Michigan State University

Health Sciences Image Resources: Course Packs

Image Usage Information

This page discusses usage of images in print and electronic course packs, some of which are allowed for free via subscriptions negotiated by the MSU Libraries. For information on using images in course lectures and presentations see the Lectures page.

No Cost Resources

The MSU Libraries subscription to these resources includes payment for rights to include these images in MSU print and electronic course packs for no extra cost.  Please provide citation information when possible.

LWW Health Library

Images available from titles in the Basic Sciences and Osteopathic Medicine collections from Lippincott Williams & Wilkins.

To find images you may:
1. Search for a keyword in the main search box. On the results pages scroll down and select Media in the left-side menu. You can narrow further by subject or specific title in the same menu.
2. Search within a specific text by choosing the texts button on the homepage followed by narrowing it to subject and selecting an individual book and then choosing images in the left-side menu under the link to the textbook's table of contents. From there you can choose a chapter to view all the images within it.

To download and save images you have two options:
1) Click View Original and the image will open in a new browser tab/page, right click, and select Save Image As or Save Picture As.  The figure caption and citation information do not appear in saved images, so make sure to note where an image came from when downloading them to your computer.
2) Click Slide (.ppt), the image will open as a PowerPoint slide with all of the image attributes including the title of the chapter; the name of the textbook, its edition and publication date; and a copyright statement.

Please use the following citation on all images: Copyright © Lippincott Williams & Wilkins - All Rights Reserved

 

Lippincott's Clinical Choice

Over 189 medical books published by Ovid which are searchable by title and subject.

Please use the following citation on all images: Copyright © Lippincott Williams & Wilkins - All Rights Reserved

To find images you may:
1) Click the Multimedia tab in the top horizontal menu bar (beside the Books tab). Search for a term in the search box located under Quick Search or by browsing by subject.
2) Click the Books tab and search by selecting either Quick Search, Title, or Subject. Once you have found a relevant text try searching within the book and selecting the figure after pressing the + sign beside the chapter title.

To download and save images:
1) Click View Figure to download the image to your desktop, noting the figure number, book chapter and title information.

 

Thieme Teaching Assistants

The Thieme Teaching Assistant

The Guide to Using Thieme Images (PDF) is available as a quick introduction to downloading and managing images in Thieme.

Please note - Content, figure titles, or legends may be removed from images, but the copyright notices must remain intact. Original content may be added to an image, but the addition of third-party copyrighted material is not allowed. Content added to the images becomes the property of Thieme.

Thieme Teaching Assistant: Anatomy

The anatomy collection features all images from the Gilroy, et al. Atlas of Anatomy, as well as additional illustrations and clinical images from Head and Neck Anatomy for Dental Medicine.

Please use the following citation on all images: Gilroy et al., Atlas of Anatomy.  All rights reserved. © Thieme 2008. www.thieme.com 

Thieme Teaching Assistant: Pharmacology

The pharmacology collection features all images from Pharmacology: An Illustrated Review by Mark A. Simmons.

Please use the following citation on all images: Pharmacology: An Illustrated Review. All rights reserved. © Thieme 2012. www.thieme.com

Thieme Teaching Assistant: Physiology

This physiology collection features all images from Michael, et al. Fundamentals of Medical Physiology - a concise, in-depth introduction by organ system to the principles of body function.

Please use the following citation on all images: Fundamentals of Medical Physiology and Physiology: An Illustrated Review. All rights reserved. © Thieme 2012. www.thieme.com

 

Visual Dx

Visual Dx is a web-based clinical decision support system designed to aid in the identification of dermatologic, infectious, genetic, metabolic, nutritional and occupational diseases, benign and malignant growths, drug-induce conditions, and other injuries. Covers more than 1,300 pediatric and adult conditions represented by nearly 30,000 images.

Note: Images can be added to course materials by opening an image in full-page view, press print screen (PrtScr) on your keyboard, and paste the screen capture into your document. The Logical Images copyright watermark must be visible and intact.

Please use the following citation on all images: Image source: Visual Dx (www.visualdx.com).

 

Wiley Online Library

The platform for over 450 online journals in a variety of subjects in the scientific, technical, medical, and social sciences.

 

Fee-Based Resources

There may be an additional cost to use images from these resources in course packs.  Restrictions are listed below. Unless otherwise stated, images may not be modified or altered in any way.  Please work with the Course Materials Program to obtain copyright clearance.

 

Access Products:

In any of these databases you can search for images by clicking on the Multimedia tab in the horizontal menu bar and selecting Images. You can also do a keyword search in the main search bar and limit to images by selecting the Images filter in the search results page near the bottom of the left hand menu column.

AccessAnesthesiology

Collection of anesthesiology reference tools, including electronic books.

AccessEmergencyMedicine

Collection of tools for the diagnosis and treatment of a broad range of emergency room cases, including textbooks and videos.

AccessMedicine

Over 70 medical textbooks, many with frequent online updates, including Harrison's Online, Goodman & Gilman's, and Hurst the Heart.

AccessSurgery

Contains textbooks, surgical videos, animations, atlases, and board reviews.

 

Clinical Key

Contains over 900 electronic textbooks, including Robbins & Cotran, Nelson's Pediatrics, and the Harriet Lane Handbook, and millions of images.

To find images:

Searches can be limited to images by selecting Multimedia in the orange drop down menu to the left of the search bar that defaults to All. Or search for a keyword and limit the source type to Images.

To download images:

1. Click the image you would like to download and either select the download ribbon above the image or 'view full size' option to save the image to your desktop.

 

STAT!Ref

Collection of over 40 health sciences titles, mostly medical, including the continually updated evidence based medicine resource ACP Pier.

Images may be used in electronic course materials with no additional cost.  Use of images in print course materials requires permission and additional costs may be applied.

Health Sciences Librarian

Iris Kovar-Gough
Contact:
Michigan State University Libraries
366 W. Circle Drive, WG-1J
East Lansing, MI 48824-1048
Telephone: 517-884-0909

MSU College of Human Medicine
321 Secchia Center
15 Michigan St NE
Grand Rapids, MI 49503-2508
Telephone: 616-234-2742
Website / Blog Page
Subjects:Medicine

Health Sciences Librarian

Abraham Wheeler

awheeler@msu.edu

 

MSU Libraries
366 W. Circle Drive WG-1D
East Lansing, MI 48824
517-884-0893

skype me@ awheeler.msu
 

Subjects:Communicative Sciences and Disorders
 

 
 

© 2014 Michigan State University Board of Trustees.

Privacy Statement