Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Statistical Resources for Russia, Eastern Europe and Central Asia: Russia and Eastern Europe

Russia and Eastern Europe

Belarus

Ministry of Statistics and Analysis (Minstat)
In English or Russian.

Dates of Coverage: 1990-2008 for data on population, labor, standard of living, trade, investment, transportation, consumer and producer price indices and agricultural and industrial production. Main socio-economic indicators for the current year are in a separate section on the same main page, with data listed by month.

Bulgaria

National Statistical Institute In Bulgarian and English.

Dates of coverage: some data back to 1990
Now has an enormous amount of data in English--trade, economic and social data, some in monthly increments, some annual. Includes statistics on the environment back to 1997, including emissions, waste generated, and water use. A link to the final 2001 census results (in English) is also included

Croatia

Central Bureau of Statistics
In English and Croatian

Dates of Coverage: mostly 2000-2004, some earlier years are included in tables. The Croatian census 2001 is available as of 7/2001 including population and housing data for the counties, towns and municipalities. The 2003 Agricultural Census is also available. "Statistical Information 2004" provides statistical yearbook information in Croatian and English, including figures on industry, labor and production, prices, cost of living, trade, tourism, and GDP. The 2003 Statistical Yearbook is online (pdf) as well. The "First Release" section has an enormous amount of monthly statistical data on population, labor, agriculture, industrial production, and general economic information going back to about 2000.

Czech Republic

Czech Statistical Office
In Czech, English, French, and German.

Dates of Coverage: 1998-present; some earlier years are included in current coverage Outstanding page with links to data releases by the Czech Statistical offices plus Eurostat news releases. Election data with voting behavior down to the polling station level is a unique feature(1996-2002 in English, additional years in Czech). Graphs and charts provide additional data about the composition of the ruling bodies for the most recent elections. The full version of the Czech Statistical Yearbook for 1998-2001 are now online. Archive files (under "aggregate information") contain information from 1997 through 2000, and it appears that the Statistical Office intends to make the past ten years available online (much in zip files). The "Hot Data" section is updated regularly and includes the most recent economic data, including consumer and producer prices indices and GDP.

Estonia

Statistical Office of Estonia
In Estonian and English

Dates of coverage: 1980 to present The Statistical database page has a search feature for data on the economy, environment, population, and 'social life', as well as searching specifically in the 2000 population census or 2001 agricultural census. Regional data is also available for the same catagories. In most areas, data goes back to 1992, but some data can be found going back to 1980. The "Main Indicators" section has the most recently released economic and demographic data.

Hungary

Central Statistical Office
In Hungarian and English.

Dates of coverage: 1996 to present There is a free statistical database for the following areas: industry, construction, health, social welfare, foreign direct investment, national accounts, price indices and turnover of external trade, internal trade, consumer price indices, producer price index, and environment, but it requires that you download a java applet. Census information is linked from the portal page, including a large amount of data available in English. In the 'downloadable publications' section, one will find a large number of pubications with monthly and annual data in pdf format, data can be requested via email in Excel or Word format.

Latvia

Central Statistical Bureau of Latvia
In English and Latvian

The page "Main Indicators" provides detailed statistics for 18 broad categories, including GDP, population, employment, health, personal income, trade, and crime. Under each category are detailed statistical reports, most with data going back 5-7 years. Some of the statistical tables are pulled from press releases. The "News" section contains newly released statistical reports and is updated frequently. This section also contains recently release data on the Latvian census.

Lithuania

Lithuanian Department of Statistics
In English and Lithuanian

Dates of coverage: 1990-present; small amount of data for earlier years Available statistics include: GDP, national budget, labor force, employment, population, prices, earnings, pensions, industry, construction, balance of payments, and trade. Main indicators of economic development cover 1994-2008, by month. County statistics include data on farms, housing, employment and crime for each county. Has a link to data from the 2001 Population Census and 2003 Agricultural Census as well.

Moldova

Department of Statistical and Sociological Analysis
In Romanian, English, or Russian.

Quite a bit of data and statistical publications in Romanian and English.

Montenegro

Monstat
In Serbian and English.

Site has general statistics back to 2007, plus monthly releases. Includes data from the 2003 Census.

Poland

Central Statistical Office
In English and Polish

Dates of coverage: 1989 to present. The "Social Economic Data" section links to a number of statistical reports in English, including basic population and economic statistics back to 1989, population and housing projections to 2030, monthly economic data, and population statistics for 1999-2004. Price indices are given for 1950-2004. "Hot data" contains the most recent economic data such as employment and salary information. The "Regional Data Bank" allows free access to regional and local data back to 1995 for a broad array of statistics, including housing, number of shops in a town, hospital beds, libraries, and schools. Has a link to the 2002 Population and Agricultural Census pages.

Romania

National Institute of Statistics
In Romanian and English.

Enormous amount of information, archived several years in English and Romanian. Monthly bulletins of statistics available, as well as Statistical yearbook (2006 as of 8/2008))

Russia

Goskomstat
In Russian and English

Some limited statistical information in English.

Serbia

Statistical Office for the Republic of Serbia
In Serbian or English

A very nice page with some demographic information (1991 and 2002 census data). Also has election data. Links under 'statistical areas' do not seem to work in the English version, but there is more information on the Serbian language page.

Slovakia

Statistical Office of the Slovak Republic
In English and Slovak

Dates of coverage: 1995-present. The "Indicators on Economic Development" section includes basic statistics on GDP, employment, prices, wages, industry, construction, trade, population, and the state budget. The "Actual Information" section gives the most current data in press-release format, and it is updated daily with new information. Data includes prices, inflation, employment, GDP, trade, and annual population reports. Also has a link to Election data from presidential and parliamentary election from 1992 onward. The 2002 Election data is in Slovak and in English: previous years vary, but most other years have more data in Slovak than English.

Slovenia

Statistical Office of the Republic of Slovenia
In Slovenian and English.

Dates of coverage: 1990-present. The English language version now has much more information: the Slovenian statistical yearbook is online from 1995-present in pdf format. Links to the 2002 Census page. The Statistical Databank, in English, German and Slovenian, has a large amount of free data, including census data, consumer prices, population, labor force, and trade information. It is rather slow to load. The Slovenian versions of these pages has much more information and more current data..

Ukraine

State Committee of Statistics of Ukraine

Much improved site with information in Ukrainian, English and Russian. Has a huge amount of data going back to 1990 in English in a wide variety of socio-economic categories. Updated frequently with new statistics. Has a link to an English language page of the 2001 census as well.

Russia and Eastern Europe

Belarus

Ministry of Statistics and Analysis (Minstat)
In English or Russian.

Dates of Coverage: 1990-2008 for data on population, labor, standard of living, trade, investment, transportation, consumer and producer price indices and agricultural and industrial production. Main socio-economic indicators for the current year are in a separate section on the same main page, with data listed by month.

Bulgaria

National Statistical Institute In Bulgarian and English.

Dates of coverage: some data back to 1990
Now has an enormous amount of data in English--trade, economic and social data, some in monthly increments, some annual. Includes statistics on the environment back to 1997, including emissions, waste generated, and water use. A link to the final 2001 census results (in English) is also included

Croatia

Central Bureau of Statistics
In English and Croatian

Has statistical database with a variety of data.  The 2001 Census is still available, and 2011 Census data is being released.  The 2003 Agricultural Census is also available. Several statistical publications including the Statistical Yearbook are online (pdf) as well. Released data section has the statistical yearbook back to 2003, in pdf format.

Czech Republic

Czech Statistical Office
In Czech, English, French, and German.

'Most Visited' column is most useful--CR in Figures gives a variety of data back to 2002 in pdf or Excel format.

Estonia

Statistical Office of Estonia
In Estonian and English

Dates of coverage: 1980 to present The Statistical database page has a search feature for data on the economy, environment, population, and 'social life', as well as searching specifically in the 2000 population census or 2001 agricultural census. Regional data is also available for the same catagories. In most areas, data goes back to 1992, but some data can be found going back to 1980. The "Main Indicators" section has the most recently released economic and demographic data.

Hungary

Central Statistical Office
In Hungarian and English.

Dates of coverage: 1996 to present There is a free statistical database for the following areas: industry, construction, health, social welfare, foreign direct investment, national accounts, price indices and turnover of external trade, internal trade, consumer price indices, producer price index, and environment, but it requires that you download a java applet. Census information is linked from the portal page, including a large amount of data available in English. In the 'downloadable publications' section, one will find a large number of pubications with monthly and annual data in pdf format, data can be requested via email in Excel or Word format.

Latvia

Central Statistical Bureau of Latvia
In English and Latvian

The page "Main Indicators" provides detailed statistics for 18 broad categories, including GDP, population, employment, health, personal income, trade, and crime. Under each category are detailed statistical reports, most with data going back 5-7 years. Some of the statistical tables are pulled from press releases. The "News" section contains newly released statistical reports and is updated frequently. This section also contains recently release data on the Latvian census.

Lithuania

Lithuanian Department of Statistics
In English and Lithuanian

Dates of coverage: 1990-present; small amount of data for earlier years Available statistics include: GDP, national budget, labor force, employment, population, prices, earnings, pensions, industry, construction, balance of payments, and trade. Main indicators of economic development cover 1994-2008, by month. County statistics include data on farms, housing, employment and crime for each county. Has a link to data from the 2001 Population Census and 2003 Agricultural Census as well.

Moldova

Department of Statistical and Sociological Analysis
In Romanian, English, or Russian.

Quite a bit of data and statistical publications in Romanian and English.

Montenegro

Monstat
In Serbian and English.

Site has general statistics back to 2007, plus monthly releases. Includes data from the 2003 Census.

Poland

Central Statistical Office
In English and Polish

Dates of coverage: 1989 to present. The "Social Economic Data" section links to a number of statistical reports in English, including basic population and economic statistics back to 1989, population and housing projections to 2030, monthly economic data, and population statistics for 1999-2004. Price indices are given for 1950-2004. "Hot data" contains the most recent economic data such as employment and salary information. The "Regional Data Bank" allows free access to regional and local data back to 1995 for a broad array of statistics, including housing, number of shops in a town, hospital beds, libraries, and schools. Has a link to the 2002 Population and Agricultural Census pages.

Romania

National Institute of Statistics
In Romanian and English.

Enormous amount of information, archived several years in English and Romanian. Monthly bulletins of statistics available, as well as Statistical yearbook (2006 as of 8/2008))

Russia

Federal State Statistics Service

In Russian and English.  Data available back to 1992 on many subjects; more data is available on the Russian language version.

Serbia

Statistical Office for the Republic of Serbia
In Serbian or English

Areas tab gives quick access to the most popular data; Data page lets you drill down into very narrow topics.  Data only goes back about 5 years, but is presented in multiple formats, including Excel.

Slovakia

Statistical Office of the Slovak Republic
In English and Slovak

Dates of coverage: 1995-present.

Slovenia

Statistical Office of the Republic of Slovenia
In Slovenian and English.

Dates of coverage: 1990-present. The English language version now has much more information: the Slovenian statistical yearbook is online from 1995-present in pdf format. Links to the 2002 Census page. The Statistical Databank, in English, German and Slovenian, has a large amount of free data, including census data, consumer prices, population, labor force, and trade information. It is rather slow to load. The Slovenian versions of these pages has much more information and more current data..

Ukraine

State Committee of Statistics of Ukraine

Much improved site with information in Ukrainian, English and Russian. Has a huge amount of data going back to 1990 in English in a wide variety of socio-economic categories. Updated frequently with new statistics. Has a link to an English language page of the 2001 census as well.

Subject Guide

Terri Miller
Contact:
517-884-0841
  • Call MSU: (517) 355-1855
  • Visit: msu.edu
  • MSU is an affirmative-action, equal-opportunity employer.
Michigan State University