The MSU Libraries maintains a collection of books (print and electronic) and informational handouts about local community services. This provides centralized, unmediated, and judgement-free access to health information and other resources that support wellness and student physical, emotional, and social well-being. Print books and materials are housed in the Student Health & Wellness Information Center in the south lobby of the Main Library. A companion libguide lists print and electronic resources.
The purpose of the collection is to provide unmediated access to evidence-based, recently published, consumer health-level materials with topics of interest to a university-age population (both undergraduate and graduate students). The topics of health and wellness inform the development process and although the scope of the collection is broad, the materials chosen are highly selective.
Current areas of focus are:
| Addiction, Alcohol, and Drug Use |
Nutrition |
| Autism | Parenting |
| Chronic Illnesses and Cancer | Relationships and Friendships |
| Fitness | Sexuality |
| General Health | Sexual Health |
| Grief | Sexual Abuse and Violence (including domestic abuse) |
| Housing and Legal Issues | Trauma |
| LGBTQIA2S+ | Veteran and Military Health |
| Mental Health | Women's Health |
| Mindfulness and Sleep |
Previously the MSU Libraries did not collect consumer level health information resources. In 2018 a need was identified to collocate a small, targeted collection of consumer health resources for student use. The student health and wellness collection was created to address this need using a grant from the MSU Libraries microgrant program in 2019. The grant was used to pay for the shelving unit, book supports, handout display holders, and printing costs. Books are purchased using the Medicine fund.
The materials purchased here are similar in topic to professional-level resources purchased by the Allied Health, Medicine, Public Health, and Nursing funds. However, none of these funds purchase health resources aimed at the lay public. Public Health may at times purchase materials that are more popular in nature but these titles focus on areas of research or history that relate to public health only.
A. Chronology of the Subject: Emphases/Restrictions
The primary focus is on recently published materials (last 5 years) with some older material included upon recommendation by campus partners such as MSU Counseling and Psychiatric Services (CAPS), the Olin Health Center, the Gender and Sexuality Campus Center, and the Employee Assistance Program (EAP).
B. Languages of Resources Collected: Exclusions/Emphases/Translations
Books are primarily collected in English. Informational materials provided by community organizations may be languages other than English including Spanish. Non-English materials are chosen to reflect the diversity of MSU campus and reflect the languages spoken by the student body.
C. Geography of the Subject: Emphases/Restrictions
The emphasis is on North America with a focus on the United States. Materials pointing to community resources are focused on the MSU East Lansing campus and Tri County/ Greater Lansing region.
D. Format of the Resources Collected
Both print (cloth and paper) and electronic formats are collected. With electronic formats, unlimited user options with limited or no digital rights management is preferred. Formats other than print and electronic books are not collected.
E. Date of Publication of Resources Collected
Items published within the last 5 years are preferred.
F. Special Topics Collected
Focus is placed on issues facing university students and this includes navigating academia, dealing with learning disabilities, coping with a loved one's illness or your own unexpected diagnosis, sexual health and identity, as well as other topics. See the purpose or scope of collection statement to see a full list of topics collected.
G. Diversity and Inclusion Considerations
Diversity, equity, and inclusion is a core tenant of the collection as we strive to represent a multitude of experiences and intersectional identities and needs to reflect our campus population. Collection decisions place importance on who is being represented in health literature and supporting, valuing, and purchasing materials that introduce the unique perspectives and needs of underserved and marginalized communities. Diversity in consumer health collection development foci can encompass, but are not limited to, the areas of underrepresented: races, ethnicities, sexualities, ages, gender expressions and identities, cultural and religious identities, socioeconomic class, US geographical location, and nationalities. For this collection in particular, having materials from the perspective of a neurodivergent population as well as resources for a variety of learner types in an academic institution (undergraduate, graduate, veteran, parent etc..) are actively sought.
The primary call number range collected is R-RZ (Medicine). The collection also includes works that class outside of the Rs: BF (Psychology), QP (Physiology), TX (Home Economics, including cooking and nutrition), and H (Social Sciences) in particular HQ (The family, marriage, women). All areas are collected at a level 2 – basic informational level.
A. Donations
Donated materials and gifts are not accepted.
B. Circulation
Items are available to checkout for MSU Libraries’ standard checkout terms and are lendable through interlibrary loan. Materials on relevant community services are available at no charge, printed, at the student health and wellness information center. Students may take whatever they need.
C. Multiple Copies
Multiple copies are not purchased for the collection. Additional copies may be available in the Main Library collection on a title-by-title basis.
D. Preservation and Replacement
Decisions to replace materials missing or damaged beyond repair are made on a case-by-case basis.