Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Holocaust Sources: Documents in the MSU Libraries Related to the Study of the Holocaust: Reference Sources

Reference Sources


Holocaust EncyclopediaUS Holocaust Memorial Museum. 

The Encyclopedia of the Holocaust.  Israel Gutman, ed. New York: Macmillan, c1990. REFERENCE D804.3 f.E53 1990

Encyclopedia of Camps and Ghettos, 1933-1945.  Bloomington, Ind. : Indiana University Press : [Washington, D.C.] : United States Holocaust Memorial Museum, c2009- REFERENCE D805.A2 E53 2009

Encyclopedia of the Holocaust. Schmuel Spector, Robert Rozette, editors. New York : Facts on File, 2000. MAIN D804.25 .E53 2000

The Encyclopedia of Jewish Life before and during the Holocaust. Editor in chief, Shmuel Spector; consulting editor, Geoffrey Wigoder; foreword by Elie Wiesel. Jerusalem: Yad Vashem; New York: New York University Press, 2001. 3 Vols. MAIN DS135.E8 E45 2001

The Holocaust encyclopedia. Walter Laqueur, editor ; Judith Tydor Baumel, associate editor. New Haven : Yale University Press, c2001. MAIN D804.25 .H66 2001

Fischel, Jack. Historical dictionary of the Holocaust. Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 2010  MAIN D804.25 .F57 2010

Gilbert, Martin. Routledge Atlas of the Holocaust.  MAP LIBRARY SHORT ATLAS G1797.21 .E29 G58 2002

U.S. Holocaust Memorial Museum. Historical Atlas of the Holocaust. New York: MacMillan Pub., 1996. MAP LIBRARY SHORT ATLAS G1797.21 .E29 H5 1996 


Angele, E. D. Remembering the Past: National Socialism In Germany and the Holocaust: A Selective Bibliography of Books, Articles, and Audio-Visual Materials. Chicago, IL: Goethe-Institute Chicago Library, c1993. MAIN  Z2241 .N27 R46

Cargas, Harry J. The Holocaust: An Annotated Bibliography. Chicago: American Library Association, 1985. MAIN Z6374 .H6 C37

Edelheit, Abraham J. Bibliography on Holocaust Literature and Supplements. Boulder: Westview Press, 1986, 1990, 1993.  MAIN D810 .J4 E3

Hayes, Peter and John K. Roth, eds.  Oxford Handbook of Holocaust Studies. Oxford UP, 2010. MAIN D804.3 .O94 2010

The Holocaust: An Annotated Bibliography and Resource Guide. [Hoboken, NJ]: Ktav Pub. House for the National Jewish Resource Center, New York, c1985.  MAIN Z6374 .H65 1985

Rosen, Philip and Nina Apfelbaum. Bearing witness: a resource guide to literature, poetry, art, music, and videos by Holocaust victims and survivors. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2002 MAIN D804.3 .R67 2002

Tutorow, Norman E. War Crimes, War Criminals, and War Crimes Trials: An Annotated Bibliography and Source Book. New York: Greenwood Press, 1986. MAIN JX5419.5 .W3 T8 1986 


Contact Info

Deborah Margolis

Middle East Studies & Anthropology Librarian, Liaison to Jewish Studies


  • Call MSU: (517) 355-1855
  • Visit:
  • MSU is an affirmative-action, equal-opportunity employer.
Michigan State University