This is the "Current Newspaper Databases" page of the "Newspaper Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Newspaper Guide  

Last Updated: Mar 14, 2014 URL: http://libguides.lib.msu.edu/newspaperguide Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Current Newspaper Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Newspapers in the MSU Libraries

Electronic Resources : Newspapers provides links to both individual newspapers alphabetically as well as links to some of the more popular collections available to the MSU community and to visitors to the MSU Main Library.

 

Newspaper Photos

AP Images : Also called Associated Press Multimedia Archive. Includes an ever-changing collection of over 700,000 photographs from the AP news service. Most of the images are contemporary and date from 1995 forwards, but many historical images are also included. All images include descriptive captions and source information.

Life Photo Archive Hosted by Google : Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google. Heh, it may not be from a newspaper but it compliments the AP Images collection.

Library of Congress Newspaper Images via Flicker : In 2008, the Library of Congress began offering historical photograph collections through Flickr in order to share some of our most popular images with a new visual community. Now, the Library of Congress has expanded its Flickr collections to include illustrated and visual content from historic American newspapers available in its online collections.

 

Ask a Librarian

Confused? 

Try the MSU Library Ask a Librarian Service available via chat, IM, email, phone, and in person at the reference desk.

 

Current Newspaper Databases

LexisNexis Academic : provides electronic access to hundreds of newspapers from around the U.S. and the world, most of them within one day of publication. Retrospective coverage varies but in some cases goes back to the 1980s. Searching tip: If you are only interested in searching through a particular newspaper like the New York Times or Washington Post, (1) look for the box that says by source title and (2) start typing in the name of the paper slowly.  Notice that choices will appear beneath the box which you can click on for the most accurate results. (3) Type in appropriate key words or the date and see what happens.

NewspaperDirect PressDisplay (Proquest) : provides online, same-day access to more than 1000 newspapers from the U.S. and more than 80 other countries. Includes a searchable, 60-day archive. Limit: 5 MSU users at a time.

Proquest Gannett Newsstand : Includes full text of 85 U.S. newspapers, including the Detroit Free Press, Lansing State Journal, etc.

Infotrac Newstand : provides access to selected papers from around the country and the world, courtesy of the MeL.

Factiva : provides electronic access to hundreds of newspapers from around the U.S. and the world, most of them within one day of publication. Retrospective coverage varies but in some cases goes back to the 1980s. Special feature : Click on News Pages, then United States, for same day articles from the Wall Street Journal, New York Times, and Washington Post, but not the Chicago Tribune or Los Angeles Times. You can also choose Today's Front Pages to review 873 front pages from 86 countries (similar to NewspaperDirect PressDisplay.  Or click on News Pages, then United States Academic for the same three newspapers, plus the St. Louis Post-Dispatch and San Francisco Chronicle. Or choose on of the many other options including topics such as agriculture/forestry, automobiles, energy, health care, etc. or by location such as European Union, Greater China, Russia, United Kingdom, etc. Note : 6 MSU users at a time.

For additional possibilities, visit Electronic Resources : Newspapers and browse through the alphabetical list.

 

New York Times FAQ

Q. The New York Times web page has just indicated that I have to pay to access articles.  Is this for real?
A. As of March 28, 2011 the New York Times no longer provides unlimited free access on its web pages.

Q. Can the MSU Libraries get a Times digital subscription that we can use?
A. No. The Times does not offer multi-user subscriptions for libraries and their patrons.  If we become aware of a change in this policy, we will investigate.

Q. Does that mean I can't access any of the Times content on their site or on my smartphone or iPad without an individual subscription?
A. The Times allows users to access up to 10 articles on its website per month with no cost. The Top News section will remain free on smartphone and tablet apps. Beyond that, digital subscriptions are required.  Subscribers to the print newspaper get free access via nytimes.com and smartphone and tablet apps.  See the Times digital subscription page for details.  Subscribers to the NYTimes via Kindles and Nooks also receive free access.

Q. Are there any other workarounds for the Times PayWall?
A. Readers who reach the Times through blogs and links from social media sites, like Facebook and Twitter, can access unlimited articles, even if they have reached their monthly limit, the paper said. And those who come in through search engines, like Google, Bing and Yahoo, get five extra stories per day.  Click here for a list of some of the free Twitter Feeds.  Some readers say that  if you delete the letters delete the letters gwh from the links, you can still gain access.   

Q. Is everything that's available on the nytimes.com site available in the library databases?
A. Factiva and LexisNexis provide only the text of Times articles.  Times photos, videos, and multimedia are not available in these databases.  (Photos are included in ProQuest Digital Microfilm, but are not in color or of the same quality as the website.) Online-only articles from the Times website can be searched in Factiva , though they are not included in the browsable contents.

Q. Do I have to wait to read Times articles in Factiva and LexisNexis?
A. Times articles appear in Factiva and LexisNexis the same day they are published in the paper.

Q. What about the print newspaper?  Do the MSU Libraries still carry that?
A. Yes.  Print copies of the New York Times are available every day in the Cybercafe (1 West) and in Current Periodicals (2 West).

Q. Is this going to happen with other newspapers? If it does, will I have access to content from those papers, too?
A. Everyone's going to be watching what happens with the Times, but many think it's inevitable that other newspapers will start charging for content. LexisNexis and Factiva carry many other major (and not so major) newspapers.  The database PressDisplay offers the Washington Post, the Los Angeles Times, the Chicago Tribune, and many other papers from around the world in full color, exactly as they appear in print, on the same day they are published, but not the New York Times. 

 

Washington Post

Washington Post to start charging frequent site users - The newspaper will start requiring users who look at more than 20 articles or multimedia features a month to pay a fee, though it hasn't yet determined the amount.

Social Sciences Collections Coordinator

Profile Image
Jon Harrison
 

What's Missing?

Do you have any suggestions on additional items that should be added to this LibGuide?  If so, send an email to Jon Harrison.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip