Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Health Care Policy: Home

a brief guide to useful sources of information on the complexities of health care policy.


This guide attempts to direct users to useful information regarding primarily federal policy regarding health care issues. It is not a comprehensive guide. Those seeking more guidance can consult with our reference staff or consult additional guides below. Key subject headings include:

  • Health Care Reform
  • Health Insurance
  • Medical Policy
  • United States. Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act

Other Library Research Guides

Finding Articles

Cross-disciplinary Databases - cover multiple disciplines at once

Expanded Academic ASAP (1980 to date).   Provides coverage of 3,000 indexed and 1,900 full-text titles in a wide variety of disciplines including: social science journals, humanities journals, science and technology journals, national news periodicals, general interest magazines, newswires, The New York Times and many others. More than 1,400 journals are peer reviewed, and more than 20 years of backfile coverage are included.  Check out the browse subjections section for all the entries starting with African American!

Google Scholar, current.  Google has created this database to speed location of reports and journal articles available on the Internet. Google is also working hard on facilitating links to subscription resources offered by university libraries. However not all the links work yet. So if you find an interesting article or resources via this database, be sure to check whether it is available via the MSU Libraries electronic or print collections.

ISI Web of Knowledge (1899 to date).  A multidisciplinary database, covering the journal literature of the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Note: if you click on the Web of Science tab, you can limit your search to one of these three areas.  The Social Sciences Citation Index goes back to 1956; the Arts and Humanities Citation Index goes back to 1975.

JSTOR.  Searchable database of the full text of journals covering a wide array of academic topics including anthropology, Asian Studies, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, and sociology.  Years available vary with each title, but the most recent issues available in JSTOR will normally be 4-5 years old due to embargoes from publishers.

Medical Databases

PubMed@MSU  If you are looking for scholarly articles in Public Health, start with PubMed. The database covers almost all major journals in the field. In order to access the fulltext articles provided by the MSU Libraries, it is important to access PubMed through the MSU Libraries. If located off-campus, you'll be prompted for your NetID and password.

Global Health  is an international public health database that has comprehensive coverage of the core public health literature, it also focuses on the areas of tropical medicine, infectious diseases, vector control, food safety and epidemiology.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text (on EBSCO)  is the online version of the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature. This resource focuses on journal articles from Nursing, and Allied Health fields like Speech therapy, nutrition, physical therapy, etc.

Public Policy Databases

PolicyFile - database of research and policy briefs from hundreds of think tanks (mostly U.S. based) that address policy issues, both foreign and domestic

Political Science Complete (EBSCO). Provides full text for over 500 publications, and cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 1995 journals. The database also features more than 189 full-text reference books and monographs, and over 27,000 full text conference papers, including those of the International Political Science Association.

PAIS (1915 to date).   Combines PAIS International and PAIS Archives into one new database. Indexes selected books, government documents, and periodical articles on contemporary public issues and the making of public policy.

Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO). Indexes and selectively publishes post-1990 scholarship and reports on international affairs. Provides full-text access to relevant Columbia University Press titles and many recent journals, papers from university research institutes and non-governmental organizations, foundation-funded research projects, and conference proceedings. CIAO also has links to international affairs centers, institutes, and other resources; U.S., international, and foreign govenment sites; environmental studies web pages; and news media services.

International Political Science Abstracts. A bibliographic database produced since 1951 by the International Political Science Association that indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals published throughout the world. The abstracts summarize the source articles. Coverage is from 1989 to the present. Articles in English are abstracted in English; those in other languages are abstracted in French, with all titles translated into English.  Print volumes for vols. 1-38, 1951-1988, are available in the stacks at JA36 .I5

Subject Guide

  • Call MSU: (517) 355-1855
  • Visit:
  • MSU is an affirmative-action, equal-opportunity employer.
Michigan State University