Broad worldwide coverage
- David Rumsey Map Collection Several thousand scanned historic maps of the world, with some emphasis on the Americas.
- Google Maps View basic or custom maps and local business information, including business locations, contact information, and driving directions. Click and drag maps to view adjacent sections immediately. View satellite images of your desired location that you can zoom and pan. Some areas include traffic information and street-level views.
- MSU Map Library Scanned maps Simple boundary maps, easy to print.
- North American Environmental Atlas The commission for environmental cooperation, including Natural Resources Canada; Mexico's National Institute of Statistics and Geography; and the U.S. Geological Survey – created harmonized base map layers of political boundaries, populated places, roads and railroads, coastlines, lakes and rivers, and other features provide a consistent framworkto depict layers for renewable energy capacity, priority conservation areas, and other environmental themes.
- P & P Free Map of the world Customize a world map by zoom, draw color lines, add text, and fill in countries.
- PCL Map Collection, University of Texas Large collection of scanned maps, including a lot of general reference maps from the FBI.
- Wundermap Weather Undergrounds's interactive map of current weather conditions.
- d-maps: Comprehensive Collection of Blank maps Thanks to Daniel Dalet we have numerous styles of blank maps of countries and regions, downloadable as .gif, .pdf, .cdr, .svg, .ai, or .wmf. Free, but be sure to take note of the (generous) terms and conditions for use.
United States
- FEMA Map Service Center Interactive web site to display flood zones in the United States (only for those communities that participate in the FEMA Flood Insurace Rate Program)
- Library of Congress American Memory Project Historic maps scanned in high resolution. You may interact with them on the screen or download them in full in .SID format.
- School District Demographics System See numerous demographic variables by school district including population, race, economics, educational attainment, school revenue, FTE teachers, FTE librarians/media specialists, and total number of students.
- The National Atlas of the United States Includes a dynamic interactive map, printable maps in PDF format, and GIS data layers. Topics include agriculture census, zoology, legal boundaries, climate, hazard events, environmental releases, geology, elections, and basic reference maps.
- USGS Topographic maps Newest editions of each 7.5 minute maps in an interactive viewer. See also the "Michigan" tab for Michigan-only resource.
Other Major North American Sites
- GEOSCAN Database GEOSCAN is the bibliographic database for scientific and technical publications of the Earth Sciences Sector (ESS) of Natural Resources Canada. It indexes about 50,000 pubications. Some are owned by MSU Libraries and some not. Check holdings in the Libraries' online catalog and also check with the MSU Map Library.
Geosciences Librarian |
Kathleen WeessiesContact Info:
517-432-6123 x250
Send Email
Subjects:
Geography, Geology, Urban Planning, Landscape Architecture, Maps
517-432-6123 x250
Send Email
Subjects:
Geography, Geology, Urban Planning, Landscape Architecture, Maps
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait