Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Soul Fire Farm's Practical Guide to Liberation on the Land by James Beard Foundation Leadership Award 2019: Leah Penniman Choice Reviews, Outstanding Academic Title "An extraordinary book...part agricultural guide, part revolutionary manifesto"--VOGUE In 1920, 14 percent of all land-owning US farmers were black. Today less than 2 percent of farms are controlled by black people--a loss of over 14 million acres and the result of discrimination and dispossession. While farm management is among the whitest of professions, farm labor is predominantly brown and exploited, and people of color disproportionately live in "food apartheid" neighborhoods and suffer from diet-related illness. The system is built on stolen land and stolen labor and needs a redesign. Farming While Black is the first comprehensive "how to" guide for aspiring African-heritage growers to reclaim their dignity as agriculturists and for all farmers to understand the distinct, technical contributions of African-heritage people to sustainable agriculture. At Soul Fire Farm, author Leah Penniman co-created the Black and Latinx Farmers Immersion (BLFI) program as a container for new farmers to share growing skills in a culturally relevant and supportive environment led by people of color. Farming While Black organizes and expands upon the curriculum of the BLFI to provide readers with a concise guide to all aspects of small-scale farming, from business planning to preserving the harvest. Throughout the chapters Penniman uplifts the wisdom of the African diasporic farmers and activists whose work informs the techniques described--from whole farm planning, soil fertility, seed selection, and agroecology, to using whole foods in culturally appropriate recipes, sharing stories of ancestors, and tools for healing from the trauma associated with slavery and economic exploitation on the land. Woven throughout the book is the story of Soul Fire Farm, a national leader in the food justice movement. The technical information is designed for farmers and gardeners with beginning to intermediate experience. For those with more experience, the book provides a fresh lens on practices that may have been taken for granted as ahistorical or strictly European. Black ancestors and contemporaries have always been leaders--and continue to lead--in the sustainable agriculture and food justice movements. It is time for all of us to listen.
Call Number: HD1476.U6 P46 2018 Online
Publication Date: 2018-10-30
The Holistic Orchard by
Call Number: SB357.24 .P47 2011 Online
Publication Date: 2012-01-10
Print version also available, SB357.24 .P47 2011
The Lean Farm - ebook by
Call Number: TD930 .H37 2015 Online
Publication Date: 2015-09-16
Print copy available, TD930 .H37 2015
The Market Gardener - ebook by
Call Number: SB453.5 .F6913 2014 Online
Publication Date: 2014-03-04
Print version available: SB453.5 .F6913 2014
21st Century Skills for Non-Profit Managers: a practical guide on leadership and management by Over the last 30 years nonprofit organizations have grown massively in capacity, scope, and authority across the world. With growing demand for services, there are numerous opportunities for nonprofits to respond innovatively and sustainably. Any experienced nonprofit manager knows the role is sometimes frustrating but always exhilarating, working with people and empowering them. Severe funding cuts make this more testing, but new prospects are appearing. If you are new to management or the sector, you need a book describing good practice to inform and guide you. Managing a small nonprofit, requires you to multitask, manage your time and prioritize tasks, while taking on extra responsibilities, you need new skills such as fundraising, all covered in this book. This book covers essential aspects (staffing, communications, charity governance, donations, corporate social responsibility, crowdfunding). With useful case studies, resources and links, it avoids jargon and intellectualizing. Topics include effective business planning, empowering staff and clients, writing successful fundraising applications and preparing government tenders for the U.S. and UK. Don used his experience as a nonprofit manager, volunteer, staffer, fundraiser, community fund overseer, trustee and consultant to make the book relevant, topical and helpful.
Call Number: HD62.6 Online
Publication Date: 2017-04-27
Building Smart Nonprofits: a roadmap for mission success by Best practices for nonprofits for long-term success in a rapidly changing world. Building Smart Nonprofits: A Roadmap for Mission Success is a handbook of best practices nonprofits can use to improve sustainability - a book of knowledge and know-how distilled from interviews with over 60 industry leaders who are in the nonprofit trenches every day--as executives, leaders, board members, funders, publishers, and service providers. David J. O'Brien and Matthew D. Craig provide real-life examples of nonprofits deploying best practices and emerging industry trends - such as the rise of socially conscious investing - to position their organizations for the long term. Topics include, among others, funding models, impact investing, compensation, strategic restructuring, leadership, full-cost grantmaking, program evaluation, storytelling, and financing. Readers learn how to best position their non-profit organization for a sustainable and long-term future.
Call Number: HD62.6 .O267 2020 Online
Publication Date: 2020-08-15
Forces for Good: the six practices of high-impact nonprofits by An updated edition of a groundbreaking book on best practices for nonprofits What makes great nonprofits great? In the original book, authors Crutchfield and McLeod Grant employed a rigorous research methodology derived from for-profit books like Built to Last. They studied 12 nonprofits that have achieved extraordinary levels of impact--from Habitat for Humanity to the Heritage Foundation--and distilled six counterintuitive practices that these organizations use to change the world. Features a new introduction that explores the new context in which nonprofits operate and the consequences for these organizations Includes a new chapter on applying the Six Practices to small, local nonprofits, including some examples of these organizations Contains an update on the 12 organizations featured in the original book--how they have fared, what they've learned, and where they are now in their growth trajectory This book has lessons for all readers interested in creating significant social change, including nonprofit managers, donors, and volunteers.
Call Number: HD62.6 Online
Publication Date: 2012-05-01
Handbook of Community Movements and Local Organizations by Although the way associations and the organization of local social life are intertwined is one of the oldest approaches to community study, the way citizens and residents come together informally to act and solve problems has rarely been a primary focus. Associations are central to important and developing areas of social theory and social action. This handbook takes voluntary associations as the starting point for making sense of communities. It offers a new perspective on voluntary organizations and gives an integrated, yet diverse, theoretical understanding of this important aspect of community life.
Call Number: HM766 .H36 2007 Online
Publication Date: 2006-11-28
Nonprofit Management 101: A complete and practical guide for leaders and professionals, 2nd ed. by A new edition of the essential guide to nonprofit management This intensely practical, comprehensive guidebook is for both leaders new to the nonprofit sector looking for a quick primer on all the issues that matter, as well as established veterans looking to understand how all the pieces fit together. Showcasing practical tips and takeaways, this how-to manual and resource guide provides easy to implement solutions for organizations seeking to expand impact and meet mission. Seasoned veterans including Van Jones, Fair Trade founder Paul Rice, Lynne Twist, Kay Sprinkel Grace, Joan Garry, and more share knowledge and useful insights on all aspects of nonprofit management, including: Fundraising from individuals, companies, and foundations Online fundraising, social networking, and effective use of technology Marketing, public relations, and events Board and volunteer engagement Human resources and career planning Lobbying and advocacy Legal and financial management Leadership and strategic planning This is essential reading for anyone in the nonprofit sector looking for the latest information in the field.
Call Number: HD62.6 .N657 2019 Online
Publication Date: 2019-08-20
The Nonprofit Marketing Guide: high-impact, low-cost ways to build support for your good cause by A nonprofit's real-world survival guide and nitty-gritty how-to handbook This down-to-earth book shows how to hack through the bewildering jungle of marketing options and miles-long to-do lists to clear a marketing path that's right for your organization, no matter how understaffed or underfunded. You'll see how to shape a marketing program that starts from where you are now and grows with your organization, using smart and savvy communications techniques, both offline and online. Combining big-picture management and strategic decision-making with reader-friendly tips for implementing a marketing program day in and day out, this book provides a simple yet powerful framework for building support for your organization's mission and programs. Includes cost-effective strategies and proven tactics for nonprofits An ideal resource for thriving during challenging times Fast, friendly, and realistic advice to help you navigate the day-by-day demands of any nonprofit Written by one of the leading sources of how-to info and can-do inspiration for small and medium-sized nonprofit organizations, Kivi Leroux Miller is,among other things, a communication consultant and trainer, and president of EcoScribe Communications and Nonprofit Marketing Guide.com.
Call Number: HF5415 .L474 2010 Online
Publication Date: 2010-06-08
Strategic Planning and Decision-Making for Public and Non-Profit Organizations by This book provides administrators in public and non-profit organizations with direction and a framework from which to lead their organizations effectively. Taking a global approach to the issues administrators need to examine when managing a group of employees at any level (including budgeting and expenditures, forecasting, policy creation and execution, communication and reporting), this book explores the driving forces in organizational decision making. Author Nick Valcik takes a holistic view on organizational management, beginning with the core aspects of public organizations and the leadership competencies necessary to manage an organization successfully. Designed to be used on undergraduate and graduate courses in public administration and in public affairs programs, the book discusses the basics of organizational structure, delves into risk management issues, and offers a set of tools that can be used by administrators to make informed decisions based on actual data or documented processes. Throughout the book, real world case studies provide students and practitioners with a clear understanding of how exactly the right decision tool may be applied when facing a particular decision in any organization.
Call Number: JF1525.D4 V35 2016
Publication Date: 2016-03-24