Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Food Science Resources: Finding Books

Suggested resources for research in the area of food science and technology.

Searching the Library Catalog

To locate books on specific topics, search the Library Catalog. Begin with a keyword search which allows the use of everyday terminology and the combination of two or more concepts (e.g. "food and fortification"; "HACCP and poultry"); click on a title of interest and follow the subject hotlinks in the cataloging record to locate other books on the same topic. Use the truncation symbol to retrieve alternate forms of a word (e.g., food contamina* will find food contamination, food contaminants; food label* will find food label, food labels, food labelling).

Finding E-books in the Catalog

Need something online?: You can search for Electronic Materials only. To find resources by topic, click Keyword or Subject, enter your search terms, and click the Search button. You will retrieve a list of electronic resources, ranked by relevancy and displayed 50 per screen, with the most recent listed first. Click on a title of interest for further information and hyperlink.

The Knovel Food Science Collection features over 200 fully-searchable handbooks and reference works covering all areas of food science and technology. 

Online Reference Resources

Dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, etc. can help you to explore a topic; identify trends, issues, key people, terminology or keywords to use as search terms; find references to other books and articles on the subject.

Animal Health and Production Compendium
A multi-media reference tool, focusing on all aspects of animal health and production, including diseases, nutrition, husbandry, breeding, food safety and quality. Includes modules in poultry, pigs, and small and large ruminants, with text, pictures, graphs, maps, diagnostic aids, etc. **Limited to 2 simultaneous users.**

Codex Alimentarius  Part of the Knovel Life Sciences and Chemistry Collection.

Dictionary of Food Science and Technology    Compiled and edited by the International Food Information Service.

Encyclopedia of Food and Health  Spans food production and processing from distribution and consumption to health effects.

Encyclopedia of Food Microbiology   Part of the Knovel Life Sciences and Chemistry Collection.

Encyclopedia of Meat Sciences. 2nd ed.

Encyclopedia of Organic, Sustainable and Local Food.

Formerly GPO Access, a service of the U.S. Government Printing Office that provides free electronic access to information products produced by the Federal Government, including the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) and Federal Register. The information provided on this site is the official, published version and can be used without restriction, unless specifically noted.

Food Chemicals Codex 8th edition. Part of the Knovel Life Sciences and Chemistry Collection.

Subject Guide

Anita Ezzo
Main Library
366 W. Circle Drive
Room E408
East Lansing, MI 48824
Website / Blog Page
  • Call MSU: (517) 355-1855
  • Visit:
  • MSU is an affirmative-action, equal-opportunity employer.
Michigan State University