to see if we have a publication on that crop.

Quarterly Bulletin of the Michigan Agricultural Experiment Station
The "QB" was published from Aug. 1918 (v. 1) - May 1968 (v. 50, no. 4). The Index of the first 18 volumes (1918-1936) is in PDF format.  The only other electronic index to the QB that I'm aware of is Cab Abstracts ( http://er.lib.msu.edu/item.cfm?item=050159).  However, it does not cover the volumes 1-10, and is very sporadic in coverage of volumes 11-22 or so.  There is no easy way to search Cab Abstracts for the articles just in the QB as the 'Publication Title' fluctuates between "Quart. Bull. Mich. Agric. Exp. Stat."  and  "Mich. agric. Exp. Sta. quart. Bull."  It is best to search for a know topic (i.e. wheat) and the topic (keyword) Michigan or Mich*.
QB is shelved in the main library, Basement Center, S75.E23

Michigan crop reports.  1884-1918
S75 .Z3

Michigan crop report. Annual summary.... 1919-1920
S75 .Z3

Crop report for Michigan. Annual crop and livestock summary.... 1920-1949
S75 .Z3

Michigan agricultural statistics.    1950-1987,1989-1995;1995/1996-2003/2004
MSU GOV DOCS MICH DOCS, 3 W S451.M5 A2

Crop-weather / Michigan Crop Reporting Service.  1976-1995
MSU GOV DOCS OVRSIZE, 3 WEST  S600.62.M5 C7

Michigan geography and geology / Randall Schaetzl, Joe Darden, and Danita Brandt. NY: Custom Publishing, c2009.
Chapters of note: Chapter 36: Field Crops;  Chapter 37: Vegetable and Specialty Crops;  Chapter 38: The Fruit Industry;  Chapter 39: Grape and Wine Industry
MSU Reference and MSU Maps collections: F566 .M565 2009

 

Agriculture Census Data

CENSUS OF THE UNITED STATES
Agriculture and crop information was published in the Census of Population series from the Census Bureau until 1997, after which the USDA compiled and released the information.
Below are titles and links to the volumes that contain field crop and vegetable information for Michigan and Michigan Counties.

Third census of the United States, 1810. V. 2. Statement of the arts and manufactures of the United States of America, for the year 1810.
Contains information for the "Michigan Territory" on pages 37 and 38 in part 1, and on page 166 in part 2.
MSU CENSUS ALCOVE, 3 WEST  I 4.5:  v.2

The seventh census of the United States: 1850. Embracing a statistical view of each of the states and territories, arranged by counties, towns, etc. with an introduction, embracing the aggregate tables for the United States compared with every previous census since 1790...
MSU CENSUS ALCOVE, 3 WEST      I 8.5:1

Agriculture of the United States in 1860; compiled from the original returns of the eighth census, under the direction of the Secretary of the Interior by Joseph C. G. Kennedy, Superintendent of census.
MSU CENSUS ALCOVE, 3 WEST      I 9.5:2

Census reports. United States. Census Office.  9th census, 1870. v.3. Industry and wealth.
Vol. 3 contains the Agriculture Stats by State.
MSU CENSUS ALCOVE, 3 WEST      I 10.5:  v.3

Tenth census: June 1, 1880. United States. Census Office. 10th census, 1880.  v. 3. Productions of agriculture; v. 9. Forests of North America
MSU CENSUS ALCOVE, 3 WEST      I 11.5:

Census reports: Eleventh census: 1890. V. 5 - Agriculture; V. 13: Report on Farms and Homes: Proprietorship and Indebtedness in the United States
MSU CENSUS ALCOVE, 3 WEST      I 12.5 

Census reports: Twelfth census of the United States, taken in the year 1900. v. 5 pt. 1 - Farms, Livestock and Animal Products; v. 6 pt. 2 - Crops and Irrigation.
MSU CENSUS ALCOVE, 3 WEST      I 13.5

Thirteenth census of the United States taken in the year 1910. V. 5 - Agriculture, 1909 and 1910: General report and analysis. V. 6 - Reports by States, with statistics for counties; Alabama-Montana; V. 7 - Reports by States, with statistics for counties; Nebraska - Wyoming, Alaska, Hawaii and Porto Rico.
MSU CENSUS ALCOVE, 3 WEST      C 3.16

Fourteenth census of the United States taken in the year 1920. V.5 - Agriculture: General report and analytical tables. 1922. V. 6 pt. 1 - Agriculture Reports for states, with statistics for counties and a summary for the United States and the north, south and west. The northern states. V. 6 pt. 2 - The southern states. V. 6 pt. 3 -  The western states and outlying possessions.
MSU CENSUS ALCOVE, 3 WEST     C 3.28/5 

Census of agriculture: 1925. Reports for states, with statistics for counties and a summary for the United States ... Prepared under the supervision of William Lane Austin, chief statistician for agriculture.     pt. I. The northern states; pt. II. The southern states; pt. III. The western states.
MSU CENSUS ALCOVE, 3 WEST      C 3.31/4:925/

Fifteenth census of the United States. 1930. Agriculture. v. 1 Farm acreage and farm values by townships or other minor civil divisions; v. 2. Reports by states, with statistics for counties and a summary for the United States: v. 2 pt. 1. The northern states; V. 2 pt. 2. The southern states; V. 2 pt. 3. The western states; v.3. Type of farm. Reports by states, with statistics for counties and a summary for the United States: v.3 pt. 1. The northern states; v.3 pt. 2. The southern states; v.3 pt. 3. The western states; v. 4. General report, statistics by subjects.
MSU CENSUS ALCOVE, 3 WEST      C 3.37/5:AG 8/  

Fifteenth census of the United States. 1930. Census of distribution. Agricultural commodity series.    V. 1 - The assembling of agricultural commodities by retailers;  V. 2 -  Cooperatives as a factor in the distribution of agricultural commodities; V. 3 - Assembling of butterfat through cream stations; V. 4 Distribution of butter, cheese, evaporated and condensed milk, and ice cream; V. 5 Distribution of grain; V. 6 - Distribution of live-stock.
MSU CENSUS ALCOVE, 3 WEST     C 3.37/34:1-6 

Fifteenth census of the United States: 1930. Horticulture. Statistics for the United States and for states, 1929 and 1930. Prepared under the supervision of William Lane Austin, chief statistician for agriculture.
MSU CENSUS ALCOVE, 3 WEST      C 3.37/5:H 78 

Fifteenth census of the United States. 1930. Special or Miscellaneous Agriculture Reports:
Chickens and chicken eggs and turkeys, ducks, and geese raised on farms. Chickens and poultry products, with selected items by size of flock, for the United States, and counties, 1930 and 1929MSU CENSUS ALCOVE, 3 WEST      C 3.37/15:C 43
The farm horse. 1933. MSU CENSUS ALCOVE, 3 WEST      C 3.37/15:F 22/ 

Farm real-estate values in the New England States, 1850-1930.  MSU CENSUS ALCOVE, 3 WEST      C 3.37/15:F 22/3
Large-scale farming in the United States, 1929MSU CENSUS ALCOVE, 3 WEST      C 3.37/15:F 22
The Negro Farmer in the United States. 1930MSU CENSUS ALCOVE, 3 WEST      C 3.37/15:N 31
Taxes on farm property in the United States. 1933. MSU CENSUS ALCOVE, 3 WEST      C 3.37/15:F 22/2
Types of farming in the United States. 1933MSU CENSUS ALCOVE, 3 WEST      C 3.37/15:F 22/4

1940 and 1950 - Census

Census of agriculture, 1935 Reports for states with statistics for counties and a summary for the United States ... 
Vol. I. Farms, farm acreage and value, and selected livestock and crops. pt. 1. The northern states [Includes Michigan]. pt. 2. The southern states. pt. 3. The western states. 1836.
Vol. II. Farms and farm acreage by size, land of part owners, farm population, dwelling, labor, years on farm, part-time work; specified livestock and livestock products; annual legumes, vegetables, fruits and miscellaneous crops; and irrigated crop land. pt. 1. The northern states. pt. 2. The southern states. pt. 3. The western states. 1936.
Vol. III. General report. Statistics by subjects. 1937.

16th census of the United States: 1940. Agriculture ... First series. Uses of land, principal crops and classes of livestock with statistics for counties ...  [Michigan is in Vol. 1, pt. 1]
MSU CENSUS ALCOVE, 3 WEST      C 3.31/4:940/  v.1:pt.1

United States census of agriculture: 1945 / prepared under the supervision of Ray Hurley, chief, Agriculture division. Department of commerce ... Bureau of the census.
1. Statistics for counties. Farms, acreage, value, characteristics, livestock, livestock products, crops, fruits and value of farm products. 34 pts.--2. General report, statistics by subjects, for the United States, geographic divisions, and states.
Michigan crop data is in Vol. 1, pt. 6
MSU CENSUS ALCOVE, 3 WEST     C 3.31/4:945/  v.1 pt.5-9

United States census of agriculture: 1950.
v. 1. Counties and state economic areas. 34 pts. -- v. 2. General report. Statistics by subjects. -- v. 3. Irrigation of agricultural lands. 18 pts. -- v. 4. Drainage of agricultural lands. -- v. 5. Special reports. 10 pts.Michigan crop data is in Vol. 1, pt. 6
MSU CENSUS ALCOVE, 3 WEST      C 3.950-9:  v.1, pt.6

United States census of agriculture: 1954.
v. 1. Counties and State economic areas. 33 pts. -- v. 2. General report, statistics by subjects. -- v. 3. Special reports. 12 pts.
Michigan crop data is in Vol. 1, pt. 6
MSU CENSUS ALCOVE, 3 WEST      C 3.31/4:954/  v.1, pt.6

U. S. census of agriculture, 1959 : final report. Vol. 1, Counties. Pt. 13. Michigan / prepared under the supervision of Ray Hurley ; U.S. Department of Commerce, Bureau of the Census.
MSU CENSUS ALCOVE, 3 WEST      C 3.31/4:959/v.1/pt.13  v.1:pt.13 

United States census of agriculture: 1964.
Michigan crop data is in Vol. 1, pt. 13
MSU CENSUS ALCOVE, 3 WEST      C 3.31/4:964/ v.1, pt.13

1969 census of agriculture.
Michigan crop data is in Vol. 1, pt. 13
C 3.31/4:969/ Vol. 1, pt. 13

1974 census of agriculture.
v. 1. State and county data. 54 pts. in 34 v.--v. 2. Statistics by subject. 2 v.--v. 3. Agricultural services.--v. 4. Special reports.
Michigan crop data is in v.1, pt.22
MSU CENSUS ALCOVE, 3 WEST      C 3.31/4:974/  v.1, pt.22

1978 census of agriculture.
v. 1. State and county data. (pts.1-56) -- v. 2. [Statistics by subjects and the ranking counties report will not to be published] -- v. 3. Agricultural services -- v. 4. Irrigation -- v. 5. Special reports: pt.1. Graphic summary. pt.3. Coverage evaluation. pt.4. Special reports. Procedural history. pt.5. Drainage of agricultural lands. pt.6. 1979 farm finance survey. pt.7. 1979 census of horticultural specialties. pt.8. 1979 farm and ranch irrigation survey. pt.9. 1979 farm energy.
Michigan crop data is in v.1, pt.22
MSU CENSUS ALCOVE, 3 WEST      C 3.31/4:978/  v.1 pt.22

1982 census of agriculture.
Volume 1, Geographic area series. Part 22, Michigan, state and county data
MSU CENSUS ALCOVE, 3 WEST      C 3.31/4:982/v.1/pt.22

1987 census of agriculture. Volume 1, Geographic area series. Part 22, Michigan state and county data
MSU CENSUS ALCOVE, 3 WEST      C 3.31/4:987/v.1/pt.22

1992 census of agriculture. Volume 1, Geographic area series. Part 22, Michigan, state and county data
MSU CENSUS ALCOVE, 3 WEST      C 3.31/4:992/V.1/Pt.22

1997 census of agriculture. Volume 1, Geographic area series. Part 22, Michigan, state and county data
MSU CENSUS ALCOVE, 3 WEST      A 92.53/22:AC 97-A-22


Census of Agriculture - Michigan
The Census of Agriculture for Michigan is available online from 1945- the current 2007 Census.

Suzanne Teghtmeyer

Profile Image
Suzi Teghtmeyer
Contact Info
MSU Main Library
517-884-0894
teghtmey@msu.edu
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip