LibGuides: Sociology 100: Sections 3 & 4

Free Sites

Mapping Inequality is a grant-funded project created through the collaboration of three teams at four universities. It provides scanned maps and area descriptions created by agents of the federal government's Home Owners' Loan Corporation between 1935 and 1940.

Mapping Prejudice - Minneapolis & St. Paul, Minnesota

Mapping Prejudice identifies and maps racial covenants, clauses that were inserted into property deeds to keep people who were not White from buying or occupying homes.

Justice Indeed - Ann Arbor & Washtenaw County, Michigan

Justice InDeed is a collaborative project dedicated to exposing and responding to the fact that the deeds to thousands of homes in Washtenaw County contain “racially restrictive covenants” – or provisions prohibiting Black people and other minorities from living there.

Purchased by MSU Libraries (NetID required to access off-campus)

Ancestry Library Edition This link opens in a new window
Ancestry Library Edition is an online collection of resources about individuals from United States, Canada, United Kingdom, Europe, Australia, and more. It contains more than 7,000 available databases like censuses, vital records, immigration records, family histories, military records, court and legal documents, directories, and photos. International collections continue to grow with more than 46 million records from German censuses, vital records, emigration indexes, ship lists, phone directories, and more; Chinese surnames in the large and growing Jiapu Collection of Chinese lineage books; Jewish family history records from Eastern Europe and Russia; and more. Military collections deliver over 150 million records containing information often not found elsewhere and includes records from the colonial to the Vietnam era.
PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
Policymap is an online data and mapping application that gives access to over 15,000 indicators related to housing, crime, mortgages, health, jobs, demographics and education. Data are available at all common geographies (address, block group, census tract, zip code, county, city, state, MSA) as well as unique geographies like school districts and political boundaries. Data come from both public and proprietary sources. Many of the public files are available for download. Through PolicyMap, you can access all data in interactive maps, tables, charts, reports and through a unique analytic tool. You may also upload your own address level data and share your data and interactive maps with others.

Includes plumbing and kitchen data from 2011-2015 US Census Annual Community Survey.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Create maps and reports from selected census statistics. 1790 to 1930: County, state and national data. 1940-2000: Census tract, county, state and national data. 2006- : ACS. Also includes religion data, U.S. Election data, UK Census 2011 data, and Ireland Religion data. Generate thematic maps for census tracts.