LibGuides: Organic, Sustainable, Urban and Alternative Farming Systems: Article Research

Articles - Refresher

Articles contain the most current information published in a field of study. The Library Catalog contains the journal titles to all of the print and electronic format journals to which we subscribe. The Catalog does not list the articles within the journals. Articles are in article databases.

Popular, Scholarly, and Trade Article Comparison Chart
A chart comparing the differences between these three article types.

UlrichsWeb This link opens in a new window
If you are still uncertain about the scholarly nature of a journal, you may look up the title or ISSN in the periodical database UlrichsWeb (Ulrich 's International Periodicals Directory). It contains subscription, publisher, ISSN and other information on 250,000 active and ceased serials worldwide: magazines, journals, annuals and more.

Article Databases - 1st Choices

CAB Abstracts This link opens in a new window
1910-
CAB covers the subject of agriculture in the broadest sense. It includes: agronomy, biotechnology, crop protection, dairy science, economics, environmental degradation and remediation, forestry, genetics, herbicides, irrigation, leisure, recreation and tourism, microbiology, nutrition, parasitology, rural development, veterinary medicine and much more. Journals, monographs, conferences, books, annual reports and other sources from more than one country are scanned regularly for inclusion in the database.
AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window
1970-
Covers every major agricultural subject, including agricultural engineering and marketing, animal breeding, entomology, environmental pollution, farm management, foods and feeds, pesticides, rural sociology, veterinary medicine, and water resources. Citations consist of journal articles, book chapters, monographs, conference proceedings, serials, technical reports, and other materials on a range of agricultural topics.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
According to EBSCO, Environment Complete™ offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. Environment Complete contains more than 1,957,000 records from more than 1,700 domestic and international titles going back to the 1940s (including 1,125 active core titles) as well as more than 120 monographs. The database also contains full text for more than 680 journals, including many of the most used journals in the discipline, such as Environment (back to 1975), Ecologist, Conservation Biology, etc. Additionally, Environment Complete provides full text for 120 monographs, such as Encyclopedia of World Environmental History (3 volumes), Advances in Water Treatment & Environmental Management, etc.

GreenFILE

Garden, Landscape and Horticulture Index This link opens in a new window
The Garden, Landscape and Horticulture Index is a popular and scholarly index to over 300 journals on gardening, horticulture, landscape design, botany, ecology, plant conservation, garden management, and horticultural therapy.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
1995-
ScienceDirect (from Elsevier) provides access to the full text of over 2,000 journals, from 1995 to present (with extended coverage for some titles). It also contains electronic books. Coverage includes strong content in the physical sciences. Personalization options for table of contents alerts, saving searches, etc., are available.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Includes the Institute for Scientific Information Citation Indexes - Arts and Humanities, Social Science, and Science. It indexes science, social sciences, and arts and humanities information from nearly 9,300 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world.

Article Databses - 2nd Choices

Organic.Edunet
Or, "Organic.Edunet: A Multilingual Federation of Learning Repositories with Quality Content for the Awareness and Education of European Youth about Organic Agriculture and Agroecology". The Organic.Edunet project aims to facilitate access, usage and exploitation of digital educational content related to Organic Agriculture and Agroecology. This will be achieved by deploying a multilingual online federation of learning repositories, populated with quality content from various content producers. An multilingual online environment (the Organic.Edunet Web portal) will facilitate end-users’ search, retrieval, access and use of the content in the learning repositories. Today, the Organic.Edunet Web portal provides access to 10515 resources, from 11 institutional collections and 2 user communities.

Organic Eprints
Organic Eprints is an international open access archive for papers and projects related to research in organic food and farming. The archive contains full-text papers in electronic form together with bibliographic information, abstracts and other metadata. It also offers information on organisations, projects and facilities in the context of organic farming research. The Organic Eprints archive is a tool to further develop research in organic agriculture. The main objectives are to facilitate the communication of research papers and proposals, to improve the dissemination and impact of research findings, and to document the research effort.

Organic Agriculture Information Access
Organic Agriculture Information Access is an electronic collection of historic United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) publications related to organic agriculture. In this collection, there are almost 200 documents published before 1942 (before synthetic chemicals became widely used) that contain state-of-the-art information and data that is still very pertinent for today's agriculture. This collection is provided by the Alternative Farming Systems Information Center (AFSIC), a part of the National Agricultural Library (NAL),

PlantFacts
Horticulture and crop science information from 46 different colleges, universities, and government institutions across the United States and Canada. This searchable site run by the Department of Horticulture and Crop Science, The Ohio State University provides access to over 260,000 pages of Extension fact sheets and bulletins from every land-grant university in the U.S. and several government institutions across Canada. Try this resource even for non-plant research queries as their "plant" filter is porous.

FAOSTAT (MSU only)
FAOSTAT is an on-line and multilingual database currently containing over 1 million time-series records covering international statistics in the following areas: Production, Trade, Food Balance Sheets, Food Aid Shipments, Fertilizer and Pesticides, Land Use and Irrigation, Forest Products, Fishery Products, Population, Agricultural Machinery. The service provides extended on-line query and download limits (10,000 records per query) and unlimited access to FTP bulk download files. A copy of this data is also available on CD-ROM in GD/SSHR of the Main Library.

FAO Corporate Document Repository
The FAO Corporate Document Repository houses FAO documents and publications, as well as selected non-FAO publications, in electronic format. It enables users to easily access the accumulated knowledge and information produced by FAO directly on the Internet.
To view the new publications added to the repository in the last month, see new documents.
The advanced search provides the user with the means to carry out a specific search, by querying a particular field or combination of fields. There are three distinct advanced searches, one for meeting documents one for publications, such as books and journals, and one for articles.

Data and Statistics

MSU Data & Statistics Research Guide: Agriculture
Michigan and Federal Census of Agriculture
Links to the in-depth page "Ag Census and Historic Research."

FAOSTAT This link opens in a new window
FAOSTAT is an on-line and multilingual database currently containing over 1 million time-series records covering international statistics in the following areas: Production, Trade, Food Balance Sheets, Food Aid Shipments, Fertilizer and Pesticides, Land Use and Irrigation, Forest Products, Fishery Products, Population, Agricultural Machinery.

Ag Data Commons, USDA
Ag Data Commons (ADC) provides access to a wide variety of open data relevant to agricultural research. It is a centralized registry for data already on the web, as well as a repository for new data being published for the first time. Ag Data Commons hosts datasets, databases, software, and multimedia, as well as the documentation explaining these data products...
more...less...
These data are open, meaning they can be re-used free of charge and with few or no restrictions. If there are any restrictions on a dataset’s re-use (such as a requirement for attribution), these will be made explicit in the “License” and “Public Access Level” fields of the ADC record.
A wide range of research domains related to agriculture are covered. Some examples are agronomy, genomics, hydrology, soils, veterinary and animal sciences, agroecosystems, sustainability, and economic statistics.
Data files on ADC are made available via direct download, or as a pointer to an external link. Data is hosted in the form in which it is submitted to ADC. Most of the data on ADC was generated by the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA), and university researchers with USDA funding support. Datasets and tools are often associated with scholarly publications, but association with scholarly publications is also not a requirement for submitting to ADC.

STATSnetBASE This link opens in a new window
From Frequentist to Bayesian, biostatistics to finance, this fully searchable collection is the perfect tool for any size analysis on all sorts of data. To search STATSnetBASE titles, choose “Advanced Search” upon connecting to CRCnetBASE and limit your search to the “Statistics” Subject collection.
UN Comtrade This link opens in a new window
A searchable database of import and export data from over 130 countries that provide the United Nations Statistics Division with their annual international trade statistics, detailed by commodity and partner country. For many countries the data coverage starts as far back as 1962 and goes up to the most recent completed year.
OECD Science, Technology R&D Statistics This link opens in a new window
Provides statistics and government forecasts covering such topics as resources devoted to research and development, patent families, the technology balance of payments, international trade in highly R&D intensive industries, and research and development (R-D) expenditures. Select "Browse by Theme" and select 'Agriculture and Food'.

IPUMS
IPUMS provides census and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space. IPUMS integration and documentation makes it easy to study change, conduct comparative research, merge information across data types, and analyze individuals within family and community contexts. Data and services available free of charge.
Foreign Agriculture Service (USDA)
International agricultural market, production and trade data and reports. See also the Global Agricultural Trade System. GATS includes international agricultural, fish, forest and textile products trade statistics dating from the inception of the Harmonized coding system in 1989 to present.
HarvestChoice
HarvestChoice generates knowledge products to help guide strategic investments to improve the well-being of poor people in sub-Saharan Africa and South Asia through more productive and profitable farming. Products include publications, numeric and GIS datasets on households, markets and production. Includes a Data Rescue Initiative to digitize agricultural census reports and data files from Sub-Saharan Africa.
HarvestChoice - Datasets
HarvestChoice mines the latest data sources from global databases, literature, national household surveys and agriculture censuses; using a variety of techniques, cropping system and economic models, statistical analyses, and geospatial tools, HarvestChoice harmonizes data into a standardized, geo-tagged database, informally dubbed the “CELL5M” (a matrix of 5 arc-minute grid cells). Through the newly released HarvestChoice data API, programmers can access our data and methods to describe, query, and aggregate data to suit their own purposes.
Michigan Agricultural Statistics
USDA's NASS Michigan Field Office is operated in cooperation with the Michigan Department of Agriculture and Rural Development (MDARD).

World of organic agriculture [electronic resource] : statistics and future prospects. by Research Institute of Organic Agriculture (FiBL)
Call Number: online
Publication Date: 2000-current
The Yearbook "World of organic agriculture" documents recent developments in global organic agriculture. The book has been published annually since 2000. A central part of the book are the organic agricultural statistics, which are collected annually in the frame of the annual survey on organic agriculture worldwide. The project is currently funded by the Swiss State Secretariat for Economic Affairs (SECO), the International Trade Centre (ITC), and NürnbergMesse.
Biostatistics with R: An Introductory Guide for Field Biologists by Jan Leps; Petr Smilauer
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9781108480383
Publication Date: 2020-07-30
Biostatistics with R provides a straightforward introduction on how to analyse data from the wide field of biological research, including nature protection and global change monitoring.