There are several ways to effectively find newspapers, magazine articles, and other popular media through the MSU Libraries. This guide will show you a few ways, including:
Navigate to a specific section using the page tabs navigation panel (on the left side of the screen if you are on a laptop/desktop).
While the library does have some newspapers and magazines physically in the library, nearly all of our newspapers are now available digitally. You can search for these from our website (lib.msu.edu) and clicking on "Books & Media" below the main search bar (see the screenshot below). If you type in your search term and click search, you will get a lot of sources back. If you want to limit to just newspapers, click the checkbox next to "Newspapers" under the "Format" limiter below the search boxes (see second screenshot below).
Newspapers and media articles can help provide context for a topic. Looking for a big picture take on your research subject? Newspaper and media articles are a great way to do it! While Google can help get you started, the number of results and the mixed sources can make a meaningful search frustrating.
To help you find sources quickly and easily, we subscribe to databases that gather newspaper and media sources together. MSU Libraries offer many news aggregators that will help you find relevant sources quickly and easily. Check the databases below to get started!
Wondering where to get started? Check out Gale OneFile first and type in a basic search term, such as "honey bees". Click on the source links at the top of the screen to explore newspapers, media, journal articles, and more!
Want to browse all of our media and newspaper databases? Check out the link below.
Note that all databases very in their time coverage, so make sure to look at the dates!
Many of us use Google to find articles every day. But there are ways to use Google better so that you find relevant results faster. Below you will find several tips and tricks to help you find sources easier.
Please note the MSU Libraries has subscriptions to many resources that you can't access through Google without paying a fee. Looking for a Wall Street Journal Article? We've got that! But you may only be able to access it by going through one of the paths outlined above. If you find it on Google, it may tell you you have to pay.
Quotation Marks
Whenever you are searching a database, any database including Google, put phrases of two or more words in quotation marks. For example, type "climate change" or "global warming" instead of climate change or global warming. This tells the database you are looking for those words in that order. You aren't looking for the warming interest rates in a global market. You are looking for "global warming".
site:
If you are trying to search a specific site, give Google a URL to search. For example, looking only for government documents (from state, local, or federal governments)? Type:
site:.gov honeybee
Looking for an article in a specific newspaper? Try:
site:nytimes.com honeybee
(Note that this search will bring you to links that are pay walled through Google - access these articles through the MSU Libraries!)
Leave out words with -
Getting a lot of results with words you don't want? Leave out results with a specific word using the - key. For example the following search will return the speeds of the jaguar animal, not the car:
jaguar speed -car
Set a time limit
Looking for the most recent articles? Set a time limit using "Tools" and the Time Filter
Call us: 
Contact a