As a biographical resource, American History in Video will include hundreds of profiles of great American leaders and personalities. As an encyclopedia of history, it provides footage of seminal historic events. Compare Kennedy’s rhetorical flair with Nixon’s. Examine racial stereotypes as presented in newsreels featuring African Americans prior to 1950. Consider Ed Herlihy’s use of alliteration and other tropes of propaganda in WW2 newsreels. These and thousands of other searches are easy with American History in Video.
Alexander Street Anthropology brings together a wide range of streaming video, written ethnographies, field notes, seminal texts, memoirs, and contemporary studies, covering human behavior the world over. Essential for study in the areas of politics, economics, history, psychology, environmental studies, religion, area studies, linguistics, and geography, the database will contain more than 1,800 documentary films and over 100,000 pages of full-text material at completion, including tens of thousands of pages of previously unpublished material from major archives.
Includes:
Module I, Wars & Revolutions
Module II, Newsreels & Cinemagazines
Module III, Culture and Society
This collection of films from the communist world reveals war, history, current affairs, culture and society as seen through the socialist lens. It spans most of the twentieth century and covers countries such as the USSR, Vietnam, China, Korea, much of Eastern Europe, the GDR, Britain and Cuba.
Provides primary source information on the popular culture of the U.S. and U.K. from 1950 to 1975. Original archival material from libraries, including manuscripts, typescripts, and ephemera, as well as video clips, are included. Includes new content for 2013 on popular entertainment, mass media and consumer culture.
For more oral history collections search:
Vietnam War, 1961-1975--Personal narratives
as a subject heading in the MSU Library catalog.
American Oral Histories
The Strength Not to Fight: An Oral History of Conscientious Objectors of the Vietnam War by 
Voices from Vietnam by Vietnamese Oral Histories
Memory Is Another Country by 
South Vietnamese Soldiers by For more information on the impact of the Vietnam War on the MSU community and its role on campus, visit Vietnam and the MSU Connection: Resources in Special Collections.
